LibGuides: Informit: Home

Welcome to the Informit help guide

In this guide you can find:

Information on how to log in to Informit
A brief description of Informit databases
Tips for searching through Informit databases
How to create an individual account in Informit for saving searches and exporting search results
Details on how to contact the Library for assistance

What is Informit?

Informit
A source of Australian, New Zealand and Asia Pacific research. Collections include business, community, family and social sciences, engineering, First Nations, health, law, science and more.

Introduction to Informit video tutorial

By default, you will be searching all subscribed databases concurrently through the Informit Search or Advanced Search on the Informit platform.

These two interfaces enable cross-searching of all active databases across a wide range of subjects, including Australasian political, economic, legal, social, family, health, technical, First Nations, and cultural studies. You can limit your searches to full-text, peer-reviewed titles, and then filter them by resource types: video and sound, journal, report, book, conference, and conference proceedings.

Both search interfaces are useful for comprehensive searches to maximize the number of potential results if you are unsure which Informit database is most relevant to your subject area.

Informit Search

Advanced Search

Note

There are hundreds of databases with different collection focuses managed by RMIT Informit. Currently, you can access 7 active databases with full-text and 2 databases with indexes and abstracts via the Informit platform licensed to the Library.
If you want to select a specific database on your subject area, use the Change Databases button above the search bar. Check out the Change Databases section for details.
If you want to obtain a precise search, use the Advanced Search button under the search bar. Check out the Advanced Search Guide to know more.

To search specific database(s) individually, you can select a database from the Database A-Z List or click on the title list below to select collection related to your search topic.

To perform a search, either type your search term into the Search box on the Informit Search homepage for a broad search or choose the Advanced Search for a more precise search. Check out Search Help to know more.

A+ Education via Informit
- This link opens in a new window
A+ Education brings authoritarian Australian content indexed by the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER). It encompasses all aspects of education, teacher training, policy, curriculum, and pedagogical development. This collection covers learning from early childhood through to tertiary, adult learning, assessment, distance learning, international educational education, special education, indigenous education, and literacy. (Full-text articles: 1956 - onwards; Index: 1885 - onwards)
Australian Public Affairs via Informit
- This link opens in a new window
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT), is an indexing and full-text database that provides access to published materials on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes current affairs, business, economics, health, humanities, law, literature, politics, and social sciences. (Full-text articles: 1977 - onwards; Index: 1963 - onwards)
Business Collection via Informit
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all broad business fields, including accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions. The collection provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs, books, and reference materials published by a myriad of small Australasian academic and professional associations, interest groups, and research centres. (Full-text articles: 1963 - onwards; Index: 1977 - onwards)
Engineering Collection via Informit
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to full-text resources comprising journal articles, conference papers, working papers, and other grey literature sourced from the Engineers Australia collection and is produced in collaboration with Engineers Australia. It covers a diverse range of engineering topics, including chemical, civil, electrical, marine, and mechanical, as well as specialist engineering areas on railroads and roads, mining, and sanitary & municipal. (Full-text articles: 1973 - onwards; Index: 1961 - onwards)
Families and Society Collection via Informit
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers mainly Australian content from government and specialist associations. Content includes peer-reviewed journals tackling modern debates on topics including non-traditional families, child development, parenting, marriage, divorce, working mothers, birth rates, aging, culture and institutions, private, civil and family law, social services, and public welfare with an Australasian focus. (Full-text articles: 1961 - onwards; Index: 1961 - onwards)
Health Collection via Informit
- This link opens in a new window
This is a multi-disciplinary database covers Australasian health information supporting the professional practice of evidence-based treatment. The collection features comprehensive coverage of key disciplines across all aspects relevant to nursing, allied health, general and specialist education, training and research. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. Current topics of interest including aging and aged care, child health, disabilities, addictions, health informatics, indigenous health, women’s health, mental health and rehabilitation. (Full-text articles: 1967 - onwards; Index 1967 - onwards)
Humanities and Social Sciences Collection via Informit
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers topics including agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, aboriginal and indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology with an Australasian focus. Contents sources include peer-reviewed journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers, and reports. (Full-text articles: 1952 - onwards; Index: 1901 - onwards)

You can also access the following two databases with indexes, abstracts, and Open Access content via the Informit platform.

Indigenous Collection
This collection offers a broad scope for indigenous studies, including indigenous culture, health, human geography and other important aspects of Indigenous communities in Australia, New Zealand and beyond. Source documents include Commonwealth gazettes, media/press releases, speeches and conference papers, pamphlets, journal and newspaper articles, and more. (Index: 1970 - onwards)
Check updated news on First Peoples' Lens via Informit.
Literature & Culture Collection
This collection covers Australia's literary and cultural heritage. It provides a rich source of fiction, poetry, cultural politics, commentaries, debate, and ideas that have helped define the unique Australian identity. This database was created in partnership with the Australia Council for the Arts. (Index: 1939 - onwards)

Note

Open access refers to scholarly research outputs such as journal articles, conference papers, books and book chapters, theses, and reports that are freely available online for everyone to access. You may read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, link to the full-text, or use open access materials for any other lawful purpose.

Informit

Database login

Need help?

Welcome to the Informit help guide

What is Informit?

Introduction to Informit video tutorial

Informit databases coverage