Fashion

One of the most significant fashion designers of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, Lee Alexander McQueen was both a conceptual and technical virtuoso. His critically acclaimed collections synthesised his unique training in Savile Row tailoring, theatrical design and haute couture, while his references spanned time, geography, mediums and technology. McQueen’s singular viewpoint produced exquisitely constructed, thought-provoking and often subversive or allegorical fashion.

Edited by Clarissa M. Esguerra and Michaela Hansen with Katie Somerville and Danielle Whitfield, this publication showcases works by McQueen from both the National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) and Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) collections, and features insightful texts on McQueen and new reflections from some of his key collaborators. The book is richly illustrated with imagery from the designer’s earliest and most acclaimed collections and behind-the-scenes photography. McQueen’s work is presented alongside a selection of artworks that reveal his myriad reference points.

Alexander McQueen: Mind, Mythos, Muse provides a new and innovative assessment of McQueen’s work and highlights his deeply imaginative approach to storytelling and construction through fashion.

The untold modern history of the Japanese kimono and its dynamic relationship to Western culture. Japan's engagement with Western clothing, culture, and art in the mid-nineteenth century transformed the traditional kimono and began a cross-cultural sartorial dialogue that continues to this day. This publication explores the kimono's fascinating modern history and its notable influence on Western fashion. Initially signaling the wearer's social position, marital status, age, and wealth, older kimono designs gave way to the demands of modernized and democratized twentieth-century lifestyles as well as the preferences of the emancipated "new woman." Conversely, inspiration from the kimono's silhouette liberated Western designers such as Paul Poiret and Madeline Vionnet from traditional European tailoring. Juxtaposing never-before-published Japanese textiles from the John C. Weber Collection with Western couture, this book places the kimono on the stage of global fashion history.

Bringing together more than 100 items of clothing, this book reveals the intricacies of Japanese dress from the 18th century to the present. Including garments for women, men and children, the details have been selected both for their exquisite beauty and craftsmanship, and for how much they impart about the wearer's identity, be it age, status or taste. A comprehensive introduction, illuminating the main periods and key themes of Japanese fashion history, is followed by thematic chapters that cover all aspects of clothing, from hair accessories and necklines to hemlines and shoes. Each garment or object is accompanied by a short text exploring its structure and the fascinating range of decorative techniques employed, including embroidery, weaving, lacquering, stencilling, dyeing and digital technology. Specially commissioned detail photography and line drawings provide an invaluable resource for Japanophiles, students, collectors, designers and lovers of fashion and world dress.

Milestones of the Dior look from 1947 to now In celebration of Dior's 70th anniversary and produced in close collaboration with the House of Dior, one of the world's most prestigious couture houses, this beautiful publication features garments designed by Christian Dior Couture between 1947 and 2017 and more than 100 stunning images.

Orla Kiely has opened her archives to explore a life dedicated to print. From her earliest and most iconic pattern, Stem, to the evolution of her print design encompassing the worlds of fashion, homewares and beyond, Orla shares the full range of patterns and designs that she has produced since establishing her brand in 1995. This is a celebration of Orla's entire body of work - of colour, of print and of a handbag loved by women all over the world.

Take up your all-access pass to one of the most dynamic areas of the international fashion industry. Lavishly illustrated and packed with industry insights, The Fashion Show is the must-have guide to showing off a collection. You will learn about: The context of the fashion show and its significance for brands, designers, journalists and others working in the fashion industry; How a fashion show is produced, everything from agreeing a vision to casting the models to setting up backstage; What happens on show day, and how to use the impact of your show. Future fashion designers, fashion marketers, fashion managers, fashion PRs - and creative practitioners looking to learn more about this fascinating part of the industry, you are cordially invited to join Gill Stark in the front row of The Fashion Show.

20th-Century Fashion in Detail reveals the elaborate embroidery, intricate pleats, and daring cuts that make up some of the most beautiful garments in the twentieth- century fashion collection at the Victoria and Albert Museum, one of the world's top fashion and design museums. Authors Claire Wilcox and Valerie D. Mendes, leading fashion experts from the V&A, have written a book that will be an invaluable resource for students, collectors, and designers.Including exquisite haute-couture pieces, from sequined Chanel ensembles to embellished Dior evening gowns, this revised and expanded edition features more than 30 new garments. Each piece is accompanied by detail photography and line drawings showing its complete construction. An extraordinary exploration of the techniques used by couturiers, 20th-Century Fashion in Detail will delight all followers of fashion. 

Communicate your ideas and designs through a variety of sketches, drawings and expressive illustrations, with guidance from a seasoned professional. With more than 150 colour examples, John Hopkins takes you through the different styles, techniques and approaches to drawing in the fashion industry. This second edition offers advice on selecting appropriate materials and media, with examples demonstrating their different uses and applications. You 'll also learn the theory and history of fashion drawing, and the range of styles used by contemporary designers, from quick sketches to sophisticated digital drawings. In addition to new interviews with designers and illustrators, a glossary, resources directory and revised templates, this edition also has exercises to get you pencilling your fashion figures, painting your collections and developing that all-important portfolio right from the start.

Color speaks a powerful cultural language, conveying political, sexual, and economic messages that, throughout history, have revealed how we relate to ourselves and our world. This ground-breaking compilation is the first to investigate how color in fashionable and ceremonial dress has played a significant social role, indicating acceptance and exclusion, convention and subversion.

Fashion Fibers: Designing for Sustainability is an accessible reference tool for fashion students and designers who want to learn how to make decisions to enhance the sustainability potential in common fibers used in the fashion industry. Drawing upon the cradle to cradle philosophy and industry expertise, the book introduces readers to the fundamentals of fiber production and the product lifecycle. It features a fiber-by-fiber guide to natural fibers including cotton, hemp, silk, manufactured fibers including polyester, modal, azlon, then covers processing and promoting recycled fibers that are designed to be "circular".

In recent years, the study of textiles and culture has become a dynamic field of scholarship, reflecting new global, material and technological possibilities. This is the first handbook of specially commissioned essays to provide a guide to the major strands of critical work around textiles past and present and to draw upon the work of artists and designers as well as researchers in textiles studies. The handbook offers an authoritative and wide-ranging guide to the topics, issues, and questions that are central to the study of textiles today: it examines how material practices reflect cross-cultural influences; it explores textiles' relationships to history, memory, place, and social and technological change; and considers their influence on fashion and design, sustainable production, craft, architecture, curation and contemporary textile art practice. This illustrated volume will be essential reading for students and scholars involved in research on textiles and related subjects such as dress, costume and fashion, feminism and gender, art and design, and cultural history.

A revered resource, Textiles, 11th Edition, by Sara Kadolph, provides students with a basic knowledge of textiles, how they are produced and how appropriate performance characteristics are incorporated into materials and products. Organised according to the textile production process, the text provides a solid understanding of textile components—including fibers, yarns, fabrics, and finishes. Using new full-colour photos and illustrations, it examines the interrelationships among these components and their impact on product performance. This edition features coverage of new fibers, updated industry and company examples and summary tables that make this a timeless resource for any industry professional. Also discusses the new effects of sustainablity in the industry.

The ultimate reference guide to all the major types of fabric in use today. Fabrics are the base for the world of fashion: they determine the way designers conceive their pieces and their creativity. This book is a bridge uniting materials and their creators by visually showing the profound relationship between fabrics and fashion with a wide range of patterns, their history and terminology as well.

One of the most beautiful and comprehensive sourcebooks of fabric swatches from every key designer of the last century This exhaustive sourcebook book presents the most eye-catching and important pieces from an array of more than 100 of the world's fashion designers. Covering both contemporary and classic designs--from historic houses such as Sophie Hallette, masters of lace, to the edgiest work by Christopher Kane and Giles Deacon--it sets a new benchmark in the world of fabric design.

With more than 1,100 images and technical packages for 12 apparel products, the book explains topics like fabric selection, finding seasonal fashion trends, garment construction, and fit evaluation, all so you can cost-effectively meet consumer needs. You'll learn about product categories including women's wear, menswear, and knitwear, as well as how to create a cost sheet and manage product data, to help you develop specification sheets and technical packages for specific markets.

Patternmaking for Dress Design covers patternmaking techniques for 9 iconic dress designs, focusing not only on the concepts needed to draft patterns, but also uniquely exploring the history of each garment design to reveal what lies behind their enduring appeal today. Each chapter provides easy-to-follow patterns for the sheath, empire, shift, trapeze, wrap, strapless, shirtwaist, cheongsam and coatdress.

Pattern making, patternmaking, pattern cutting or flat patterning, are all words that describe the process of creating a two-dimensional diagram or template of a garment, drafted on a flat surface from either body measurements or transferred from a draped muslin. The starting point of a pattern is a sloper. Slopers are basic patterns that are drafted containing a certain amount of wearing ease for the wearer's comfort and are created without seam allowances. Slopers are used as the foundation or template for creating design variations that are subsequently cut and sewn in fabric. In this book you will start by learning how to create a sloper for a basic sleeve before moving on to collars, bodices, skirts, and trousers. Each lesson in the book is illustrated in meticulous detail in a series of step-by-step photographs accompanied by charts, diagrams, and photos from the catwalk.

This practical step-by-step guide to haute couture embroidery covers everything from machine and hand stitching, to tambour beading, goldwork and monogramming. Whether you are interested in adding monogrammed initials to your favourite bathrobe, stitching a flower on your favourite jacket, adding sparkling beads to a new dress or creating a goldwork embellishment, Fashion Embroidery teaches you how to add a unique touch to your clothes. In this beautifully illustrated book, Jessica Pile, the Production Director at Hand & Lock embroidery, explores the intricate techniques used in fashion embroidery. With hand-drawn designs, catwalk photographs and step-by-step guides, this book is perfect for beginners looking to personalise their own clothes, as well as more experienced embroiderers who want to apply new techniques to different fabrics.

Pattern cutting, or pattern making, is an essential yet complex skill for every fashion designer to master. Pattern Cutting: The Architecture of Fashion demystifies the pattern cutting process and clearly demonstrates pattern fundamentals, enabling you to construct in both 2D and 3D, and quickly get to grips with basic blocks, shape, sleeves, collars, trousers, pockets and finishes. Pat Parish approaches the subject of pattern cutting through proportion, balance, line and form, identifying key shapes and structures from the catwalk and translating them into 3D through cutting, draping and construction processes.

A comprehensive introduction to the basic techniques of pattern design for clothing. More and more women are making their own clothes but there are few comprehensive references available. For the most part, dedicated sewers have had to adjust standardized patterns or muddle their way through foreign-language books. In 'Practical Pattern Making' two pattern-making experts and designers introduce the basic techniques of creative pattern design for clothing. It is intended to help fashion students, designers and enthusiastic sewers develop and create a variety of styles, regardless of complexity.

Designed to boost draping confidence and design creativity, Fashion Pattern Cutting is a step-by-step guide to the pattern cutting process, from finding inspiration for a fashion-forward design through to creating the finished product. - Clear visuals show each step from mood board to patterns and possible design variations - Written in a friendly, approachable style by an experienced designer and teacher - Provides readers with the tools and techniques to experiment and create their own unique designs Fashion Pattern Cutting is a creative pattern cutting book that pushes the boundaries of experimentation on the mannequin stand.

Pattern is everywhere we go and in everything we do. We wear patterns, we walk over them, we even eat, drink and think them - we always have and we always will - but it's unlikely they demand too much of our attention... Innovative creative and cultural organization PATTERNITY exists to join the dots. From fashion and design to the natural world, look beyond the mundane forms that we see every day to find the hidden beauty in the underlying patterns that normally pass us by. A source of endless inspiration and innovation, this uniquely curated book will open your eyes anew.

Knowing how to sew will make you a better designer; you will learn what is possible, and be inspired by the creative possibilities of sewing techniques. In this book you will start by learning the basics: how to choose tools; how to choose and use thread; pressing techniques; and how to choose and use appropriate interfacings and linings. Basic techniques include seam and hem finishes, sewing buttons and buttonholes, working with knit fabrics and finishing details including bindings and spaghetti straps, tailored pockets and zips. Each lesson is illustrated with step-by-step photographs.

The Art of Pleating in Clothing Design and Construction The newfound fondness for fashionable handmade clothes is driving a robust market for sewing machines. The New York Times reports that sales more than doubled over the last decade. These creative sewers are hungry for resources to help them create personalised clothing. Here you will find step-by-step instructions for 24 specialised techniques for the experienced sewer. 'Folds in Fashion' provides detailed instructions on how to make 24 basic projects that create sophisticated embellishments for contemporary fashion pieces. Experienced sewers will revel in the creative projects and ideas from Rosa Garcia Prieto. Clear line drawings and concise instructions simplify the complex construction of features that are both consistent with current trends and timeless. Only standard sewing tools are required. 'Folds in Fashion' covers both traditional projects and those with elements of innovation. The book is about working with the natural tendencies of fabrics to create three-dimensional shapes with the appropriate textures that often imitate natural forms. Each project provides different ideas to apply to small details or to an entire pattern.

The devil is in the details. After spending weeks creating a couture, Chanel-inspired suit it would be a shame to skimp on the trim. Chanel collector and couture sewing expert Claire B. Shaeffer returns with Couture Sewing: Making Designer Trims to teach you everything you need to know to create and attach the perfect trim to any outfit. Professional instruction from a renowned fashion expert. This book with DVD set presents the know-how and design-atelier secrets that Shaeffer has developed after a lifetime of collecting and studying Chanel and other couture garments.

Revamp your wardrobe and maximize its usage with this comprehensive practical guide to maintaining and altering your clothes. Acclaimed costumier and expert tailor J Francois-Campbell guides you through ten tailoring techniques, covering everything from replacing buttons to changing a garment's shape. If you're looking for better fitting clothes or simply to prolong the life of your garments, this book will show you how with easy to follow step-by-step instructions. Chapters cover alterations on skirts, dresses, trousers, jackets, shirts, coats and capes, overalls, waistcoats and ties.

From design concept to apparel manufacturing and retailing. A professional's complete guide to creating, marketing and producing a successful line. Everything you need to know when starting your own apparel business. Fashion for Profit has been reviewed and validated by industry experts.

Brand Building for Profit considers the steps involved in creating a new company from scratch, including creating a logo, trademarks and how to create opportunities to build on your brand.

Costing for Profit is a guide to helping you understand the ins and outs of costing for your garments and all associated components.

This new textbook, authored by a team of expert researchers and lecturers based at the London College of Fashion, is one of the first in the field to examine strategic management in the context of the fashion industry, catering specifically for students hoping to work in the sector. International in approach, the text covers all aspects of strategic management, from growth strategy and financial management to brand and supply chain management. Fashion Management's engaging style, page design and pedagogical framework makes it accessible to students at all levels, while the authors' extensive expertise ensures that the content is always underpinned by rigorous academic research.

To run a successful fashion label you need to know about business as well as design. Packed with tips, case studies, and tasks to help you analyse yourself, your market, and your product, this book is for anyone wanting to start their own fashion, accessories or footwear business.

Containing fully updated and beautifully illustrated need-to-know info, this revised second edition of the bestselling textbook on fashion buying contains everything today's fashion management student needs to give them a clear head-start in this lucrative but highly competitive industry. Fashion Buying uniquely looks at what fashion buying entails in terms of the activities, processes and people involved - from the perspective of the fashion buyer. The book breaks down the five key areas of buying activity for those wishing to pursue a career in the industry, crucially exploring the role of the fashion buyer, sources of buying inspiration, sourcing and communication, merchandise planning and trends in fashion buying. Featuring completely revised content on retail typology (including need-to-know info on demographics, price points and markets), and selecting and buying garments (line sheets, purchase orders and lookbooks), Fashion Buying now includes valuable new sections on customer profiling, merchandise pricing (mark-ups, markdowns and how pricing is calculated for profit), and trends. Also included in this practical handbook are insightful interviews with both established and emergent fashion creatives. Business case studies put the contents of each chapter into professional context and provide insider perspective; while industry-focused exercises and activities enable readers to practise applying their new skills and so gain a competitive advantage in both their studies and buying careers.

Who makes your clothes? This used to be an easy question to answer it was the seamstress next door, or the tailor on the high street--or you made them yourself. Today, we rarely know the origins of the clothes hanging in our closets. The local shoemaker, dressmaker, and milliner are long gone, replaced a globalized fashion industry worth $1.5 trillion a year. In Wardrobe Crisis, fashion journalist Clare Press explores the history and ethics behind what we wear. Putting her insider status to good use, Press examines the entire fashion ecosystem, from sweatshops to haute couture, unearthing the roots of today's buy-and-discard culture. She traces the origins of icons like Chanel, Dior, and Hermès; charts the rise and fall of the department store; and follows the thread that led us from Marie Antoinette to Carrie Bradshaw. Wardrobe Crisis is a witty and persuasive argument for a fashion revolution that will empower you to feel good about your wardrobe again.

Rise & Resist takes a wild trip through the new activism sweeping the world. The political march is back in a big way, as communities rally to build movements for environmental and social justice. But today’s context calls for increasingly creative strategies to make our voices heard. Crossing the globe, Clare Press meets passionate change-makers who believe in the power of the positive. From eco warriors and zero wasters to knitting nannas, introvert craftivists to intersectional feminists, they’re all up for a revolution of sorts. Are you? Join Press as she tracks the formation of a new counterculture, united by a grand purpose: to rethink how we live today to build a more sustainable tomorrow.

Guide to Fashion Entrepreneurship delves into a comprehensive, step-by-step entrepreneurial action plan that investigates how fashion product concepts are created, branded, sourced, marketed, channeled, and merchandised. Each chapter delivers the essential tools to successfully identify market opportunities, execute product differentiation, and market a new brand or brand extension in a multichannel retail environment to achieve a profitable business. Fashion students and aspiring fashion professionals will gain critical business and creative knowledge to move a product from concept to consumer--and learn how to launch a brand or fashion business.

Do one important thing: make better, faster business decisions. Vastly better, faster business decisions. Bringing principles from lean manufacturing and agile development to the process of innovation, the Lean Startup helps companies succeed in a business landscape riddled with risk.
This book shows you how.

Most of us have some feeling for fashion and have a vague idea of what's in and what's out. Less familiar to most, however, is the way fashion works as a global business. Know-It-All Fashion looks beyond the surface of this billion-dollar industry. Each entry is summarized in under a minute-using nothing more than two pages, 300 words, and one picture. Leading fashion experts provide an engrossing crash course in how the style world works today, alongside an engaging look at the founding fathers (and mothers) of fashion who set it up that way. Every aspect of the modern fashion industry is explored, from haute couture to high street, from catwalk to street style, and from glossy magazine to online blog. Some of the recurring themes behind fashion design are also explored, such as the influence of art, music and sport. Know-It-All Fashion includes everything you need to get style savvy.  

Beyond Design: The Synergy of Apparel Product Development, Fifth Edition maps the processes required to bring apparel products from concept to consumer. This full-color text takes students step-by-step through the decision-making involved in the pre-production processes of apparel product development including business, creative, technical, and production planning. Updated chapter content reflects evolving industry practice. It demonstrates how these processes must be coordinated to get the right product to market, when consumers want it, and at a price they are willing to pay in an increasingly digital environment. The text seeks to address how functional approaches vary depending on a business' size and fashion focus. More global in scope, the fifth edition includes examples and case studies of multi-national companies and incorporates global nomenclature when it differs from the US industry. This new edition also advances its discussion of how new technologies continue to shorten the product development calendar. The book is written to help students anticipate the chaotic pace of change not only in fashion trends, but also in the fashion system itself.New to this Edition· Updated references and examples demonstrate how industry practice is changing to meet market demands· New case studies illustrate the impact of new technology and an evolving fashion system· An understanding of a circular economy expands upon how sustainability and social justice issues impact every function of product development, distribution, and consumption· The slow fashion/fast fashion dichotomy is considered as it impacts the fashion ecosystem· The issues of cultural appropriation and influencer culture are discussed.

Learn how fashion lines are designed, manufactured, marketed, and distributed. The book covers the full supply chain - from textiles to fashion brand production - as well as supply chain management, and competitive strategies, so that you can be successful in your future career. Topics covered include sustainable design for a circular economy, 3-D printing, fashion entrepreneurship, disruptions in fashion calendars, supply chain transparency, impact of social media, growth and evolution of online retailing, expanded omnichannel strategies, and changes in international trade, among others. Case studies, a Career Glossary, and key terms help you connect concepts to practice.

Fashion Forward demystifies the exciting career of a fashion forecaster and fosters skills that will benefit any design professional. The book begins with an overview of fashion forecasting theories and concepts and then leads readers through a step-by-step guide to creating and presenting a forecast. The authors reveal the inner workings of global fashion forecasting through real-world examples and interviews with both influential forecasters and the designers who rely upon them. Fashion Forward enables readers to start spotting tomorrow's trends today and compellingly communicate them-both visually and verbally-to inspire fashion innovators.

Portfolio Presentation for Fashion Designers, Fourth Edition, is still your best guide to showing your designs, skill sets, and creativity, to get you that job. In new images throughout, the book shows examples of croquis books, spec and flat drawings, and visual research presentations from both fashion professionals and students. From concept through finished product, Portfolio Presentation for Fashion Designers is an indispensable tool to help you prepare your career for the next chapter.

An insight on the world of sustainable fashion: alternative ways of production, eco-friendly and reused materials and practical care advice for garments. The planet has come to a critical situation and it is up to all of us to innovate and drive change in all aspects of life, and fashion definitely is no exception. The fashion industry and its procedures are changing rapidly thanks to the visionary mindset of innovators, their business perspectives, the renewal of industrial processes, and a reconsideration of existing values. More and more customers are demanding that the clothes they buy to be socially and environmentally aware: no child labor, minimum or zero impact on the planet, and safe working conditions are the basis of the sustainable values that customers are expecting from fashion companies. This book provides all the necessary insight for designers, fashion companies, retailers, and consumers that want to become more sustainability conscious. It includes a comprehensive overview of the current actions taken by pioneering designers and brands and how they are integrating basic sustainable principles, and eco-friendly and reused materials, to create a new generation of fashion products, including information on different fabric types, alternative production types, reuse and practical care advice for the garments.

How do fashion designers design? How does design function within the industry? How can design practices open up sustainable pathways for fashion's future? Designing Fashion's Future responds to these questions to offer a fresh understanding of design practices within the sprawling, shifting fashion system. Fashion design is typically viewed as the rarefied practice of elite professionals, or else as a single stage within the apparel value chain. Alice Payne shows how design needn't be reduced to a set of decisions by a designer or design team, but can instead be examined as a process, object, or agent that shapes fashion's material and symbolic worlds. Designing Fashion's Future draws on more than 50 interviews with industry professionals based in Australia, Asia, North America, Europe, and the United Kingdom. These diverse perspectives from multinational retailers, independent and experimental contexts ground the discussion in contemporary industry practices.

Fashion has always sought to celebrate nature from sumptuous silks and floral patterns to the spectacular creations of designers such as Alexander McQueen and Christian Dior the two have always been entwined. Yet, in spite of this reverence for the natural world, fashion also seems destined to harm it. Spanning the 17th century to the present, Fashioned from Nature examines our dependence on nature for materials and the devastating impact of certain trends, as seen in the demand for ivory, fur, and exotic feathers.   Today, intense consumerism and fast fashion have taken things to a new level and this book discusses the need for a more conscious fashion cycle. But which has greater environmental impact a leather handbag or a white cotton T-shirt? Considering the effects of land clearance, insecticides, and water consumption and not to mention washing in hot water after every wear the answer may not be as clear as it first appears. No fashion choice will ever be without impact, but this book will stimulate debate and empower readers to question their role as consumers.

This core textbook provides a detailed overview of the role of the fashion merchandiser and outlines their activities and responsibilities as part of the fashion value chain. This overview is situated within the broader context of the fashion industry, highlighting the relevance of the merchandiser role and comparing it to the role of the fashion buyer. This textbook also considers the contemporary challenges facing the wider industry, such as corporate social responsibility, sustainability, globalisation and multi-channel distribution, and the impact these have on the role of the merchandiser. Offering valuable insight into the merchandiser role and emphasising how it can add value to a fashion business, this is an ideal textbook for aspiring merchandisers. It is suitable for students studying at undergraduate and postgraduate level and practitioners seeking to progress their careers in this exciting and multi-faceted industry.

The book explains concepts, applications, legal and regulatory issues, and tools available to professionals throughout the fashion industry. Call to Action Activities, case studies, Conversations with industry professionals, and Company Highlights in every chapter will help you practice sustainability in your career. Some of the featured companies include ABL Denim, Eileen Fisher, Patagonia, Alabama Chanin, Everlane, thredUP, Krochet Kids intl, Loomstate, and Conscious Step. Industry professionals interviewed include Treana Peake, Caryn Franklin, Annie Gullingsrud, Katherine Soucie, and Elizabeth Shorrock, among others.

Menswear Trends will help you understand the relationship of menswear to society, enabling you to become both a forecaster and trend thinker - and bring new ideas, innovation and strategies to men's fashion. With designer and educator Aki Choklat you'll learn how menswear trends fit within the larger context of retail, how brands can use trends to be more competitive, and how to create an inspiring trend forecast. Later chapters show how to analyse catwalks, gather information from street-style coverage, compare short-term and long-term analysis and how to analyse and forecast colour trends.

Since the first edition was published in 1980, Metric Pattern Cutting for Menswear has become established as the standard work on this subject and has proved invaluable as both a textbook for students and a reference source for the practising designer. In this fifth edition, the chapter on computer aided design now has full colour illustrations and reflects the growing importance of CAD to the industry and as a part of fashion and design courses.

Since its first publication, Classic Tailoring Techniques for Menswear has been the authoritative resource for custom hand tailoring production. This new edition focuses on updating these timeless construction techniques through extensive use of all new photography and digital illustrations to enhance the clarity of each process. The enduring art of tailoring and the nature of bespoke tailoring processes means that the techniques presented in the first edition remain as relevant for today's designers as ever. The new edition is updated with information on measuring, alternative approached in use today and 748 all new photographs and illustrations. It also includes a brief overview of contemporary tailoring and the identifying key components of luxury tailoring from Britain, Italy and the United States.