LibGuides: Australian Bureau of Statistics: Home

Welcome to the Australian Bureau of Statistics help guide

In this guide you can find:

A brief description of the Australian Bureau of Statistics
Tips for searching through the Australian Bureau of Statistics
Details on how to contact the Library for assistance

What is the ABS?

The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) is Australia’s national statistical agency. The ABS provides statistics on a wide range of economic and social matters, serving government, business and the general population of Australia.

Database access

To access the Australian Bureau of Statistics go directly to the ABS website or find it listed in the Library Databases A-Z list.

The ABS website is free to use by the public; however, you will be required to register to use the Table Builder Basic. For help visit the TableBuilder help page.

Key publications

Census Data
The ABS collects data from the Australian population every 5 years through the National Census. The Census is the largest collection the ABS conducts, and one of the most important. It provides the basis for official population estimates for Australia, state, territory and local government areas.
Year Book Australia
Year Book Australia provides a comprehensive and detailed statistical overview of Australia's environment, society, industry and economy. Also contains Information on Australia’s geography and climate, system of government, government services, international relations and defence.
Key Economic Indicators
Contains a table providing a summary of Australia's key economic and social indicators. Data contained in this table is updated as soon as it becomes available.
Population Clock
Provides a projection of the current Australian population and links to related demographic statistics.

How to navigate

There are several tools you can use to get around the website:

Browse Statistics
Find publications and data listed under subject categories such as economy, labour, industry, people, health, environment and more.
Search census data
Census data by selecting your area of interest in the relevant Census year. The results are presented as either Quick Stats or Community Profiles.
TableBuilder
Create, save and download your own tables. Find out about costs and how to access.

There is also a Search box located at the top right of every page. To use it, simply enter a few short words describing the information you want to find. Click Search and you will be taken to a page displaying your search results.

Check out the ABS Help pages to help find your way around the site.