Skip to Main Content

APA 7th Referencing

American Psychological Association, 7th edition

Journals format

Journal article with 1 author

 

Reference elements

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author, Year)

OR 

Author (Year)

... accounting theory (Baker, 2017).

OR

Baker (2017) argues that ...
Quote

"..." (Author, Year, p. xx)

OR

Author (Year) "..." (p. xx)

It was found that "students in the classroom ..." (Serocki, 2017, p. 57).

OR

Serocki (2017) explains that "students in the classroom ..." (p. 57).

 

Reference 

 

Electronic
  Format Example
Ejournal article with a DOI 

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. https://doi.org/xx.xxxx

Higgins, J. M. (2005). The eight ‘S’s of successful strategy execution. Journal of Change Management, 5(1), 3-13. https://doi.org/10.1080/14697010500036064
Ejournal article without a DOI, from a database

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. 

Serocki, J. (2017). Professional experience of faculty in the accounting classroom. Business Education Innovation Journal, 9(2), 55-61. 
Ejournal article without a DOI, from the Web

Author, A.A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. https://xxxxx

Marshall, K. (2020). Breathlessness: Causes, assessment and non-pharmacological management. Nursing Times, 116(9), 24-26. https://www.nursingtimes.net/clinical-archive/respiratory-clinical-archive/breathlessness-causes-assessment-and-non-pharmacological-management-2-10-08-2020/
Note:

  • Retrieved from the Web: If preferred, you can use a source like TinyURL shortener to produce a short URL.
    e.g. https://tinyurl.com/3fmhj6hn

  • If an elocator or article number is noted, use this in place of page numbers in reference. The word Article should precede the number. E.g. Article e0193972

 

Print
Format Example

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page.

Trueman, S. (2016). Take drug control seriously. Nursing Review, Sep/Oct 2016(5), 28- 29

Journal article with 2 authors

 

Reference elements

Screenshot of an annotated reference of an ejournal article 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author & Author, Year)

OR

Author and Author (Year)

... digital literacy (Yevelson-Shorsher & Bronstein, 2018).

OR

Yevelson-Shorsher and Bronstein (2018) have studied ...
Quote

"..." (Author & Author, Year, p. xx)

OR

Author and Author (Year) "..." (p. xx)

This results in "patient satisfaction ..." (Cutilli & Bennett, 2009, p. 30).

OR

Cutilli and Bennett (2009) assert that "patient satisfaction ..." (p. 30).

 

Reference 

 

Electronic
Format Example

Ejournal article with a DOI

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. https://doi.org/xx.xxxx

Yevelson-Shorsher, A., & Bronstein, J. (2018). Three perspectives on information literacy in academia: Talking to librarians, faculty, and students. College & Research Libraries, 79(4), 535-553. https://doi.org/10.5860/crl.79.3.535
Ejournal article without a DOI, from a database

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. 

Cutilli, C. C., & Bennett, I. M. (2009). Understanding the health literacy of America: Results of the national assessment of adult literacy. Orthopaedic Nursing, 28(1), 27-32.  
Ejournal article without a DOI, from the Web

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. TItle of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. https://xxxxx

Jevon, P., & Gallier, H. (2020). How to measure capillary refill time in patients who are acutely ill. Nursing TImes, 116(8), 29-30. https://www.nursingtimes.net/clinical-archive/assessment-skills/how-to-measure-capillary-refill-time-in-patients-who-are-acutely-ill-20-07-2020/
Note:

  • Retrieved from the Web: If preferred, you can use a source like TinyURL shortener to produce a short URL.
    e.g. https://tinyurl.com/3fmhj6hn

  • If an elocator or article number is noted, use this in place of page numbers in reference. The word Article should precede the number. E.g. Article e0193972

 

Print
Format Example

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page.

Wang, Q., & Peterson, C. (2014). Your earliest memory may be earlier than you think: Prospective studies of children's dating of earliest childhood memories. Developmental Psychology, 50(6), 1680-1686.

Journal article with 3 - 20 authors

 

Reference elements

Screenshot of an annotated reference of an ejournal article

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author et al., Year)

OR

Author et al. (Year)

When managing ... (Kim et al., 2012).

OR

Kim et al. (2012) state ...
Quote

"..." (Author et al., Year, p. xx)

OR

Author et al. (Year) "..." (p. xx)

Studies show that "managing hospitality ..." (Kim et al., 2012, p.1030).

OR

According to Kim et al. (2016) "managing hospitality ..." (p.1030).

 

Reference 

 

Electronic

List all authors.

Format Example

Ejournal article with a DOI

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. https://doi.org/xx.xxxx

Sheen, J., Graj, E., Dudley, A., Wallace, B., Sutherland, S. W., Kavadas, V., Roberts, R. M., Proeve, M., Littler, S., Clark, G. I., & Dunstan, D. A. (2020). Occupational risks during clinical placement: Key stakeholder perceptions. Australian Psychologist, 55(1), 73–88. https://doi.org/10.1111/ap.12403
Ejournal article without a DOI, from a database

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. 

Felisitas, C., Molline, M., & Clotildah, K. (2012). The hospitality and tourism honours degree programme: Stakeholders' perceptions on competencies developed. Journal of Hospitality Management and Tourism, 3(1), 12-22. 
Ejournal article without a DOI,  from the Web

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. https://xxxxx

O'Callaghan, C., Loukas, P., Brady, M., & Perry, A. (2018). Exploring the experiences of internationally and locally qualified nurses working in a culturally diverse environment. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, 36(2), 23-34. https://www.ajan.com.au/archive/Vol36/Issue2/3OCallaghan.pdf

 
Note:

  • Retrieved from the Web: If preferred, you can use a source like TinyURL shortener to produce a short URL.
    e.g. https://tinyurl.com/3fmhj6hn

  • If an elocator or article number is noted, use this in place of page numbers in reference. The word Article should precede the number. E.g. Article e0193972

 

Print

List all authors.

Format Example

Author, A. A., Author B. B., & Author C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page.

Golubovskaya, M., Robinson, R. N. S., & Solnet, D. (2017). The meaning of hospitality: Do employees understand? International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management, 29(5), 1282-1304.

Journal article with 21 or more authors

 

Reference elements

Screenshot of an annotated reference of an ejournal article 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author et al., Year)

OR

Author et al. (Year)

... the experiment (Aleksankina et al., 2018).

OR

Aleksankina et al. (2018) describe the experiment ...
Quote

"..." (Author et al., Year, p. xx)

OR

Author et al. (Year) "..." (p. xx)

In today's society "diversity in nursing ..." (Kowlowitz et al., 2018, p. 45).

OR

Kowlowitz et al. (2018) say "diversity in nursing ..." (p. 45).

 

Reference 

 

Electronic

List the first 19 authors, then ...  then last author.

  Format Example

Ejournal article with a DOI

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., [AND SO ON UNTIL] Author, S. S., . . . Author, U. U. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. https://doi.org/xx.xxxx

Khan, A., Huynh, T. M. T., Vandeplas, G., Joish, V. N., Mannent, L. P., Tomassen P., van Zele, T., Cardell, L.O., Arebro, J., Olze, H., Forster-Ruhrmann, U., Kowalski, M. L., Olszewska-Ziaber, A., Fokkens, W., van Drunen, C., Mullol, J., Alobid, I., Hellings, P.W., Hox, V., …Bachert, C. (2019). The GALEN rhinosinusitis cohort: Chronic rhinosinusitis with nasal polyps affects health-related quality of life. Rhinology, 57(5), 343-351. https://doi.org/10.4193/Rhin19.158
Ejournal article without a DOI,  from a database

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K., Author, L. L., Author, M. M., Author, N. N., Author, O. O., Author, P. P., Author, Q. Q., Author, R. R., Author, S. S., ... Author, Z. Z. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page.
Ejournal article without a DOI,  from the Web

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K., Author, L. L., Author, M. M., Author, N. N., Author, O. O., Author, P. P., Author, Q. Q., Author, R. R., Author, S. S., ... Author, Z. Z. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. https://xxxxx
Note:

  • Retrieved from the Web: If preferred, you can use a source like TinyURL shortener to produce a short URL.
    e.g. https://tinyurl.com/3fmhj6hn

  • If an elocator or article number is noted, use this in place of page numbers in reference. The word Article should precede the number. E.g. Article e0193972

 

Print

List the first 19 authors, then ...  then last author.

Format Example

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K., Author, L. L., Author, M. M., Author, N. N., Author, O. O., Author, P. P., Author, Q. Q., Author, R. R., Author, S. S., ... Author, Z. Z.. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page.

Zarate, Y. A., Bosanko, K. A., Caffrey, A. R., Bernstein, J. A., Martin, D. M., Williams, M. S., Berry-Kravis, E. M., Mark, P. R., Manning, M. A., Bhambhani, V., Vargas, M., Seeley, A. H., Estrada-Veras, J. I., van Dooren, M. F., Schwab, M., Vanderver, A., Melis, D., Alsadah, A., Sadler, L.,  … Fish, J. L. (2019). Mutation update for the SATB2 gene. Human Mutation, 40(8), 1013–1029.

As cited in a journal article

Sometimes authors quote other authors. This is referred to in APA style as a secondary source. Citations need to include both the original author and year, and the author and year of the work where the quote/idea was found. In the reference list, you will need to cite only the secondary source in which you found the citation.

 

Reference elements

Reference the journal in which you found the citation. Screenshot of an annotated reference of an ejournal article

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Original Author, Year, as cited in Secondary Author, Year)

 

OR

Original Author (Year, as cited in Secondary Author, Year)

... manage the challenges (Johnson, 2013, as cited in Hopkinson et al., 2018).

OR

Johnson (2013, as cited in Hopkinson et al., 2018) explains how ...
Quote

"..." (Original Author, Year, as cited in Secondary Author, Year, p. xx)

OR

Original Author (Year, as cited in Secondary Author, Year) "..." (p. xx)

Many parents find that "in early childhood ..." (Brown, 2010, as cited in Chang-Kredl & Wilkie, 2016, p. 310).

OR

Brown (2010, as cited in Chang-Kredl & Wilkie, 2016) states "in early childhood ..." (p. 310).

 

Reference 

Reference the secondary source in which you found the citation.

 

Electronic
  Format Example

Ejournal article with a DOI

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. https://doi.org/xx.xxxx

Hopkinson, P., Zils, M., Hawkins, P., & Roper, S. (2018). Managing a complex global circular economy business model: Opportunities and challenges. California Management Review, 60(3), 71-94. https://doi.org/10.1177/0008125618764692
Ejournal article without a DOI, from a database

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page. 

Chang-Kredl, S., & Wilkie, G. (2016). What is it like to be a child? Childhood subjectivity and teacher memories as heterotopia. Curriculum Inquiry, 46(3), 308-320. 
Ejournal article without a DOI, from the Web

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page.  https://xxxxx

Jevon, P., & Gallier, H. (2020). How to measure capillary refill time in patients who are acutely ill. Nursing TImes, 116(8), 29-30. https://www.nursingtimes.net/clinical-archive/assessment-skills/how-to-measure-capillary-refill-time-in-patients-who-are-acutely-ill-20-07-2020/
Note:

  • Retrieved from the Web: If preferred, you can use a source like TinyURL shortener to produce a short URL.
    e.g. https://tinyurl.com/3fmhj6hn

  • If an elocator or article number is noted, use this in place of page numbers in reference. The word Article should precede the number. E.g. Article e0193972

 

Print
Format Example

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), Page-Page.

Phua, V., & McNally, J. W. (2008). Men planning for retirement: Changing meanings of preretirement planning. Journal of Applied Gerontology, 27(5), 588-608. 

Practice exercise