LibGuides: Research Skills: Selecting your resources

Selecting your resources

The ART of selection

Accurate

Is information correct?

Is it from a credible author/source?

Relevant

Does it relate to your topic?

Does it meet your research goal/s?

Timely

Is information current/up-to date?

Evaluating resources

Evaluating resources video
Learn how to evaluate resources using the CRAAP test.
Resource evaluation checklist (PDF)
Use the CRAAP test to check a resource's academic suitability/relevance.
Recommended citation: Meriam Library. (2010). Evaluating information: Applying the CRAAP test. California State University. https://library.csuchico.edu/sites/default/files/craap-test.pdf

First Nations resources and knowledges

See the toolkit below for detailed guidance on appropriately selecting, using and referencing First Nations resources.

Indigenous referencing guidance for Indigenous knowledges (PDF)
A set of selection/usage guidelines for students and staff including a decision tree, selection questions and referencing formats. This material is licensed under a CC-BY-NC-SA licence.

Recommended citation: Indigenous Archives Collective., Faulkhead, S., Thorpe, K., Sentance, N., Booker, L. & Barrowcliffe, R. (2023). Indigenous referencing guidance for Indigenous knowledges. Indigenous Archives Collective and the UTS Jumbunna Institute of Indigenous Education and Research. https://members.caval.edu.au/indigenous-referencing-guidance

Guide to resource types

Books / Ebooks

Cover broad topics and/or subjects. e.g. Leadership management

Where to find Library Search Ebook platforms: ProQuest EBook Central EBSCO Ebooks O'Reilly for Higher Education	How to search Check index and/or contents for topic and related keywords. Index is located at back with topics/terms listed alphabetically. Contents is located at front listing chapter content.

Where to find

Library Search

Ebook platforms:

How to search

Check index and/or contents for topic and related keywords.

Index is located at back with topics/terms listed alphabetically.

Contents is located at front listing chapter content.

Journal Articles

Cover specific topics and subjects with narrow focus. e.g. effect of charismatic leadership on employee performance

Where to find Library databases Browse by subject or A - Z listing. Google Scholar Use on campus or set up your home device to link to Holmesglen database subscriptions (see help guide).	How to search Check abstract and subject listing for keywords and related topics. Abstract provides a summary and outlines main focus. Subject listing lists related topics and wider focus. View example

Where to find

Library databases
Browse by subject or A - Z listing.

Google Scholar
Use on campus or set up your home device to link to Holmesglen database subscriptions (see help guide).

How to search

Check abstract and subject listing for keywords and related topics.

Abstract provides a summary and outlines main focus.

Subject listing lists related topics and wider focus.

View example

Images

Provide visual representation of events, concepts and/or data. e.g. image of human body's circulatory system

Where to find Free/CC image sites: Unsplash Pixabay Flickr - Creative Commons CC Search More	How to search Check for any terms of use, CC or copyright licenses before selecting an image. Free images can be freely copied, re-used and adapted. CC Creative Commons images can be copied or re-used according to the terms of the specific CC license. © Copyright images cannot be copied or re-used without explicit permission from creator.

Where to find

Free/CC image sites:

How to search

Check for any terms of use, CC or copyright licenses before selecting an image.

Free images can be freely copied, re-used and adapted.

CC Creative Commons images can be copied or re-used according to the terms of the specific CC license.

Reports

Cover statistics, industry/annual reports and performance, research findings and recommendations. e.g. Dental services in Australia industry report

Where to find Library databases Browse by subject or A - Z listing. Google Government, educational, business/company and NGO websites.	How to search Check contents and/or executive summary (where available) for topic and related keywords. Contents is located at front listing section content. Executive summary is located on first few pages summarising content and findings.

Where to find

Library databases
Browse by subject or A - Z listing.

Google
Government, educational, business/company and NGO websites.

How to search

Check contents and/or executive summary (where available) for topic and related keywords.

Contents is located at front listing section content.

Executive summary is located on first few pages summarising content and findings.

Websites

Cover general background information, may publish statistics and provide links to frameworks, reports, fact sheets and other resources. e.g. Department of Social Services https://dss.gov.au

Wikipedia is NOT an appropriate academic source. Only use as a starting point for your own information.

Where to find Google Government, educational, business/company and NGO websites.	How to search Check website domain contained in URL and about section to determine if source is academically appropriate. .gov → Government .org → Organisation .au → Australia .edu → Education .com / .co → Company/Business

Where to find

Google
Government, educational, business/company and NGO websites.

How to search

Check website domain contained in URL and about section to determine if source is academically appropriate.

.gov → Government

.org → Organisation

.au → Australia

.edu → Education

.com / .co → Company/Business