LibGuides: Hospitality, Cookery, Patisserie and Baking: Books

Finding hospitality books

Use Library Search to find relevant books available through the Library.

Search by topic/keywords

e.g. hospitality management

Search by book title/author

e.g. management theory practice cole

Borrowing

Up to 15 books at a time, 7 or 14 day loan, up to 12 automatic renewals per item*
* Requires no holds and current enrolment, item must be returned after 12 renewals limit reached.

Academic Reserve

These items have an AR in front of call number, 3 hour loan for use in Library only. To borrow an AR item, please ask at Library service desk.

Hospitality books

Topic	Call number
Communication skills	302.2
Hospitality industry	338.4791
Occupational health and safety	363.11
Diet and nutrition	613.2
Beverages	641.2
Wines	641.22
Coffee, tea	641.3373
Cookery	641.5
Catering for institutions	641.57
Alcoholic beverage service	641.874
Barista service and coffee art	641.877
Table service	642
Kitchens and their equipment	643.3
Hotels	647.94
Restaurant management	647.95
Accounting for hospitality	657.837
Management	658
Human resources	658.3
Business/Professional communication skills	658.45
Services marketing	658.8
Customer relationships	658.812
Food technology	664

Here is a list of relevant words you can use to search the Library catalogue and beyond. Select a search term below to view a list of available books and other materials from an example search via the Library:

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Hospitality Management by Lynn van der Wagen; Lauren White
Call Number: 338.4791068 VAN :4 and AR 338.4791068 VAN :4(Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Covers a range of topics for the hospitality industry including service, safety, operations, management, marketing, finance and more.
Road to Hospitality: Skills for the New Professional by Vivienne O'Shannessy; Dean Minett
Call Number: 338.479102394 OSH :4 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Master the skills and knowledge needed to succeed within the hospitality industry. Covers best practices, new techniques and legislations, providing real world industry examples.
The Tourism, Hospitality and Events Student′s Guide to Study and Employability by Sally Everett; Nicola Cade; Abigail Hunt; Deborah Lock; Katie Lupton; Steve McDonald
Call Number: 338.4791 EVE (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Will guide you on your journey throughout your studies in tourism, hospitality and events management, from developing the essential skills needed for successful study and employment, to ensuring you perform well in assessments, through to applying for and securing a graduate level job and entering the workplace.
Welcome to Hospitality by Kye-Sung Chon; Raymond T. Sparrowe; Thomas A. Maier
Call Number: 647.94 CHO :3 (Glen Waverley)

Provides a detailed description of the many facets of the hospitality and tourism sector, including tours and travel, hotels, restaurants, culinary, casino operations, cruises, and the recreation and leisure industries.
The Waiter's Handbook by Graham Brown; Karon Hepner
Call Number: 642.6 BRO :4 and AR 642.6 BRO :4 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)
Check-In Check-Out: Managing Hotel Operations by Garry K. Vallen; Jerome J. Vallen
Call Number: 647.94068 VAL :9 (Glen Waverley)

Gain an intuitive understanding based on the flow of the guest's experience: through reservation, arrival, registration, service purchasing, departure, billing, and recordkeeping. The entire rooms division is covered thoroughly, and linked to other hospitality functions, related industries, and the broader economy.
At Your Service: A Hands-On Guide to the Professional Dining Room by Culinary Institute of America (CIA) Staff; John W. Fischer
Call Number: 647.95 FIS (Glen Waverley)

The essential guide to the exemplary service and hospitality that build customer loyalty and restaurant reputations A comprehensive, contemporary guide to help professionals learn the ins and outs of running a successful front-of-the-house operation: taking reservations and greeting guests, basic service, table-side service, beverage service, and money handling.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

The Australian Bar Attendant's Handbook by George Ellis
Call Number: 641.874 ELL :5 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Reflects today's practices in the hospitality industry along with current training package requirements for bar, cellar, coffee and the responsible service of alcohol.
Beverage Service Skills by Lee Perlitz
Call Number: 647.95068 PER (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Covers topics such as hygienic practices for food safety, responsible service of alcohol, operating a bar, cleaning and tidying bar areas and preparing and serving espresso coffee.
SITHFAB002 Provide responsible service of alcohol by Lee Perlitz
Call Number: 647.95 RES (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)
Wine Folly: The Master Guide by Madeline Puckette; Justin Hammack
Call Number: 641.220994 PUC (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Everything you need to know about wine tasting, serving, storage and pairing. More than 100 grapes and wines color-coded by style, a wine region explorer with detailed maps of the top wine regions, wine labeling and classification, food and wine pairing and tasting notes.
How to Drink Australian by Jane Lopes; Jonathan Ross
Call Number: 641.220994 LOP (Glen Waverley)

An in-depth exploration of wine in Australia covering each region, detailed maps, wine recommendations and producer profiles, a fold-out region-by-region grape table and more.
Halliday Wine Companion 2026 by James Halliday
Call Number: 641.220994 HAL (2026) (Glen Waverley)

The go-to guide for wine ratings, regions, best varietals, winery reviews and a curated selection of the best wines in Australia. Halliday shares his extensive knowledge of wine through detailed tasting notes with points, price, value symbol and advice on best-by drinking, as well as each wine's closure and alcohol content.
The Oxford Companion to Wine by Jancis Robinson
Call Number: 641.22 OXF :4 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Presents almost 4,000 entries on every wine-related topic imaginable, from regions and grape varieties to the owners, connoisseurs, growers, and tasters in wine through the ages; from viticulture and oenology to the history of wine, from its origins to the present day.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Coffee Art by Dhan Tamang
Call Number: 641.877 TAM (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

From free pouring to etching, stencilling and more complicated designs. Starting with basic skills and patterns, readers will learn how to create the crema (the froth that acts as a canvas in the coffee cup) and how to produce the hearts, rosettas and tulips that will be used as the basis to form more complicated artworks.
Coffee Art by Coffee School
Call Number: 641.3373 BEN (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Master the espresso machine, milk foaming and creative designs for an impressive cup of coffee in both taste and appearance.
The Coffee Dictionary: An A-Z of Coffee, From Growing and Roasting, to Brewing and Tasting by Maxwell Colonna-Dashwood
Call Number: 641.3373 COL (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

An A-Z compendium of everything you need to know about coffee, from a champion barista. The coffee drinker's guide to the dizzying array of terms and techniques, equipment and varieties that go into creating the perfect cup. With hundreds of entries on everything from sourcing, growing and harvesting, to roasting, grinding and brewing.
The World Atlas of Coffee: From Beans to Brewing - Coffees Explored, Explained and Enjoyed by James Hoffmann
Call Number: 641.3373 HOF (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Where coffee comes from, how it was harvested, the roasting process and the water used to make the brew are just a few of the factors that influence the taste of what we drink. Champion barista and coffee roaster James Hoffmann examines these key factors, looking at varieties of coffee, the influence of terroir, how it is harvested and processed, the roasting methods used, through to the way in which the beans are brewed.
Latte Art: The Ultimate Barista's Guide to Stunning Coffee Art by Skyler Breone
Call Number: 641.877 BRE (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Suited to the absolute beginner that's looking to get started with latte art. Includes an introduction to latte art, free pouring, etching, milk and achieving perfect foam.
Barista: A Guide to Espresso Coffee by Jill Adams
Call Number: 641.877 ADA (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Designed to give students a solid grounding for the tasks they may undertake, as well as providing an introduction to coffee and coffee making for anyone interested in learning more or developing their skills.
Barista Techniques: An Essential Guide to Preparing and Serving Espresso Coffee Commercially by John C. Doyle
Call Number: 641.877 DOY (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Barista Techniques is written as a guide for people who want to learn how to prepare and serve espresso coffee using commercial espresso-coffee equipment.
Barista Training Manual by Philip Search; Lorrie Mahieu; Jeff Burgess
Call Number: 641.877 SEA (Moorabbin)

This comprehensive text covers barista fundamentals, hot and cold Drink building and latte art, etymology, the history of coffee, its biology and cultivation, roasting, coffee blends and flavors, storage, preparation, presentation, and the social and health aspects of coffee, machine maintenance, how to use a French press, and bar certification of employees.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Communicating As Professionals by Raymond Archee; Myra Gurney
Call Number: 658.45 COM :4 (Chadstone, Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Explains all the key communication concepts and effective strategies students will use to communicate as professionals. It covers modern communication theory as well as essential practical skills such as active listening, verbal and non-verbal communication and negotiation.
The Tourism, Hospitality and Events Student′s Guide to Study and Employability by Sally Everett; Nicola Cade; Abigail Hunt; Deborah Lock; Katie Lupton; Steve McDonald
Call Number: 338.4791 EVE (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Chapter 13: Communication and interpersonal skill development
Chapter 14: Body talks: body language and non-verbal communication
Chapter 16: Languages and cultural sensitivity
Communicating In The 21st Century by Baden Eunson
Call Number: 302.2 EUN :4 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Covers key communication skills topics including, written, oral and listening, interpersonal, nonverbal, employment, negotating, team and more.
Communicating Effectively by Saundra Hybels; Richard L. Weaver
Call Number: 302.2242 HYB :11 (Glen Waverley)

Presents a comprehensive introduction to interpersonal, intercultural, professional, group, and public communication.
Hospitality Management: A Capstone Course by Matt A. Casado
Call Number: 647.94071 CAS (Glen Waverley)

Chapter 12: Hospitality communication.
Communication For Business And The Professions by Judith Dwyer
Call Number: 658.45 DWY :7 (Chadstone)

A current and comprehensive resource with a easy-to-navigate structure that makes this sometimes challenging subject easy to learn.
Body Language In The Workplace by Allan Pease; Barbara Pease
Call Number: 302.222 PEA (Chadstone)

Clinch that deal or interview. Give the perfect presentation. Decipher and use international body language. Understand eye contact. Clarify confusing gender signals. From negotiating the office party to the best way to arrange your office furniture, Body Language in the Work Place will help you to identify and correct the body language that's letting you down.
Intercultural Communication: Connecting With Cultural Diversity by Sebastian Ioppolo
Call Number: 303.482 IOP (Moorabbin)

Covers verbal and non-verbal communication, barriers to effective communication, cultural dimensions and developing intercultural communication competence.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Introduction to Management in the Hospitality Industry by Clayton W. Barrows; Tom Powers; Dennis Reynolds
Call Number: 647.94068 BAR :10 (Glen Waverley)

Features both historical perspectives and discussions of new trends in a variety of sectors. Thorough coverage of the hospitality industry, including foodservice, lodging, and travel and tourism, hospitality careers, and hospitality management.
Leadership and Management: Theory and Practice by Kris Cole; Tim Rule; Jill Noble; Kim Slingo; Billy Worth
Call Number: 658.302 COL :8 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

A multidisciplinary text covering a range of management and leadership topics relevant to hospitality management studies.
Contemporary Strategic Management: An Australasian Perspective by Robert Grant et al.
Call Number: 658.4012099 CON :2 and AR 658.4012099 CON :2 (Glen Waverley, Chadstone)
Cornerstones of Management by Laurie Dickie; Carolyn Dickie
Call Number: 658 DIC :2 and AR 658 DIC :2 (Glen Waverley)

This text provides insights into the ideas, thoughts and practices of management, and shows students how the world of the practical manager and the world of management theory can be useful to one another.
The Leadership Experience by Richard L. Daft & Andrew Pirola-Merlo
Call Number: 658.4092 DAF and AR 658.4092 DAF (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin, Chadstone)

Leadership is an influence relationship among leaders and followers. This Australian edition helps the reader to develop an understanding of theory while acquiring the necessary skills and insights to become effective leaders.
The Frontline Leader by Ern Prentice; Gordon Rabey
Call Number: 658.4092 PRE and AR 658.4092 PRE (Glen Waverley)

Details how leadership skills can be developed and practiced. Practical tools and processes, including diagrams, frameworks, surveys, checklists and cases, are spread throughout the book for frontline leaders as well as facilitators/teachers of frontline management. Covers: team formation, coaching, communications, innovation linkages and maintaining employability for frontline leaders.
Customer Service for Hospitality and Tourism (4th ed.) by Louise Hudson; Simon Hudson
Call Number: 647.940688 HUD :4 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Covers the financial and behavioural consequences of customer service, consumer trends influencing service, developing and maintaining a service culture, managing service encounters, the importance of market research, building and maintaining customer relationships, providing customer service through the servicescape, the impact of technology on customer service, the importance of service recovery, and promoting customer service internally and externally.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Human Resource Management: Strategy and Practice by Alan R. Nankervis et al.
Call Number: 658.3 NAN :10 (Chadstone)

Covers the evolution and context of strategic human resource management, industrial relations frameworks and practice, human resource planning in a changing environment, work design challenges in a global environment, talent attraction, selection, retention and development, performance management, strategic reward management, managing work health and safety, workplace negotiation processes, and evaluating SHRM.
Managing Human Resources by Raymond J. Stone
Call Number: 658.3 STO :4 (Glen Waverley, Chadstone)

Presents a concise coverage of key HRM topics. Covers contemporary HR issues, such as employee engagement, flexible working arrangements, work-life balance, generational issues in the workplace, skills shortages in various industries, the importance of effective employee recruitment and training, the cost of involuntary staff turnover, Increasing diversity in the workplace, outsourcing, corporate social and ethical responsibility, globalisation.
Human Resource Management by Gary Dessler; Beverley Lloyd-Walker; John Griffiths
Call Number: 658.3 DES :3 and AR 658.3 DES :3 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin, Chadstone)

Covers human resource management for the 21st century, HR planning and business success, workforce planning, job analysis and design, ethical and legal foundations of HR management, attracting and recruiting staff, selecting and retaining staff, employee development and careers, managing performance, rewards management, knowledge, innovation and cultural change, managing diversity, employment relations, OHS and managing HR in a global environment.
Human Resources Management in the Hospitality Industry by David K. Hayes; Jack D. Ninemeier
Call Number: 647.940683 HAY (Glen Waverley)

Approaches hospitality human resource (HR) management as a decision-making practice that affects the performance, quality, and legal compliance of the hospitality business as a whole. Covers the hospitality industry, employment law, HR policies, recruitment, training, compensation, performance appraisal, environmental and safety concerns, ethics and social responsibility, and special issues.
Strategic Human Resource Management by Jeffrey A. Mello
Call Number: 658.3 MEL :4 (Glen Waverley, Chadstone)

Divided into two parts, this book covers the context of strategic human resource management as well as the process of implementing strategic human resource management.
Human Resource Management for the Hospitality and Tourism Industries by Dennis Nickson
Call Number: 647.940683 NIC :2 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Takes an integrated look at HRM policies and practices in the tourism and hospitality industries. Utilising existing human resource management (HRM) theory and practice, it contextualises it to the tourism and hospitality industries by looking at the specific employment practices of these industries. Covers recruitment and selection, legislation and equal opportunities, staff health and welfare and remuneration strategies in the industry.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Principles of Marketing by Gary Armstrong et al.
Call Number: 658.8 PRI :6 (Glen Waverley, Chadstone)

Explains how customer value ́creating and capturing drives every effective marketing strategy. Reflecting the latest trends in marketing, including coverage of social media, mobile and other digital technologies. In addition, it covers the rapidly changing nature of customer relationships with both companies and brands, and the tools marketers use to create deeper consumer involvement.
Marketing for Hospitality and Tourism by Philip Kotler et al.
Call Number: 647.940688 KOT :7 (Glen Waverley)

Uses an integrative approach to explain the role of marketing in the hospitality operation, focusing on the how and why of everyone's role in marketing. An international focus reflects the global nature of the industry. Key topics such as internal marketing, destination marketing and public relations are covered.
Hospitality Branding by Chekitan S. Dev
Call Number: 647.940688 DEV (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Brings together the most important insights from the author's many years of research and experience, skillfully blending the knowledge of recent history, the wisdom of cutting-edge research, and promise of future trends, this book offers hospitality organizations the advice they need to survive and thrive in today's competitive global business environment.
Hospitality Marketing Management by David C. Bojanic; Robert D. Reid
Call Number: 647.94068 HOS :6 (Glen Waverley)

Explores marketing and themes unique to hospitality and tourism. Presents many new ideas along with established marketing principles, exploring not only the foundations of marketing in the hospitality world but also new trends in the industry.
Services Marketing: An Asia-Pacific and Australian Perspective by Christopher H. Lovelock; Paul Patterson; Jochen Wirtz
Call Number: 658.800994 LOV :6 and AR 658.800994 LOV :6 (Glen Waverley, Chadstone)

Combination text/reader/casebook explores the concepts and techniques of services marketing, and combines conceptual rigour with real world examples and practical applications.
Essentials of Services Marketing by Jochen Wirtz; Patricia Chew; Christopher H. Lovelock
Call Number: 658.8 WIR :2 (Glen Waverley, Chadstone)

Covers understanding service products, consumers, and markets, applying the 4 Ps of marketing to services, designing and managing the customer interface, developing customer relationships and striving for service excellence.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Hospitality Management by Lynn van der Wagen; Lauren White
Call Number: 338.4791068 VAN :4 and AR 338.4791068 VAN :4 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Chapter 4: Procedures for health, safety and the environment.
Chapter 6: OHS systems and procedures.
WHS: A Management Guide by Richard John Archer; Kerry Borthwick; Michelle Travers; Leo Ruschena
Call Number: 363.1106 WHS :5 and AR 363.1106 WHS :5 (Chadstone, Glen Waverley)

Covers key health and safety topics in the workplace including legal considerations, hazard identification, management and control, emergencies, auditing, reporting and safety promotion.
OHS Management: A Participant Guide by Managing Business Communication [MBC]
Call Number: 363.1107155 MAN (Glen Waverley)
Managing Occupational Health and Safety: A Multidisciplinary Approach by Michael Quinlan; Phillip Bohle; Felicity Lamm
Call Number: 363.11 QUI :3 (Chadstone, Glen Waverley)

Explains how injury and disease risks arise in the workplace, the role of law in prevention and compensation, and how managers and others can best address these issues.
Cookery for the Hospitality Industry by Graham Dodgshun; Michel Peters; David O'Dea
Call Number: 641.57 DOD :6 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Chapter 3: Catering hygiene and HACCP principles.
Chapter 4: Occupational health and safety.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

An Introduction to Revenue Management for the Hospitality Industry by Kimberly A. Tranter; Trevor Stuart-Hill; Juston Parker
Call Number: 647.94068 TRA (2014) (Glen Waverley)

Outlines the basic elements of the revenue management process and the keys to effective revenue management planning. Using the Rev MAP model as a guiding framework, it shows how to develop, implement, and evaluate a strategic management process.
Yield Management by Anthony Ingold; Una McMahon; Ian Yeoman
Call Number: 338.4068 YIE :2 and AR 338.4068 YIE :2 (Glen Waverley)

Covers all aspects of the subject and draws on a wide range of applications in the service industries including underpinning knowledge associated with yield management, examination of contemporary yield management models and review of how yield management acts as a decision support system for front-line staff and managers. Includes a range of case studies taken from airlines, hotels, restaurants, cruise lines and leisure industries.
Profit Planning for Hospitality and Tourism by Peter Harris
Call Number: 647.940681 HAR :3 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Provides a complete guide to key managerial accounting techniques at the property level - the "cutting-edge" of day-to-day business decisions. An essential tool for all those in the industry.
Financial Management for the Hospitality Industry by William P. Andrew; Raymond S. Schmidgall; James W. Damitio
Call Number: 647.940681 AND (Glen Waverley)

Presents financial concepts and explains how they apply to specific operations within the hospitality industry. Each chapter contains material specific to the industry-from financial statements that follow the lodging industry standards to financial ratios used to determine paid occupancy percentage, average room rate or number of guests per room.
Accounting Essentials for Hospitality Managers by Chris Guilding
Call Number: 657.837 GUI :3 (Glen Waverley)

Provides a comprehensive overview of the most relevant accounting information for hospitality managers. It demonstrates how to organise and analyse accounting data to help make informed decisions with confidence.
Hospitality Management Accounting by Martin G. Jagels; Catherine E. Ralston (Contribution by)
Call Number: 657.837 JAG :9 (Moorabbin)

The success of every business in the hospitality industry depends on maximizing revenues and minimizing costs. This book presents fundamental concepts and analytical techniques that are essential to taking control of real-world accounting systems, evaluating current and past operations, and effectively managing finances toward increased profits.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Sustainability in the Hospitality Industry by Philip Sloan; Willy Legrand; Joseph S. Chen
Call Number: 647.94068 SLO :3 (Glen Waverley)

Introduction to economic, environmental and socially sustainable issues specifically facing the industry as well as exploring ideas, solutions and strategies of how to manage operations in a sustainable way.
Corporate Sustainability Leadership by Peter A. Stanwick; Sarah D. Stanwick
Call Number: 658.4092 STA (Glen Waverley)

Addresses the issues of corporate sustainability from both a micro and macro perspective, including case study examples. It covers leadership, organizational change, management decision making, human resource strategies, organizational ethics and culture, corporate sustainability reporting, performance and compliance, suppliers, strategy communications, consumers, the natural environment, governments, NGOs and the developing world.
Managing Sustainability by Alan S. Gutterman
Call Number: 658.4083 GUT (Glen Waverley)

A comprehensive guide to governing, leading, and managing a successful sustainability-focused business. Covers steps to be taken by directors and executives to create and implement appropriate strategies, policies, and management systems.
Leadership and Management: Theory and Practice by Kris Cole; Tim Rule; Jill Noble; Kim Slingo; Billy Worth
Call Number: 658.302 COL :8 (Glen Waverley, Moorabbin)

Chapter 23: Managing for sustainability.
Developing, implementing and monitoring sustainability policies, strategies and programs.
Facilities Manager's Desk Reference by Jane M. Wiggins
Call Number: 658.2 WIG:2 and AR 658.2 WIG:2 (Glen Waverley)

Chapter 22: Water supplies and water safety
Chapter 30: Energy management
Chapter 35: Waste management
Chapter 39: Sustainability and environmental issues