Interior Decoration and Design

From Old Colonial Georgian to Late twentieth Century Immigrants' Nostalgic, Identifying Australian Architecture provides a comprehensive survey of the styles of Australia's built environment. For the first time the houses, commercial buildings, churches and other architectural works in Australia are described and illustrated so that the reader can readily identify and classify them.

The definitive guide to styles of houses built in Australia from 1788 to the present. Illustrated with 63 detailed sketches by Ian Stapleton. The text & drawings combine authority and authenticity with sharp social comment & a wry sense of humour.

Meticulously researched book that examines the inter-war houses in all their many manifestations.

Covers the architecture, furniture and History of the baby-boom era. Colour illustrations throughout.

The Australian Colonial House is the definitive study of early Australian houses and society during the first fifty years of settlement. Through the villas, cottages, bungalows and mansions examined in the book, an insight is given into the early society of New South Wales. Dr Broadbent describes the houses and their builders from the colony's foundation in the late-eighteenth century to the disastrous depression of the 1840s. Broadbent analyses the origins of the most interesting houses in New South Wales and he brings history to life by populating his narrative with a variety of characters. These early houses are read as manuscripts, revealing the motives, and the follies of their builders, from Governor Macquarie's deliberate flouting of the Secretary of State's instruction in order to satisfy his and his wife's architectural ambitions, to the vainglorious attempts of Sir Thomas Mitchell, with a new knighthood, seeking to recreate Old England in the Antipodean Bush. Published in association with the Historic Houses Trust of New South Wales.

Sydney Art Deco explores the impact of the Art Deco style on the landscape and life of Sydney during the 1930s and 1940s. Using contemporary and archival photos the book covers the whole gamut of moderne, functionalist and streamlined styling in the architecture of Sydney during the 1930s and 1940s. Art Deco was a global style and Sydney Art Deco explores its impact on the lifestyle of Sydneysiders with a glimpse of Australian artwork, fashion, furniture and accessories.

The Art Deco movement in Australia was new, exciting and universally popular, imbuing every walk of life with a modicum of elegance and style. This book is the first comprehensive guide to the many facets of Art Deco in Australia.

Australia's Art Deco architecture of the 1920s and 1930s endures as a unique record of its time and a mirror of the hopes and aspirations of Australians in the years between the two world wars. A Spirit of Progress: Art Deco Architecture in Australia provides a valuable insight into this significant period in Australia's social, economic and artistic development.

Federation-style housing is a unique and fascinating period of Australia's architectural history. Distinctive features of the Federation style are high-pitched roofs, forming a picturesque composition of great complexity, which incorporated gables, chimneys and verandahs. The timber woodwork of verandahs and archways and leadlights of casement windows reveal the influence of Art Nouveau, but with nationalistic overtones. Rusticated sandstone blocks form a rugged base tying the house to its landscaped garden

Painting your house is expensive: get it right, first time, with this book which has helped to change the face of Australia. Colour schemes from this book can be seen on old houses and buildings in the suburbs, towns and countryside of Australia.

Rendering In SketchUp provides instructions for creating 3D photoreal graphics for SketchUp models using integrated rendering programs.

Since the appearance of simplified 3D sketching programs like SketchUp, architects and interior designers have been called on to use both freehand and 3D CAD drawings, often at very earliest stages of design.

Focused around a hotel suite project, 'AutoCAD 2019 for the Interior Designer' provides the Interior Design student with a non-intimidating, tutorial based approach to learning the AutoCAD program. It accomplishes this by taking students that have no computer design experience from simple commands to complete projects in this single-semester sized text. This well organized and progressive approach to learning AutoCAD sets this text apart from others. To support all users, this book now covers AutoCAD for both Macs and PCs.

This handbook describes and illustrates fibers and yarns, fabric structures, fabric design, dye and printing processes, finishes and treatments, styles and applications of cloth for furniture, window, wall, and floor coverings.

Devoted entirely to textiles for interiors,the book focuses on the most current fiber and fabric information, the role of the interior designer in selecting textiles, and the environmental impact of textiles.

The Fabric Glossary offers an illustrated fabric dictionary that includes the characteristics of a multitude of fabrics.

Includes a comprehensive Glossary of fabric terms.

Swatch Reference Guide for Interior Design is a complete learning tool for interior fabrics.

Fabric for the Designed Interior, Second Edition, is a comprehensive text for students and professionals, addressing both residential and commercial interiors. The book begins by placing fabric in a historic context, examining its connection to the growth of civilization. Later chapters take a practical approach to provide readers with the tools they need for successfully specifying fabric, dealing with environmental and safety concerns, understanding fabric and carpet-care issues, working with bids and contracts, and learning strategies for navigating showrooms and fabricating facilities. Leading designers, fabric manufacturers, and suppliers weigh in with their experiences, giving readers a clear idea of real-world expectations. This new edition is updated with expanded coverage on sustainable fabrics, more robust and clear instructions on costing, an appendix of historic and decorative architectural styles, and a revised art program featuring contemporary styles.

A comprehensive resource for understanding the categories of consumer goods for the home and the raw products utilized to make them,

After learning the basics-such as lettering, scales, and types of lines-this book guides you through two-color, illustrated lessons for five hand drafting projects and eight hand-drawn interiors. You'll learn to draft and draw both residential and commercial spaces.

A newly updated and comprehensive guide to all aspects of visual design From doing a quick sketch to producing a fully rendered model, the ability to create visual representations of designs is a critical skill for every designer.

Photoshop for Interior Designers introduces step-by-step techniques for interior designers to successfully use Adobe Photoshop to visually communicate their design.

Interior Design Presentations covers basic techniques--from 5 minute sketching--to effective use of light and shadow, speed coloring techniques, and techniques applied for sketching,

This third edition of Design Portfolios reflects contemporary portfolio practices and enables students to create portfolios that serve as both evolving collections of creative solutions to design problems and evidence of their abilities to visually relay messages.

Programming and Research focuses on how the study of programming for interior designers prepares students for and advances them into the professional realm.

Learn how to use color along with interior design principles such as balance, rhythm, emphasis, proportion, scale, unity, harmony, and variety.

Highlighting the nuances of colour through numerous examples of the thoughtful use of colour in interiors.

The definitive book on color theory and practice for artists and designers. It includes much-enhanced sections on key color principles such as color perception, visual structure, materials and techniques, psychological experience of color and color composition in digital formats.

Arguing that colour is not taken seriously enough, this book discusses how colours affect us and why and what sort of people we are. It includes personality assessments, analysis of colour in the home and at work, and an examination of how individuals are influenced by colour in advertising.

The role of light in interiors extends well beyond practical requirements. Light can create an environment, saturate a space with emotion, and compose spatial illusions.

This is an irresistible guide for all who crave the elegance and ease of modern style combined with the warmth of tradition.

The Alchemy of Things, represents the swing of the decorating pendulum away from the instant gratification of popular culture through the interior design and style of 18 fascinating homes from around the world.

From converted factories and chapels to cabins built from salvaged wood, this collection of innovative, sustainable dwellings showcases a worldwide trend for upcycling.