Databases provide subject access to information found in journals, conference papers, newspapers, reports and other publications. Some of these databases will give you access to the full text of publications directly, usually as a PDF, other databases will only index journals or provide summaries/abstracts of the articles.
Decide on the key concepts, subjects or words from your assignment and begin searching the databases. Each database will differ in the way to search for your topic, if you are having difficulty please contact the Library or the librarian listed in the contact us section of this guide.
Google Scholar will provide you with a simple and broad coverage search for scholarly literature. The results will be from many disciplines and be a mixture of journal articles, books, theses, reports, online repositories and websites. Google Scholar can be a good place to start if you are unfamiliar with the subject area.
Includes full text of Australian federal and state legal cases and legislation Australasian Legal Information.
Need help? Check out our Austlii help guide.
Provides statistics on a broad range of subject areas including government, economy, education, population.
Need help? Check out our ABS help guide.
Search multiple EBSCO databases based in your subject area.
Need help? Check out our EBSCO help guide.
Informit databases feature Australian and international research. Collections include family, community, social issues, engineering and public affairs.
Need help? Check out our Informit help guide.
The Law Handbook is now available in full online, with cross referenced links to other law and community services, and instant glossary of legal terms.
Need help? Check out our The Law Handbook help guide.
One of the largest database collections in the world. Great starting point for any subject area.
Need help? Check out our ProQuest help guide.
