Search tips and guidance on finding relevant resources
Links to print and electronic resources
Links to referencing information
Details on how to contact your liaison librarian and the Library for assistance
Search the Library
Designing fashion's future: Present practice and tactics for sustainable change by Alice PayneHow do fashion designers design? How does design function within the industry? How can design practices open up sustainable pathways for fashion's future? Designing Fashion's Future responds to these questions to offer a fresh understanding of design practices within the sprawling, shifting fashion system.Fashion design is typically viewed as the rarefied practice of elite professionals, or else as a single stage within the apparel value chain. Alice Payne shows how design needn't be reduced to a set of decisions by a designer or design team, but can instead be examined as a process, object, or agent that shapes fashion's material and symbolic worlds. Designing Fashion's Future draws on more than 50 interviews with industry professionals based in Australia, Asia, North America, Europe, and the United Kingdom. These diverse perspectives from multinational retailers, independent and experimental contexts ground the discussion in contemporary industry practices.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
Alexander McQueen: Mind, Mythos, Muse by Clarissa M. Esguerra, Michaela Hansen, Katie Somerville and Danielle WhitfieldOne of the most significant fashion designers of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, Lee Alexander McQueen was both a conceptual and technical virtuoso. His critically acclaimed collections synthesised his unique training in Savile Row tailoring, theatrical design and haute couture, while his references spanned time, geography, mediums and technology. McQueen’s singular viewpoint produced exquisitely constructed, thought-provoking and often subversive or allegorical fashion.
Edited by Clarissa M. Esguerra and Michaela Hansen with Katie Somerville and Danielle Whitfield, this publication showcases works by McQueen from both the National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) and Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) collections, and features insightful texts on McQueen and new reflections from some of his key collaborators. The book is richly illustrated with imagery from the designer’s earliest and most acclaimed collections and behind-the-scenes photography. McQueen’s work is presented alongside a selection of artworks that reveal his myriad reference points.
Alexander McQueen: Mind, Mythos, Muse provides a new and innovative assessment of McQueen’s work and highlights his deeply imaginative approach to storytelling and construction through fashion.
Call Number: 746.92092 ALE
Trench Coat by Jane TynanObject Lessons is a series of short, beautifully designed books about the hidden lives of ordinary things.We think we know the trench coat, but where does it come from and where will it take us? From its origins in the trenches of WW1, this military outerwear came to project the inner-being of detectives, writers, reporters, rebels, artists and intellectuals. The coat outfitted imaginative leaps into the unknown. Trench Coat tells the story of seductive entanglements with technology, time, law, politics, trust and trespass. Readers follow the rise of a sartorial archetype through media, design, literature, cinema and fashion. Today, as a staple in stories of future life-worlds, the trench coat warns of disturbances to come. Object Lessons is published in partnership with an essay series in The Atlantic.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
Kimono Style by Mónika Bincsik, Karen van Godtsenhoven and Masanao AraiThe untold modern history of the Japanese kimono and its dynamic relationship to Western culture Japan's engagement with Western clothing, culture, and art in the mid-nineteenth century transformed the traditional kimono and began a cross-cultural sartorial dialogue that continues to this day. This publication explores the kimono's fascinating modern history and its notable influence on Western fashion. Initially signaling the wearer's social position, marital status, age, and wealth, older kimono designs gave way to the demands of modernized and democratized twentieth-century lifestyles as well as the preferences of the emancipated "new woman." Conversely, inspiration from the kimono's silhouette liberated Western designers such as Paul Poiret and Madeline Vionnet from traditional European tailoring. Juxtaposing never-before-published Japanese textiles from the John C. Weber Collection with Western couture, this book places the kimono on the stage of global fashion history. Published by The Metropolitan Museum of Art/Distributed by Yale University Press Exhibition Schedule: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York (June 7, 2022-February 20, 2023)
Call Number: 391.00952 KIM
The dressmaking book: Over 80 techniques by Alison SmithTailor-make your wardrobe with this essential dressmaking guide. Discover everything you need to know to design, create, and customize your clothes. Guiding you through every stage of clothes-making in a clear, easy-to-understand way, The Dressmaking Book contains everything you need to make timeless wardrobe staples that can be easily adapted to suit your style. Choose the perfect fabrics for any project, try your hand at a range of machine-sewing techniques, and put your new-found knowledge to use with 13 downloadable patterns that can be adapted to create more than 30 stylish garments. With step-by-step guides and patterns to make classic dresses, skirts, tops, trousers, and jackets, alongside ideas for refreshing and reinventing your old clothes, The Dressmaking Book has everything you need to ditch fast fashion and create stunning, original clothes to suit your style.
Call Number: 646.4 SMI
Master the Coverstitch Machine: The complete coverstitch sewing guide by Johanna LundstromGet ready to take your coverstitch machine skills to the next level! Learn all the necessary techniques you need in order to create professional-looking garments that will rival ready-to-wear. Master the Coverstitch machine will guide you through the best practices needed for successful coverstitching, with easy to understand, illustrated, step-by-step instructions. With the basics covered, you'll be able to create garments following the detailed tutorials on everything from sewing binding and neckband to jeans making and underwear. Master the Coverstitch Machine will teach you how to: Hem garments like a pro Sew binding, ribbing and other neckline finishes Buy the coverstitch machine that best fits your needs Use professional techniques for swimwear, activewear and underwear Stitch decorative seams Use a coverstitch machine for jeans making Fix common coverstitch issues Use different presser feet and attachments for maximum results Pick the right type of needles and thread for your projects Clean and maintain your machine Master the Coverstitch Machine also features sewing industry experts who share their best tips for successful coverstitching. Coverstitching can be daunting, but it doesn't have to be. If you follow the methods described in this book you'll be amazed how little tweaks can vastly improve the end result!
Call Number: 646.2044 LUN
Supply chain management and logistics in the global fashion sector: The sustainability challenge by Rajkishore NayakThe ways in which we design, make, transport and then discard clothes has a huge social and environmental impact. This book covers responsible business practices and sustainability in the fashion industry from the raw fibre stage, through production, to the point of customer consumption. The concepts of responsibility and sustainability are fast becoming essential factors in business decisions and Supply Chain Management and Logistics in the Global Fashion Sector leads the reader through the multiple stages in the supply chain that can impact on business strategy.
A perfect resource for students studying fashion and for those working in the sector who wish to identify the latest thinking as they plan sustainability strategies, the book is divided into four clear sections. Part I of the book examines sustainability in the supply chain by identifying the three pillars of sustainability (social, economic and environmental) and considers how fashion brands are innovating in this area. Part II looks at fashion logistics and supply chain operations by assessing fibre, yarn and fabric considerations, logistical issues for both garment production, and service delivery, stock control, transportation, barriers and risks. Part III develops the logistics theme further by identifying recent trends and case studies that highlight agility and lean management structures, and the application of transparency enhancing radio frequency identification (RFID). This section further applies modelling and simulation techniques from the automotive and pharmaceutical industries to the fashion sector. Part IV considers how sustainability can be embedded into the multi-tiered fashion supply chain and its selling environment.
Call Number: 746.92 SUP
Patternmaking for Dress Design: 9 Iconic Styles from Empire to Cheongsam by Pamela VanderlindePatternmaking for Dress Design covers patternmaking techniques for 9 iconic dress designs, focusing not only on the concepts needed to draft patterns, but also uniquely exploring the history of each garment design to reveal what lies behind their enduring appeal today. Each chapter provides easy-to-follow patterns for the sheath, empire, shift, trapeze, wrap, strapless, shirtwaist, cheongsam and coatdress.
Call Number: 646.4072 VAN
Fashion Theory: A Reader (2nd ed.). by Malcolm BarnardThis thoroughly revised and updated edition of Fashion Theory: A Reader brings together and presents a wide range of essays on fashion theory that will engage and inform both the general reader and the specialist student of fashion. From apparently simple and accessible theories concerning what fashion is to seemingly more difficult or challenging theories concerning globalisation and new media, this collection contextualises different theoretical approaches to identify, analyse and explain the remarkable diversity, complexity and beauty of what we understand and experience every day as fashion and clothing. This second edition contains entirely new sections on fashion and sustainability, fashion and globalisation, fashion and digital/social media and fashion and the body/prosthesis. It also contains updated and revised sections on fashion, identity and difference, and on fashion and consumption and fashion as communication. More specifically, the section on identity and difference has been updated to include contemporary theoretical debates surrounding Islam and fashion, and LGBT+ communities and fashion and the section on consumption now includes theories of 'prosumption'. Each section has a specialist and dedicated Editor's Introduction which provides essential conceptual background, theoretical contextualisation and critical summaries of the readings in each section. Bringing together the most influential and ground breaking writers on fashion and exposing the ideas and theories behind what they say, this unique collection of extracts and essays brings to light the presuppositions involved in the things we all think and say about fashion. This second edition of Fashion Theory: A Reader is a timeless and invaluable resource for both the general reader and undergraduate students across a range of disciplines including sociology, cultural studies and fashion studies.