In this guide you can find:
Practical skills in biomolecular sciences by 
Histology - an Essential Textbook by
Learn to identify histological structures and their correlated functions! Histology: An Essential Textbook is a concise, multimedia study guide for medical students who need to learn the functions and related correlations of cells, tissues, and organs of the human body. Professor D.J. Lowrie, Jr. has written a unique and practical medical histology resource based on self-directed modules originally created to replace live histology laboratory sessions. This resource will help medical students learn how to identify histological structures on slide preparations and electron micrographs. Short videos by the author, who demonstrates structures via digitized histology slides, provide additional guidance. Shorter, targeted concepts and brief explanations accompanied by numerous illustrations, self-assessment quizzes, and videos demonstrating key features of histological structures set this resource apart from existing, text-dense books. Key Features Nearly 850 images, consisting primarily of electron and light micrographs, aid in identification of histological structures and long-term retention Correlation of histological structure with other basic science disciplines, such as gross anatomy, embryology, and pathology allows students to integrate material effectively Over 1000 online multiple choice questions and answers mirror exam topics students frequently encounter in curriculum and the USMLE® Nearly 375 videos provide a personal tutor that teaches students histological structures, while providing tips for proper identification This is a must-have self-study guide for medical students, as well as a stellar teaching tool for instructors. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Histology and Cell Biology: Examination and Board Review, Sixth Edition by
Ace your courses and the USMLE with the go-to review guide--complete with critical concepts and fully updated practice questions Histology and Cell Biology is designed and formatted in a way that helps you make the most of your time, whether you're studying this topic for the first time or reviewing for the USMLE. With this focused review you'll be able to pinpoint your weak areas, then improve your comprehension with learning aids designed to help you understand and retain even the most difficult material. This popular LANGE guide provides everything you need to know about the four basic tissues types, and organs and organ systems. Each chapter is devoted to a specific topic and includes learning aids, such as objectives highlighting significant facts and concepts; study questions directing students to facts commonly covered on exams; synopsis presented in outline form that reviews all the basic histology and related cell biology covered on exams; and multiple-choice practice questions written in USMLE format. This authoritative resource concludes with a diagnostic final exam, updated with longer, case-related stems that mimic the USMLE Step 1 exam. NEW: Thoroughly revised Q&A NEW: Completely updated text and practice questions to reflect current knowledge NEW: Information added to each chapter regarding relevant pathology/clinical issues Good Text for first year students, help understand and piece together professors' lectures Great Practice Q&A
Medical Terminology: a Short Course by
Build a working medical vocabulary quickly with Chabner's Medical Terminology: A Short Course, 9th Edition! Omitting time-consuming, nonessential information, this text helps you master the basics of medical vocabulary - including the most frequently encountered suffixes, prefixes, and word roots. A text/workbook format lets you practice and interact with medical terminology on almost every page through exercises, labeling, and pronunciations. Case studies and real-world vignettes demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice. With all this plus medical animations, word games, and flash cards on the Evolve website, you'll be amazed at how easily medical terminology becomes part of your vocabulary. Easy-to-read and understandable language allows you to quickly grasp and retain medical terminology even if you've had little or no background in biology or medicine. Text/workbook approach reinforces learning every step of the way with exercises, diagram labeling, review sheets, and pronunciation practice throughout the book. Full-color illustrations and photographs show parts of the body, diseases, conditions, and medical procedures. Picture Show activities, medical case reports, and vignettes demonstrate real-life applications of medical terms. First Person narratives help you to understand diseases and conditions from the patient's perspective. Principal Diagnosis feature shows how medical terms are used in clinical practice by asking you to read physician notes about a case and determine the patient's principal diagnosis. Medical Terminology Check Up at the end of each chapter reinforces your understanding of key concepts and easily confused terms. Evolve website includes resources optimized for tablet use, and mobile-optimized versions of the flash cards and quick quizzes make it easier for on-the-go study and review. Body Systems Challenge self-test assesses and reinforces your understanding at your own pace. NEW! Additional case studies provide examples of medical terminology in the context of patient care and procedures. NEW! Immunity and COVID-19 Vaccines appendix features topics of current interest, including infectious disease, cancer treatments, medical technologies, and pharmacology.
Clinical Hematology Atlas by
Learn how to accurately identify cells at the microscope with Clinical Hematology Atlas, 6th Edition. An excellent companion to Rodak's Hematology: Clinical Principles and Applications, this award-winning atlas offers complete coverage of the basics of hematologic morphology, including examination of the peripheral blood smear, maturation of the blood cell lines, and information on a variety of clinical disorders. Vivid photomicrographs, schematic diagrams, and electron micrographs clearly illustrate hematology from normal cell maturation to the development of various pathologies so you can be certain you're making accurate conclusions in the lab. Schematic diagrams, photomicrographs, and electron micrographs in every chapter visually enhance student understanding of hematologic cellular morphology. Compact size, concise text, and spiral binding make it easy to carry and reference this atlas in the laboratory. Chapter on normal newborn peripheral blood morphology covers the normal cells found in neonatal blood. Chapter on body fluids illustrates the other fluids found in the body besides blood, using images from cytocentrifuged specimens. The most common cytochemical stains, along with a summary chart for interpretation, are featured in the leukemia chapters to assist in the classification of both malignant and benign leukoproliferative disorders. Chapter featuring morphologic changes after myeloid hematopoietic growth factors is included in the text. Morphologic abnormalities coverage in the chapters on erythrocytes and leukocytes, along descriptions of each cell, presents this information in a schematic fashion. Appendix with comparison tables of commonly confused cells includes lymphocytes versus neutrophilic myelocytes and monocytes versus reactive lymphoctyes to help students see the subtle differences between them. Glossary of hematologic terms at the end of the book provides a quick reference to easily look up definitions. NEW! Revised chapters include updates based on extensive reviewer feedback. NEW! Updated photos reflect the most up-to-date information and latest advances in the field.
Plant Tissue Culture by
Plant Tissue Culture: Techniques and Experiments, Fourth Edition, builds on the classroom tested, audience proven manual that has guided users through successful plant culturing for almost 30 years. The book's experiments demonstrate major concepts and can be conducted with a variety of plant materials readily available throughout the year. This fully updated edition describes the principles of the newest technologies, including CRISPR/Cas9 gene editing and RNAi technology with plant cell and tissue cultures and their applications. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, this book contains detailed methodology supported by comprehensive illustrations, giving users a diverse learning experience for both university students and plant scientists.
Phlebotomy Handbook by
For courses in phlebotomy. Most comprehensive phlebotomy guide available Phlebotomy Handbook: Blood Specimen Collection from Basic to Advanced links students and health care professionals to the latest information on safe, effective blood collection. Progressing from simple concepts to complex competencies, the text covers all of the communication, clinical, technical, and safety skills that any health care worker will use in the practice of phlebotomy and other specimen-collection procedures. The 10th edition aligns the text with entry-level competencies of the NAACLS. A DVD video library demonstrating procedures described in this text is available in Pearson's Instructor Resource Center.
Success! In Phlebotomy by
For courses preparing students for any phlebotomy certification or licensure exam. Comprehensive exam prep for phlebotomy certification and licensure SUCCESS! in Phlebotomy: A Q&A Review is a complete exam-preparation system that combines more than 850 exam-style questions with outline-style content review and interactive technology. Written by professional educators with vast experience in test writing, statistics, and cognitive assessment, the text covers all of the concepts, skills, techniques, standards, and instrumentation that students will encounter on certification and licensing exams for blood collection, specimen handling, and transportation. The 8th edition of SUCCESS! in Phlebotomy is sequenced to match the 10th and latest edition of The Phlebotomy Handbook. New! SUCCESS! in Phlebotomy: A Q&A Review is now available with Pearson Test Prep, an online practice resource with exam-style questions and detailed rationales. With Pearson Test Prep, learners can shuffle and randomize questions, test in both study and exam mode, customize exams, access test-taking tips, bookmark questions, take a pre-test that identifies strengths and weaknesses, use a built-in study planner, share results, indicate confidence levels, access a tutor, add notes to questions, and use a timer.
Biochemistry, Cell and Molecular Biology, and Genetics by
Integrates biochemical, molecular, and cellular health and disease processes into one essential text! Biochemistry, Cell and Molecular Biology, and Genetics: An Integrated Textbook by Zeynep Gromley and Adam Gromley is the first to cover molecular biology, cell biology, biochemistry (metabolism), and genetics in one comprehensive yet concise resource. Throughout the book, these topics are linked to other basic medical sciences, such as pharmacology, physiology, pathology, immunology, microbiology, and histology, for a truly integrated approach. Key Highlights Easy-to-read text enhances understanding of underlying molecular mechanisms of disease Nearly 500 illustrations and tables help reinforce chapter learning objectives Textboxes throughout make connections with other preclinical disciplines End of unit high-order clinical vignette questions with succinct explanations help integrate basic science topics with clinical medicine This textbook provides a robust review for medical students preparing for courses as well as exams. Dental, pharmacy, physician's assistant, nursing, and graduate students in pre-professional/bridge programs will also find this a beneficial learning tool. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Molecular cell biology
Molecular Cell Biology remains the most authoritative and cutting-edge resource available for the cell biology course. The author team, consisting of world-class researchers and teachers, incorporates medically relevant examples where appropriate to help illustrate the connections between cell biology and health and human disease. Emphasis on experimental techniques that drive advances in biomedical sciences and introduce students to cutting edge research teach students the skills they need for their careers.
Publisher
New York: Macmillan International Higher Education
Williams Hematology, 10th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The landmark text that has guided generations of hematologists and related practitioners--updated with the latest research findings and improved format and presentation Long revered for its comprehensiveness and extraordinary depth of detail, Williams Hematology delivers virtually every answer you're looking for, provides clear and thorough rationales for each one, and contains a wealth of basic science and translational pathophysiology for optimal, lifelong learning. The cream of the crop of research and clinical hematology, the editors--three of whom are former Presidents of the American Society of Hematology--are known worldwide for their contributions to the field. This new edition contains everything that has made Williams the go-to resource for decades and has been updated with critical new research into the molecular mechanisms responsible for hematological disorders and the impact on diagnosis and treatment.
Robbins and Cotran Atlas of Pathology by
Designed to complement Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition and Robbins Basic Pathology, 10th Edition, the full-color Robbins and Cotran Atlas of Pathology offers more than 1,800 outstanding illustrations that vividly depict the most common diseases covered in pathology courses and USMLE exams. Covering all major topic areas in organ system pathology and incorporating the latest understanding of pathophysiology and molecular medicine, it is a quick visual reference or review for students and professionals alike. Quickly compare gross, microscopic, and radiologic images with examples of normal organs and tissues. Review just the key information you need to know with help from extensive legends that provide convenient summaries and highlight key aspects of patient care and diagnostic strategies. Understand the correlation between pathology and clinical history, physical exam findings, and clinical laboratory tests. Visualize key pathologic findings with crystal clarity through over 100 new or updated images. Access the complete, fully searchable text plus BONUS e-only figures via the accompanying downloadable eBook. Study effectively with this unique companion product! Use as a standalone atlas or alongside the other Robbins 'family' titles. All chapters have been thoroughly revised to reflect the chapter organisation and new content found in Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Phlebotomy Essentials by
Ensure a confident transition from classroom to clinic with this proven, approachable phlebotomy resource. Phlebotomy Essentials, Seventh Edition easily instills the core knowledge and clinical understanding behind safe, effective patient communication and interaction.Enhanced with new images, a more efficient design, and new contributions from leading subject matter experts, this updated edition details how today's phlebotomists work in an approach optimized for how today's students learn. Combined with an optional Workbook, Exam Review book, and updated digital courseware, the latest edition of Phlebotomy Essentials represents a cornerstone of preparation for a successful career in phlebotomy.
Prevention of Healthcare Associated Infections by
The prevention and control of infection in healthcare environments is now more important than ever. From simple hand washing to full PPE (personal protective equipment), hygiene maintenance has never been more at the forefront of people's minds than during the Coronavirus COVID-19 outbreak. This book is a practical guide to the prevention and control of healthcare and laboratory-associated infections. Divided into twelve sections, the text begins with an introduction to the basic science of infection and the use of antimicrobial agents. The following sections cover prevention and control of infection in different environments and situations including hospitals, laboratories, specific patient groups, and high risk and procedure areas. Different infection transmission methods are discussed in depth. The book concludes with guidance on standards and sample protocols, and training techniques. The comprehensive text is further enhanced by images and flow charts, and each chapter includes MCQs (multiple choice questions) to assist learning and revision. Key points Comprehensive guide to prevention and control of infection in healthcare environments Covers different environments, patient groups and infection transmission methods Features images and flow charts to assist learning Each chapter concludes with MCQs on the topic
Blood Collection by
Cross-training? Continuing education? Refresher? Whether you're cross training, continuing your education, or taking a refresher course, the knowledge and skills you need to master the essentials of phlebotomy are here. This user-friendly text focuses on the proper techniques for collecting quality blood specimens with minimal patient discomfort. It's perfect for intensive one- or two-day phlebotomy courses! See what students and professionals are saying... ¶¶¶¶¶ Great intro/quick reference "This book is great for explaining venipuncture process. It keeps it basic and necessary. It really is a great reference for what each vial is used for."--Jordon, review of the 2nd Edition on Amazon ¶¶¶¶¶ Five Stars "Good book, easy to study."--Amanda, review of the 2nd Edition on Amazon Excellent Tools "The authors provide some excellent tools for teaching a venipuncture class. ...though small, is complete in its coverage of topics related to phlebotomy... The unit on blood collection and venipuncture equipment is very thorough..." --Respiratory Care, review of the 1st Edition
Hoffbrand's Essential Haematology by
British Medical Association Book Award Winner - Student Textbook of the Year 2016 The definitive haematology textbook of choice for medical students Hoffbrand's Essential Haematology has built a reputation as the flagship haematology textbook for both students and junior doctors, providing an authoritative introduction to the subject. Now in its 7th edition, this classic text provides up-to-date knowledge of the pathogenesis, clinical and laboratory features, treatment of blood and bone marrow disorders, in its concise and user-friendly style. Hoffbrand's Essential Haematology outlines the basic principles of clinical and laboratory haematology and shows how manifestations of blood diseases can be explained by new knowledge of the disease processes. It is an indispensable resource for students and trainees and an essential read for all specialists who are interested in updating their knowledge. Hoffbrand's Essential Haematology: Provides up-to-date knowledge of the pathogenesis, clinical and laboratory features and treatment of all blood disorders Features detailed information on the new genetics of leukaemia and lymphoma Includes a new chapter on thrombosis, focussing on the new oral anticoagulants Is beautifully presented, with over 300 colour illustrations Comprehensively covers both theory and treatment regimes Includes a companion website at www.wileyessential.com/haematology featuring all the figures and tables from the book, and over 300 interactive multiple choice questions. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.
Introduction to Human Disease by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, animations, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Introduction to Human Disease: Pathophysiology for Health Professionals, Seventh Edition provides a broad overview of the most common and important human diseases for students pursuing careers in the health professions. Comprehensive yet accessible, it addresses the aspects of disease epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment that are essential to clinical practice.Designed to facilitate learning, this essential reference features learning objectives, and practice questions for review and assessment. Introduction to Human Disease: Pathophysiology for Health Professions, Seventh Edition will help students gain a solid foundation in disease pathology and medical terminology to help them throughout their medical education.
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Haematology by
The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Haematology provides core and concise information on the entire spectrum of blood disorders affecting both adults and children. Updated for its fourth edition, it includes all major advances in the specialty, including malignant haematology, haemato-oncology, coagulation, transfusion medicine, and red cell disorders, with a brand new chapter on rare diseases. Practically focused, and specifically designed for ease-of-use, andrapid access to the information you need, this handbook is an indispensable resource on all aspects of haematology for all trainee doctors, nurses, technicians, and research professionals.The handbook is divided into clinical approach and disease-specific areas. The clinical approach section outlines various symptoms and signs in patients with blood disease to enable the reader to formulate a sensible differential diagnosis beofre embarking on investigation and treatment. The disease-specific section is written by four authors whose expertise covers the whole breadth of diseases included in the book. All authors have contributed to national guidelines (e.g. British Committee forStandards in Haematology, BCSH) and are experts in the evidence base that exists for each topic. The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Haematology offers a concise and logical approach to caring for patients with diseases of the blood.
