Hospitality

A comprehensive training guide and authoritative resource essential for all students, bartenders, sommeliers, mixologists, waiters and food and beverage practitioners. Packed with facts, explanatory illustrations and case studies it provides an in-depth knowledge of the products, plus the technical skills, practices and latest developments in the bar and beverage area.

Explains the latest developments and new complexities of managing modern bars- be they stand alone or part of larger institutions such as hotels and resorts. A complete guide to every aspect of bar management from customer care, marketing, beverages and beverage management, the economic context and bar technology- to key issues of health and safety.

Provides readers with greater awareness of the effects of alcohol and helps them understand their obligations to act responsibly when selling, supplying or marketing alcohol beverages in their workplace.

Includes everything you need to know about food and beverage operations and management.
Chapter 6: Beverage provision - covers safe, sensible drinking, types of wine and drink lists, purchasing, storage and beverage control.

Covers contemporary trends and issues in food and beverage service and offers broad and in-depth coverage of key concepts, skills and knowledge, with developed focus on the international nature of the hospitality industry. A comprehensive overview of the industry, from personal skills, service areas and equipment, menus and menu knowledge, beverages and service techniques, to specialised forms of service, events and supervisory aspects.

Investigates the genesis and success of innovation in the hospitality industry as detailed in over four dozen case studies, including innovations for improved customer service, stronger human resources, and new food service and lodging concepts. While updated technology forms the basis for many of the innovations, some of the cases focus specifically on technology improvements, with a particular focus on the use of technology as a mediator in the service value chain.

Provides you with all of the skills you need to implement your own business development. Covers a broad range of hospitality sectors including in-flight catering, holiday homes, guest houses, licensed retail, catering, restaurants and hotels, ensuring you have a thorough understanding of the international hospitality business development.

Overview of the vital role and effective practice of entrepreneurship in one of the most dynamic industry sectors in the world. Fully informed by the latest research, it incorporates different country contexts, the social and cultural dimensions of entrepreneurship, case studies from a wide range of Hospitality and Tourism sectors, Industry perspectives and examples.

How much money is your business wasting? How good is the service you deliver? This book will familiarize you with benchmarking techniques that can be used to gauge and improve the performance of hospitality and tourism businesses anywhere! Provides an overview of benchmarking concepts and processes, strengths and weaknesses, describes ways to apply benchmarking to tourist facilities and destinations, and examines the role of customer satisfaction and loyalty in benchmarking.

Offers a means of understanding and changing organizational culture in order to make organizations more effective. It provides validated instruments for diagnosing organizational culture and management competency; a theoretical framework (competing values) for understanding organizational culture; and a systematic strategy and methodology for changing organizational culture and personal behavior.

Chapter 6: Communicating with influence.
Covers core communication skills including oral and written, cultural considerations, body language and more.

A detailed guide to productive and effective communication. Dealing with cultural, critical and contextual issues, the text provides comprehensive coverage of communication skills such as self concept, perception, listening, interpersonal, interviewing, cultural, small group, speaking to inform and persuade, and addressing freedom and responsibility issues in democratic societies.

Establishing professional relationships is an important part of building a career. This book clearly explains how to communicate in an effective manner, all while being assertive, influential, and cooperative.

A well-trained workforce can operate successfully in a multicultural environment. However, many companies are not doing enough to overcome cultural and communication barriers. The book examines the intersection of intercultural training and employee communication behaviours in order to identify factors that can maximise cultural competence.

Chapter 2: Global leaders and intercultural communicators.

Covers the financial and behavioural consequences of customer service, consumer trends influencing service, developing and maintaining a service culture, managing service encounters, the importance of market research, building and maintaining customer relationships, providing customer service through the servicescape, the impact of technology on customer service, the importance of service recovery, and promoting customer service internally and externally.

Learn how to calculate the financial impact of good and bad customer service, make the financial case for customer service improvements, systematically identify the causes of problems, align customer service with brand, harness customer service strategy into organization's culture and behavior.

This text concentrates on the hospitality consumer, understanding and determining customer needs, relevant factors in consumer buying behaviour and the effectiveness of today's marketing techniques.

Explores the relationship between leadership behaviour and exceptional service. Practical advice, tools and techniques for managers in how to effectively lead and motivate their team to deliver the best possible customer service.

Covers each essential aspect of first-line supervision necessary for effectively supervising hospitality workers at all levels of an organisation. Topics include planning and organising, communication, recruitment and team building, employee training, performance effectiveness, conflict management, and more.

Covers the evolution and context of strategic human resource management, industrial relations frameworks and practice, human resource planning in a changing environment, work design challenges in a global environment, talent attraction, selection, retention and development, performance management, strategic reward management, managing work health and safety, workplace negotiation processes, and evaluating SHRM.

Provides an essential understanding of the purpose, policies and processes concerned with managing an enterprise's workforce within the current business and social environment. Content reflects recent issues and trends including: labour markets and industry structure, impacts of IT and social media, growth of international multi unit brands, role of employer branding, talent management, equal opportunities and managing diversity.

Essential knowledge and insight into the opportunities, constraints, problems and solutions that face management at any level in the industry. Covers the social and psychological aspects of people management, but also with the economics of labour, including: labour costs, utilisation, labour market behaviour and pay. These aspects are conjoined in the book with the skills of people management to reflect the dynamics of real-life practice.

This book approaches hospitality human resource (HR) management as a decision-making practice that affects the performance, quality, and legal compliance of the hospitality business as a whole. Covers hospitality industry, employment law, and HR policies, recruitment, training, compensation, performance appraisal, environmental and safety concerns, ethics and social responsibility, and special issues.

Covers all important aspects of HRM practice including strategic and legal aspects, recruitment, selection, appraisal, performance management, motivation, rewards, change and diversity management.

There has been a shift towards a strategic conception of human resource management which positions workers as 'assets' rather than 'costs'. These 'human resources' were reconceptualised as a key source of competitive advantage. As such, these assets were to be treated seriously: selected with care, trained and developed, and above all, induced to offer commitment. Provides an expert summary of this crucial element of organizational performance.

Uses an integrative approach to explain the role of marketing in the hospitality operation, focusing on the how and why of everyone's role in marketing. An international focus reflects the global nature of the industry. Key topics such as internal marketing, destination marketing and public relations are covered.

The marketing landscape has changed dramatically in recent years, especially for tourism and hospitality practitioners. This book provides a clear articulation of the changing landscape, a comprehensive introduction to the three underpinning themes of collaboration, technology and experiences, and a plentiful supply of international case material.

Explores the concepts and techniques of services marketing, and combines conceptual rigour with real world examples and practical applications.

Covers all aspects of services marketing from a strong managerial viewpoint. Features the latest academic research, industry trends, and technology, social media, and case examples.

This introductory textbook shows you how to apply the principles of marketing within the hospitality industry, covering the sales and marketing of hospitality products and services. A broad range of topics and perspectives such as customer satisfaction, healthcare service, and microfinance.

Offers the perfect mix of marketing theory, strategy and practice. Covers the marketing environment and analysis, services marketing, digital marketing and more.

Provides insight into, and techniques to enable, the creation, development and maintenance of a successful digital presence. Topics include developing an effective digital presence, search engine optimization, measuring brand awareness, digital ethics, general data protection regulation and privacy, artificial intelligence and machine learning, and voice strategies.

Essential project management practices are unlocked in an easy to understand manner that draws on relevant examples from project management professions within Australia.

Packed with tips for every stage of project management, from setting goals to evaluating the final results, and provides ways to: monitor progress and evaluate results, shift gears while maintaining flexibility, cut costs without compromising quality, use technology to your advantage, implement sound scheduling and budgeting techniques.

Covers key project management skills and techniques including soft and hard skills, leadership, numerical techniques, cost estimating, budgeting, time scheduling (CPM), crashing and project performance measurement (EVA), project success criteria and traditional vs contemporary project management methodologies.

This practice guide outlines practical knowledge and steps to define and develop a methodology in alignment with the foundational standards and framework for managing projects.

Chapter 21: Planning and managing projects.

Discover how to incorporate revenue management principles and best practices. The core of revenue management of a hospitality organisation is to, as the authors explain, "charge the right price, to the right customer, for the right product, through the right channel, at the right time."

Provides a comprehensive, in-depth introduction to the basic concepts and best practices of hospitality revenue management. Includes hotel pricing, hotel segmentation, distribution channels, competitive analysis, hotel forecasting, performance analysis, market data, supply and demand management, and more.

Describes and explains best practice techniques in revenue management. Drawn from the widest possible range of sectors including hospitality, car rental, airlines, tour operators, restaurants and advertising it gives an unrivalled industry perspective.

Revenue management is concerned with maximizing revenue flows while controlling costs and offers a new framework for locating conventional management accounting concepts and methods, in combination with notions of yield management, pricing and process management.

A complete guide to using key managerial accounting techniques for planning, controlling and improving profitability at the business property level - the "cutting-edge" of routine decision making.

Provides a comprehensive overview of the most relevant accounting techniques and information for hospitality managers. It demonstrates how to organise and analyse accounting data to help make informed decisions with confidence.

Explores the nature of these industry sectors and how these impact on the strategic managerial accounting (SMA) tools used by decision makers. Incorporates discussion, explanations and illustrations of the theoretical underpinning of hospitality, tourism and events related to SMA and managerial accounting concepts and techniques, together with specific examples of industry application.

A user friendly and hands-on introduction to finance and accounting in the hospitality industry. It covers a vast range of sectors (including hotels, restaurants, contract catering, leisure tourism, events, cruise ships and theme parks).

A guide to the practice and the benefits of good risk management. Coverage includes: the nature of risk; the relevance of risk management to the business model; essential elements of the risk management process; different approaches to risk assessment; strategy, tactics, operations and compliance requirements; how to build a risk-aware culture; and the importance of risk governance.

Organisations face a very wide range of risks that can impact the outcome of their operations that may inhibit what the organisation is trying to achieve (hazard risks), enhance what the organisation is doing (opportunity risks), or create uncertainty about the outcomes (control risks). Provides a comprehensive introduction to the subject of commercial and business risk. Examines the key components of risk management and how it can be applied.

Chapter 22: Identifying and managing risks.

A comprehensive framework for measuring, valuing, and managing risk. It delivers an accessible and authoritative account of how to determine the premium for a portfolio of non-hedgeable insurance risks and how to allocate it fairly to each portfolio component.

Chapter 4: Maintain health, hygiene, safety and security in the working environment.
Covers supervising health, hygiene, safety and security, dealing with emergencies and assessing risk.

Investigates the economic, environmental and social sustainability issues facing the hospitality industry today, and explores ideas, solutions and strategies of how to manage operations in a sustainable way. Includes nature-based solutions and zero-carbon approaches in facilities, technologies for energy, water and waste management, changes in consumer behaviour, and environmental and social impacts of food production. Also covers employees, diversity, inclusion and well-being in the industry.

Looks at the whole tourism supply chain to provide an integrated perspective of sustainability in tourism. Provides chapters on regenerative tourism and disruptors, including the impact of COVID-19 as well as new material on systems thinking, influencing behaviours and green marketing, and much more.

Chapter 23: Managing for sustainability.
Developing, implementing and monitoring sustainability policies, strategies and programs.

The first book to bring together environmental theory and the responsible hospitality debate to define how far the industry has gone and what is left to achieve.

This book specifically addresses the links between operations, tactics and strategy from a sustainable development perspective and moves beyond describing what is to reflect on what could be or even what should be, thus providing a concise guide for improving sustainability concepts and businesses in the hospitality industry.

*Read online only. Offline download not available*
Tells the stories of how companies in the tourism and hospitality industry built profitable businesses while serving the community and healing the planet. The economic, environmental and ecological impact, as well as social and cultural impacts are considered.

Discusses sustainability transformation, governance, and strategy and execution.

A comprehensive guide to the key steps required to strategically approach becoming a successful sustainable business including conducting a CSR assessment, developing a CSR strategy and the accompanying business case, developing and implementing CSR commitments, and measuring the performance and effectiveness of the planning initiative.

Examines business sustainability and accountability reporting and their integration into strategy, governance, risk assessment, performance management and the reporting process.