e.g. implementing marketing
strategies
e.g. customer service
e.g. PESTEL analysis
Search for resources with both terms in them.
Search: cats AND dogs
Search for resources with either term in them.
Search: cats OR dogs
Search for resources with only one of the terms in them.
Search: cats NOT dogs
"Social media"
chocolate AND (cake OR tart)
lion* = lion, lioness, lionfish
wom?n = woman, women
+ Use more search terms
+ Add a location or date range
“” Put quotation marks around phrases
⇔ Broaden your search terms
+ Add synonyms to your search terms
⇔ Use a wider date range
Search the catalogue to discover resources available through the library.
|
Do a broad search of your topic. Use refiners to narrow your results by resource type, date range and more. Excellent for finding books/ebooks, streaming video and other materials. Good starting point for locating articles and reports. |
Watch / Learn• Library Search video |
Use your course's subject guide as a great starting point for finding relevant resources.
|
Search tips and guidance on finding relevant resources. Links to print and electronic resources tailored to your course. Get support from your liaison librarian and the Library. |
Browse / Explore Your subject guide may include books/ebooks, journals, magazines, streaming video, course readings and more. |
Search the Library databases to gain full-text access to articles, reports and other publications.
|
Always limit results to full-text only. Use database refiners to narrow your results. Browse by subject listing or check your subject guide for a selection of databases relevant to your course. |
Watch / Learn • Databases video |
| What is a database?: A searchable collection of materials a bit like Google, but provides access to sources that are usually behind a paywall on the Internet. The Library subscribes to relevant databases, giving you free access to these materials which you would otherwise have to pay for! |
Search the Internet to find general background information and public resources from commercial, government, education, organisation, business and individual websites.
Search Google Scholar for book/journal citations, articles and chapters, conference reports and theses.
|
Link Google Scholar results to Holmesglen Library to find both publicly available resources and those within library subscriptions. Always evaluate websites carefully. Algorithms put the most clicked on pages at the top of the results, not the most relevant. |
Watch / Learn • Using Google Scholar for research video |
| How to evaluate web sources?: See selecting your resources page for more information. |
