Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference works such as thesauruses or atlases are treated similarly to book chapters, but without the inclusion of page numbers. If each entry has its own author, then format the entry as normal. If an entry does not have its own author, then the editor or publisher moves into the author's position. See the examples below for further explanation.
Same format applies to all reference works including dictionaries, thesauruses, encyclopedias and atlases.
| Format | Example | |
| Paraphrase |
(Organisation/Editor, Year) OR Organisation/Editor (Year) |
... is described as a type of political system (Cambridge University, n.d.). OR Dirr (2011) classes Cycas revoluta as ... |
| Quote |
"..." (Organisation/Editor, Year, p. xx) OR Organisation/Editor (Year) "..." |
"Cycas revoluta is vital to the Earth's ecosystem for ... " (Dirr, 2011, pp. 254-255). OR Cambridge University (n.d.) defines "Constitution" as "a set of political principles by which a state or organization is governed". |
| Format | Example | |
|
Organisation/Editor, A. A. (Ed.). (Year). Title of entry. In Title of work (edition, if not the first, Vol. #). Publisher. |
Dirr, M. A. (Ed.). (2011). Cycas revoluta. In Dirr's encyclopedia of trees and shrubs. Timber Press. |
|
| Online |
Organisation. (Year). Title of entry. In Title of work. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from http://xxxxx |
Cambridge University. (n.d.). Constitution. In Cambridge dictionary . Retrieved May 20, 2020, from https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/constitution |
Same format applies to all reference works including dictionaries, thesauruses, encyclopedias and atlases.
| Format | Examples | |
| Paraphrase |
(Author, Year) OR Author (Year) |
... is necessary for Earth's survival (Selin & Mann, n.d.). OR Selin and Mann (n.d.) describe global warming as ... |
| Quote |
"..." (Author, Year) OR Author (Year) "..." |
"Global warming is a phenomenon not to be ignored" (Selin & Mann, n.d.). OR Selin and Mann (n.d.) explain global warming as "a phenomenon not to be ignored". |
| Format | Examples | |
|
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of entry. In E. E. Editor (Ed.), Title of work. Publisher. |
Logan, C. (2012). Gothic revival. In P. Goad & J. Willis (Eds.), The Encyclopedia of Australian Architecture. Cambridge University Press. |
|
| Online |
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of entry. In Title of work. Organisation/Publisher. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from http://xxxxx |
Selin, H., & Mann, M. E. (n.d.). Global warming. In Encyclopedia Britannica. Retrieved May 14, 2020, from https://www.britannica.com/science/global-warming |