Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Informit Help Guide

Welcome to the Informit Help Guide

In this guide you can find:

  • Information on how to log in to databases
  • A brief description of Informit
  • Tips for searching Informit
  • Details on how to contact the Library for assistance

What is Informit?

INFORMIT is the premier source of core research and professional resources from leading Australia, New Zealand and Asia Pacific publishers, associations and peak professional bodies.

INFORMIT Databases

 A+ Education (Full text articles: 2000- ; Index: 1978-)

Produced in partnership with the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER).  Covers curriculum, adult education, early childhood education, primary, secondary and higher education, education policy, education theory and practice, teaching methods, teacher training, school management, special education and student learning.

APAFT - Australian Public Affairs (Full text articles: 1995- ; Index: 1978-)

Covers current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences and is produced by the National Library of Australia.

Business Collection (Full text publications: 1993- ; Index: 1993-)

Covers all broad business fields, including: accounting, business law, commerce, finance, economics, employment, foreign trade, management, organisational psychology, production, public relations, taxation.

Engineering Collection (Full text publications: 1973- ; Index: 1973-)

Covers all broad engineering fields, including: Building and construction, Civil engineering, Communications and telecommunications, Earth sciences, Engineering of railroads & roads, Environmental technology, Manufacturing, Mining & related operations, Sanitary & municipal engineering, Transportation, as well as specialist engineering areas. Full content from a range of journal articles, conference papers, working papers and other grey literature sourced from the Engineers Australia library collection and is produced in collaboration with Engineers Australia.

Health Collection (Full text publications: 1977- ; Index: 1977-)

Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in the nursing profession and other allied health disciplines. Topics covered include: addictions, aged care, child health, disability, health education, indigenous health, mental health, midwifery, public health and women's health.

Humanities & Social Sciences Collection (Full text publications: 1940- ; Index: 1940-)

Covers arts, business, education, history, indigenous studies, law, literature, media, politics, and social sciences.

Accessing the Informit databases

1. Go to the Library website https://holmesglen.edu.au/Students/Library/
2. Click on Electronic Resources, then click on Databases
3. Select I for Informit under Browse Databases by Title
4. When asked enter your Holmesglen Student network ID number (this is the ID you use to login to Brightspace) and password. Staff please use your AD login and password.