Interior Decoration and Design

A comprehensive narrative history of building and design styles in Australia, from traditional Aboriginal gunyahs; to the local interpretations of northern hemisphere trends; to the sustainable, climate sensitive and high-tech constructions of the 21st century.

This book tells the story of the architects and buildings that have defined Australia's architectural culture since the founding of the modern nation through Federation in 1901.

Tucked into Tasmania's landscape is an array of beautiful historic homes from a time when life was simpler and grander. The early pastoral settlers of Tasmania were a hardy and eccentric bunch. From the landed gentry to convicts who'd won their freedom, these men and women created an antipodean England in the elaborate Georgian and Victorian mansions they built.

Iconic: Modern Australian Houses 1950--2000 showcases, in a fresh, new and collectible edition, the best residential projects from the previously published works 50/60/70 and 70/80/90 and which formed successful exhibitions shown at the Museum of Sydney. Completely redesigned in a new format, with revised introduction, this classic will find audiences both new to and familiar with the gems of Australian modernist architecture. Featuring houses from: Harry Seidler, Peter Muller, Roy Grounds, Peter McIntyre, Russell Jack, Robin Boyd, McGlashan Everist, Enrico Taglietti, Neville Gruzman, Bruce Rickard, Hugh Buhrich, Ian McKay, Iwan Iwanoff, Ian Collins, Richard Leplastrier, Glenn Murcott, Barrie Marshall, Ken Woolley, Lovell Chen, Wood Marsh, Andresen O'Gorman, Durbach Block, Sean Godsell, Stutchbury and Harper, Donovan Hill, John Wardle.

In Iconic Australian Houses: Three Decades of Domestic Architecture, Karen McCartney presents 15 significant examples of homes from these periods, each designed by a different architect, which combine outstanding architectural principles and authentic interior decor. Each study includes a feature on the interior decoration and a discussion of designers and manufacturers of iconic furniture, fittings and fabrics.

In this follow-up to the design classic 50/60/70 Iconic Australian Houses, Karen McCartney, has compiled a selection of significant examples of Australian houses of the 1970s, '80s and '90s, each brilliantly photographed and with a depth of coverage rarely seen before. Featured architects include Richard Leplastrier, Glenn Murcutt and Wood Marsh. A detailed introduction places the period in social, historical and architectural context.

Metropolitan Indigenous Cultural Centres have become a focal point for making Indigenous histories and contemporary cultures public in settler-colonial societies over the past three decades. While there are extraordinary success stories, there are equally stories that cause concern: award-winning architecturally designed Indigenous cultural centres that have been abandoned; centres that serve the interests of tourists but fail to nourish the cultural interests of Indigenous stakeholders; and places for vibrant community gathering that fail to garner the economic and politic support to remain viable. Indigenous cultural centres are rarely static. They are places of 'emergence', assembled and re-assembled along a range of vectors that usually lie beyond the gaze of architecture. How might the traditional concerns of architecture - site, space, form, function, materialities, tectonics - be reconfigured to express the complex and varied social identities of contemporary Indigenous peoples in colonised nations?

In Great Australian Historic Hotels each hotel provides its own tantalising insight into the development of our nation as seen from its windows, porches and balconies.

The #1 visual guide to building construction principles, updated with the latest materials, methods, and systems. Building Construction Illustrated is a reliable, lifelong guide that practicing architects, engineers, construction managers, and interior designers, will turn to time and again throughout their careers.

Green Building Illustrated is a must-read for students and professionals in the building industry. This is a book that will appeal to architects and designers, because it addresses general principles such as holistic and integrated design, along with practical realities like affordability and energy codes.

How to succeed in the construction business--step-by-step guidelines for estimating To be competitive, contractors and homebuilders need to know how to generate complete, accurate estimates for labor and material costs.

Blueprint Reading is a step-by-step guide to reading and interpreting all types of construction drawings.

The Complete Color Harmony, Pantone has been updated.

Step-by-step instructions and lesson files help you get comfortable with all features and functions. Work at your own pace, while you steadily build skills in InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Flash, and Fireworks. Combines a full-color, step-by-step instructional book along with lesson files to teach users how to use the latest versions of InDesign CC, Illustrator CC, Photoshop CC, Dreamweaver CC, Flash CC, Fireworks CC, and Adobe Bridge

Residential Interior Design: A Guide To Planning Spaces is the industry-standard reference for all aspects of residential space planning, with a practical focus on accessible design, ergonomics, and how building systems affect each space.

This book sets out to explore the creation of interior atmosphere as seen through the lens of mise-en-scene..Concept beyond the screen and considers its application to the interior 'setting'. Inform an 'interior' such as its backdrop, choice of props, use of special effects alongside the application of colour, pattern, graphics, light and shadow, an immersive atmospheric experience can be created.

Adaptation Strategies for Interior Architecture and Design outlines a number of different approaches utilized when designing the interior.

Basics Interior Architecture 04: Elements/Objects explores the manner in which an interior space can be manipulated through the precise placement of forms. The book describes the principles underpinning the design of objects, and their placement within the interior space. It also discusses the influence that this has upon the character and perception of the space; providing focus or rhythm, controlling visual movement or expressing scale. The book teaches readers how the manipulation of objects and elements can create interior spaces of distinctive and apposite qualities.

It outlines all the information needed to design a workable kitchen, including ergonomics, services such as water and waste, appliances, and material choices for the floor, walls and ceiling.

Reference to the latest construction standards and new building types Sustainable design integrated into chapters throughout it is the ideal starting point for any project. For each building type, the book gives the basic design requirements and all the principal dimensional data, and succinct guidance on how to use the information and what regulations the designer needs to be aware of. As well as buildings, the Metric Handbook deals with broader aspects of design such as materials, acoustics and lighting, and general design data on human dimensions and space requirements.

Conquer the complexity of interior design with a logical, methodical approach Space Planning Basics is a definitive introduction and principle resource for thousands of designers.

Interior design helps to shape all aspects of our lives and has now come of age both intellectually and professionally. This text sets out to change and clarify the perceptions and misconceptions about contemporary interior design by examining some of the key issues that define what it is, how it is different from architecture, what specific skills it requires and what design problems it solves.

The updated edition of a contemporary approach to merging traditional hand drawing methods with 2-dimensional and 3-dimensional digital visualization tools.

The bestselling AutoCAD book--revised and updated!

Basics Interior Architecture 03: Drawing Out the Interior is a comprehensive introduction to the representation of interior space through drawing and modelling.

The Third Edition of Michael Doyle's classic Color Drawing remains the ultimate up-to-date resource for professionals and students who need to develop and communicate design ideas with clear, attractive, impressive color drawings. Update with over 100 pages, this Third Edition contains an entirely new section focused on state-of-the-art digital techniques.

Get the completely revised edition to mastering the visual language of architecture. In his distinctive graphic style, world-renowned author and architecture educator Francis D.K. Ching takes us on another exciting journey through the process of creation. In Design Drawing, Second Edition, he unmasks the basic cognitive processes that drive visual perception and expression, incorporating observation, memory, and rendering into a creative whole. This edition unites imaginative vision with fundamental architectural principles to cover the traditional basics of drawing, including line, shape, tone, and space. Guiding the reader step-by-step through the entire drawing process, Design Drawing also examines different types of drawing techniques such as multiview, paraline, and perspective drawings.

This volume covers all stages of visual presentation in interior design, from early concept sketches and more evolved technical drawings to complex computer renderings, models for client presentation, and production drawings for contractors.

A stylish and informative guide to the best of Midcentury Modern chair design. These are the top 100 most interesting, most controversial, or simply most beautiful chairs from the period spanning 1930-1970.

Maximizing reader insights into interior design as a conceptual way of thinking, which is about ideas and how they are formulated.

With over 350 beautiful photographs and insightful commentary, Island Style reveals the lush, tropical architecture and interior design of Indonesia.

Enter the world of the stylish Japanese house, where every object in sight is a work of art. Japan Style introduces 20 special residences. With more than 200 color photographs.

This richly illustrated volume showcases the best of contemporary rural residential architecture from the world s most innovative architects. The homes featured in 100 Country Houses: New Rural Architecture range from traditional to experimental, exemplifying a recent shift from the conventional country vernacular towards ultramodern, forward-thinking and eco-friendly designs. In many cases, less restrictive planning regulations in remote areas allow architects to push boundaries and flex their creative muscles, resulting in architectural creations of astonishing scope and vision.Stunning full-colour interior and exterior photographs are complemented by detailed plans, elevations and project descriptions, providing rare insight into the extraordinary talent of these world-class architects. The locations of these beautiful houses include Iceland Czech Republic, Germany, Canada, Spain and many more.By leading Architects such as, Hariri & Hariri, Alfredo de Vido Silvestri.

Manual Drafting for Interiors is an essential reference for interior designers learning how to manually draft scaled floor plans, elevations, sections, and three-dimensional drawings.

Construction Drawings and Details for Interiors serves as the essential reference for designers preparing interior construction documents, explaining how to do a new construction, remodeling, or installation project.

Link to the complete collection of Rawlinsons titles.

Australia's largest library of construction cost information, providing vital data to all those involved in small projects.

The Rawlinsons Construction Handbook 2023 is an essential reference book for the smaller builder, architect/consultant and many others in the construction industry.

*Please note: Physical copies are available to borrow from the Library*

Australia's largest library of construction cost information, providing vital data to all those involved in small projects.

(Hard print copy also available at Chadstone Library.)

The Rawlinsons Construction Cost Guide 2021 is an essential reference book for the smaller builder, architect/consultant and many others in the construction industry.
(Print copies also available at Chadstone Library)

The Rawlinsons Construction Cost Guide 2021 is an essential reference book for the smaller builder, architect/consultant and many others in the construction industry. (3 ebook copies)
(Print copies also available at Chadstone Library)

Basics Interior Design 01: Retail Design approaches the subject of interior design in a retail context.

Mastering Autodesk Revit 2018 for Architecture is packed with focused discussions, detailed exercises, and real-world examples to help you get up to speed quickly on the latest version of Autodesk Revit for Architecture.

Covering all of the major techniques, this book uses both metric and imperia lunits to illustrate the myriad drawing and editing tools for this popular application.

The updated 2020 edition of the popular step-by-step tutorial for Revit Architecture .

Mastering Autodesk Revit 2020 is packed with focused discussions, detailed exercises, and real-world examples to help you get up to speed quickly on the latest version of Autodesk Revit.

A practical guide to SketchUp addressing the specific needs of interior designers The book covers the basics of creating 3D models including space plans, model furniture, cabinetry, and accessories. Provides instruction on using SketchUp in both PC and Mac formats

A guide for leveraging SketchUp for any project size, type, or style, new construction or renovation.

The sure way for design professionals to learn SketchUp modelingand rendering techniques Rendering In SketchUp provides instructions for creating3D photo real graphics for SketchUp models using integrated rendering programs.

The only comprehensive SketchUp guide written for builders and contractors.

Architectural Design with SketchUp, Second Edition, is the leading guide to this incredibly useful tool for architects, interior designers, construction professionals, and makers.

Go 3D with Google's exciting architectural design software for Mac and Windows

Design almost anything in 3D with SketchUp

"This book is filled with examples explaining the theoretical concepts behind them. Filled with ample screenshots, diagrams, and final rendered images,

In the 21st century, architects and engineers are being challenged to produce work that is concurrently sustainable and resilient.

The classic reference for high-performance green building delivery systems. Sustainable construction is going mainstream.

A combination of incredibly expressive illustrations and accessible technical writing make concepts of green building accessible.

Japan is equally as well known for its ecologically-sensitive traditional homes as it is for cutting-edge, green technology.

The Sustainable Design Book updates the reader on the latest products and developments in the field of "green" design.

Basics Interior Architecture 02: Context & Environment proposes a method of design based on the interpretation, evaluation and utilization of physical factors, such as light and orientation, the contextual issues of the urban form and the subject of sustainability. It examines the ways each of these factors influences the form of the interior. The text is supported by detailed studies of contemporary work, alongside activities and resources.

What makes building materials sustainable? From Structural Design to Interior Fit-Out: Assessing and Improving the Environmental Impact of Buildings.

This book discusses in detail the concepts of recycling and upcycling and their implications for the textiles and fashion sector. In addition to the theoretical concepts, the book also presents various options for recycling and upcycling in textiles and fashion. Although recycling is a much-developed and widely used concept, upcycling is also gaining popularity in the sector.