| Format | Example | |
| Paraphrase |
(Author, Year) OR Author (Year) |
Extravasation is ... (Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia, 2023). OR According to the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (2023), extravasation is ... |
| Quote |
"..." (Author, Year) OR Author (Year) "..." . *No page number is required for online sources |
"Extravasation is the unintentional ..." (Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia, 2023). OR According to the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (2023), "the immediate management of extravasation includes ..." |
| Format | Example |
|
Organisation. (Year). Title of entry. In Title of handbook (ed., Version Year, Month). https://xxxxx |
Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia. (2023). Extravasation. In The Australian injectable drugs handbook (9th ed., Version 2024, February). https://www.aidh.hcn.com.au
|
| Format | Example | |
| Paraphrase |
(Author, Year) OR Author (Year) |
When blood pressure is consistently high it can lead to ... (Lane & Lip, 2013). OR According to Lane and Lip (2013), complications such as heart attack or stroke can occur. ... |
| Quote |
"..." (Author, Year) OR Author (Year) |
"If the blood pressure is lower in the heart than in the legs this indicates blocked arteries ..." (Lane & Lip, 2013). OR Lane and Lip (2013) advise "this indicates blocked arteries ..." |
| Format | Example |
|
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of review. Title of Database. https://doi.org/xx.xxxxxx |
Lane, D. A., & Lip, G. Y. H. (2013). Treatment of hypertension in peripheral arterial disease. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD003075.pub3 |
| Format | Example | |
| Paraphrase |
(Author, Year) OR Author (Year) |
For people with swallowing difficulties, paracetamol ... (Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia, 2021). OR According to the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (2021), paracetamol ... |
| Quote |
"..." (Author, Year) OR Author (Year) "..." *No page number is required for online sources |
"... not suitable for enteral feeding tubes" (Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia, 2021). OR The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (2021) advises "do not break or crush ..." |
| Format | Example | |
| Entire handbook |
Organisation. (Year). Title of handbook (ed.). https://app.emims.plus/ |
Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia. (2021). Australian don't rush to crush handbook (4th ed.). https://app.emims.plus/ |
| Individual entry |
Organisation. (Year). Title of entry. In Title of handbook (ed., Version Year, Month). https://app.emims.plus/ |
Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia. (2021). Paracetamol. In Australian don't rush to crush handbook (4th ed., Version 2024, March.). https://app.emims.plus/ |
| Format | Example | |
| Paraphrase |
(Author, Year) OR Author (Year) |
A study of patients showed ... (Moola, 2020). OR Moola (2020) discusses ... |
| Quote |
"..." (Author, Year, p. xx) OR Author (Year) "..." (p. xx) |
"Unresolved pain is noted ..." (Moola, 2020, p.1). OR Moola (2020) states that "unresolved pain ..." (p.1). |
| Format | Example |
|
Author, A. A. (Year). Title [Publication type]. Name of database. |
Moola, S. (2020). Pain management during wound care: Wound care technique [Evidence summary]. Joanna Briggs Institute. |
| Format | Example | |
| Paraphrase |
(Author, Year) OR Author (Year) |
Nurofen Plus... (MIMS Australia, 2024). OR MIMS Australia (2024) describes Nurofen Plus ... |
| Quote |
"..." (Author, Year) OR Author (Year) "..." *No page number is required for online sources |
Nurofen Plus is used for "the temporary relief of ..." (MIMS Australia, 2024). OR MIMS Australia (2024) describes Nurofen Plus as suitable for "the temporary relief of..." |
| Format | Example |
|
Organisation. (Year, Month). Title of entry. In Title of work. https://xxxxxx |
MIMS Australia. (2024, March). Nurofen Plus. In eMIMSelite. https://app.emims.plus/ |