On and off campus.
Log in using your Holmesglen email (e.g. username@student.holmesglen.edu.au or username@holmesglen.edu.au) and password.
Read online or download/save pdf.
Search databases to find journals, reports, conference papers, newspapers and other publications. Select relevant database and search by key concepts, subjects or words. Refine your search results (using publication date, place or change of search terms) whenever required.
|
Search by key concepts e.g. PESTEL analysis |
Search by subjects e.g customer service |
Search by words e.g. implementing marketing strategies |
This is a brief video on finding, accessing and searching the databases at Holmesglen Library. You can jump to specific sections by clicking on the timestamps. (30 Jan. 2024)
0:00 Welcome
0:11 What are databases?
0:44 Finding and accessing the databases
1:15 Help guides and login to databases
1:56 Search tips
3:31 Full text - PDF or HTML
4:26 Filtering and improving search results
4:56 Saving search results
5:24 The cite function
5:45 Using Library Search to find articles
6:16 How to contact us
Visit the Databases A-Z page for a full list of available databases in Holmesglen and check out the Database Help Guides for details.
Google Scholar provides simple and broad coverage search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar can be a good place to start if you are unfamiliar with the subject area.
To access resources available through our databases you need to up Library Links in Google Scholar.
Alternatively, you can check here for step-by-step linking guide. After doing the set up, it will link you to Holmesglen resources when you search Google Scholar. Click on Access@HolmesglenLibrary next to the resource to access full-text through our databases.
For more detailed instructions and tips and tricks on effectively searching Google Scholar, please visit our Google Scholar Help Guide.
International coverage includes The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data.
Need help? Check out our ProQuest help guide.
Focuses on business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines.
Need help? Check out our ProQuest help guide.
Academic journals from Australia and New Zealand covering business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Need help? Check out our ProQuest help guide.
This link opens in a new windowProvides a broad range of business publications from small Australasian academic and professional associations, interest groups and research centres.
Need help? Check out our Informit help guide.
Includes company and industry profiles, country and market research reports, product reviews and SWOT analyses.
Need help? Check out our EBSCO help guide.
Provides full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
Need help? Check out our EBSCO help guide.
This link opens in a new windowAustralia's most comprehensive collection of industry market reports. Each report contains data and analysis on market characteristics, current and forecast performance, major companies and much more. Reports are updated 1-4 times a years.
Need help? Check out our IBISWorld help guide.
Watch the video to find out everything you need to know to get started with EBSCOhost databases. (13 Sept 2023)
00:27 - What are EBSCOhost Databases?
01:15 - EBSCOhost home screen
01:54 - Performing Searches
02:47 - Using Limiters and Filters
04:04 - Viewing Full Text
04:52 - Accessing Tools
05:39 - EBSCOhost Help Guide
06:21 - EBSCO Mobile App
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text of Australian federal and state legal cases and legislation Australasian Legal Information.
Need help? Check out our Austlii help guide.
A simple search engine to help locate Australian legislation online.
This link opens in a new windowAustralia's most comprehensive collection of industry market reports. Each report contains data and analysis on market characteristics, current and forecast performance, major companies and much more. Reports are updated 1-4 times a years.
Need help? Check out our IBISWorld help guide.
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research information from Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch and Snapshots.
Need help? Check out our ProQuest help guide.
This link opens in a new windowA collection of Australian journals indexed in APAIS, the Australian Public Affairs Information Service.
Need help? Check out our Informit help guide.
This link opens in a new windowAustralia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus offers access to full text for leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, newspapers, and newswires, including the Australian Financial Review and Choice.
Need help? Check out our Newspapers help guide.
Academic journals from Australia and New Zealand covering business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Need help? Check out our ProQuest help guide.
For more detailed instructions and various business and financial newspapers access via the Holmesglen Library. Watch the video to have an overview or click here for details.
Provides statistics on a broad range of subject areas including government, economy, education, population.
Need help? Check out our ABS help guide.
A brief walkthrough video provides you an overview of the database.
Know more about IBISWorld products and their coverage and accessibility, click here for details.
This video highlights the top sections and features of IBISWorld's industry research reports.
To know more about IBISWorld and how to use its industry reports, search tips and the latest updates, visit our IBISWorld Help Guide for more.