In this guide you can find:
Vintage crochet: Clothing, homewares and more by
Vintage Crochet presents classic patterns sourced from historical newspapers and magazines. Each pattern has been tested and updated, with modern yarn and sizing tips. A handy difficulty rating means you can choose the projects that are right for you.If your preschooler likes to party (like it's 1888), there's a cute dress in Tunisian crochet from Launceston's The Colonist. If you're a flapper at heart, you'll love the 1920s striped waistcoat from The Australian Woman's Mirror. If the 60s make you want to go-go, there are mod collars, a bikini cover-up and a coat with matching pill-box hat, 'the symbol of winter chic' according to The Australian Women's Weekly.As you crochet, learn about the history of granny squares, crochet in art and activism, the original superstar pattern designers of the early twentieth century, amigurumi and more.
A history of interior design (5th ed.) by
A History of Interior Design tells the story of 6,000 years of domestic and public space. It's an essential resource for students, professionals and anyone interested in interior design, the decorative arts, architecture and art history. It explores a broad range of styles and movements, weaving together a fascinating narrative from cave dwellings and temple architecture, through Gothic cathedrals and Islamic palaces, to modern skyscrapers and the retail spaces of the 21st-century. This fully updated fifth edition includes more on the contributions of women designers and architects, additional coverage of furniture, product design and decoration, as well as numerous examples of diverse modern styles from around the world. An extra final chapter focuses on the influence of the latest technology and current thinking on the importance of conservation and ethical sourcing. This new edition includes 730 images, over 300 of which are new or colour replacements for black and white photos.
Interior Design Illustrated by
The bestselling guide to interior design, updated with new code and technology Interior Design Illustrated is the definitive guide to design for interior spaces. Richly illustrated in author Francis Ching's signature style, this book introduces complex design concepts in a visually stunning format; from defining the space and using the elements of design, to planning building systems and incorporating sustainable materials, this volume embodies the idea that beauty and function are not separate entities, but two parts of a whole. This new fourth edition has been updated to reflect the latest building codes and design practices, with discussion of new materials related to acoustics, lighting, and sustainable furnishings. Renewed attention to sustainability includes new information on energy conservation, design for longevity and adaptive reuse of existing buildings, as well as an updated discussion on LED lighting, workplace design, use of color, and computer modeling software to provide a well-rounded view of how interior design firms are working today. This classic text brings the elements and principles of design to life, giving students the practical skills they need to transition from idea to concept. Understand the latest building codes and how to integrate them into your design Explore new advances in materials, lighting, and wireless technology Design from a perspective of sustainability, longevity, and energy efficiency Delve into BIM, including software for modeling lighting, acoustics, and more Interior designers work at the intersection of aesthetics, functionality, regulations, accessibility, sustainability, and technology. There's no one formula for getting it right, only an eye trained by experience, based on a mastery of design fundamentals. Interior Design Illustrated begins laying that foundation, guided by a leading global authority in the field.
Interior Design Since 1900 by
From the 19th-century Arts and Crafts movement to the present day, and from Art Nouveau and Bauhaus to hi-tech and green design, every style of interior design since 1900 is charted in this wide-ranging survey. Design in the 20th century saw an extraordinary evolution, with the emergence of professional interior designers and the growing appetite to redesign homes at frequent intervals. In recent decades the focus has been on sustainable design in public spaces such as offices, factories and ships. Anne Massey explores these developments in social, political, economic and cultural contexts. More than 200 illustrations of interiors from around the world, from William Morris's drawing room to a 21st-century aircraft, reveal the fundamental changes in taste and style from Art Deco to Pop and from the Streamline Moderne to Post-Modernism. < This volume has been a classic introduction to the subject for almost thirty years. The new, fourth edition is brought up to date with a chapter on transnational design, encompassing mid-century modernist work in Singapore and Sri Lanka as well as very recent interiors for spaces as varied as luxury hotels in Dubai and a contemporary art museum in Cape Town. Anne Massey shows how a shared language of design and cutting-edge technology are reshaping interiors around the globe.
SketchUp for Interior Design by
A practical guide to SketchUp addressing the specific needs of interior designers Already a common and popular tool for architects and landscape architects, SketchUp is increasingly finding a place in the professional workflow of interior designers. SketchUp for Interior Design is a practical introduction for interior designers and students who want to learn to use the software for their unique needs. The book covers the basics of creating 3D models before showing how to create space plans, model furniture, cabinetry, and accessories, experiment with colors and materials, incorporate manufacturers' models into project plans, and create final presentations and animated walk-throughs for clients. Each chapter includes clear explanations and helpful illustrations to make this an ideal introduction to the topic. Includes downloadable sample models and 39 tutorial videos Features sample questions and activities for instructors and additional online resources for students and self-learners Provides instruction on using SketchUp in both PC and Mac formats.
Basics Interior Architecture 02: Context and Environment by
Basics Interior Architecture 02: Context & Environment proposes a method of design based on the interpretation, evaluation and utilization of physical factors, such as light and orientation, the contextual issues of the urban form and the subject of sustainability. It examines the ways each of these factors influences the form of the interior. The text is supported by detailed studies of contemporary work, alongside activities and resources.
Spatial Strategies for Interior Design by
This book explores the ways in which the organization of interior space can be developed from the initial concept through to the planning of a project. The straightforward text explains strategies, processes, and methods that can be employed to transform an initial brief into an interior that provides an appropriate response to the project's demands. This is backed up with a wealth of visual material including photographs and specially created diagrams and models. Case studies and step-by-step exercises further illustrate the application of the principles and approaches introduced in the text. This is an invaluable practical and inspirational guide to a subject that all students of spatial design must master.
Interior Design Using Autodesk Revit 2020 by
This text provides the interior design student a well-rounded knowledge of Autodesk Revit tools and techniques. These skills can then be applied to enhance professional development in both academia and industry. Each book also includes access to nearly 100 video tutorials designed to further help you master Autodesk Revit.
My office is a bedroom & other interior design dilemmas
Just moved into your new home? No idea where to start or what to do? Landlord won't let you paint your walls? Hate your sofa but can't afford a new one? Wondering if you can paint your horrible plastic chairs? Joanna Thornhill has the answers to all of your questions, even if you've never attempted DIY before.
Packed with inspirational and practical advice for both homeowners and renters, My Bedroom is an Office will help you to finesse your interiors and achieve a stylish home to be proud of!
The Touch :Spaces designed for the senses by
It is often said that beauty lies in the eye of the beholder. In The Touch, Kinfolk and Norm Architects present an alternative: that good design is not only visually appealing—it engages all of the human senses.