A good starting point to understand and define your terms.
Below is a selection of print dictionaries that are available to borrow from the Library.
Medical Terminology: a Short Course by
Build a working medical vocabulary quickly with Chabner's Medical Terminology: A Short Course, 9th Edition! Omitting time-consuming, nonessential information, this text helps you master the basics of medical vocabulary - including the most frequently encountered suffixes, prefixes, and word roots. A text/workbook format lets you practice and interact with medical terminology on almost every page through exercises, labeling, and pronunciations. Case studies and real-world vignettes demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice. With all this plus medical animations, word games, and flash cards on the Evolve website, you'll be amazed at how easily medical terminology becomes part of your vocabulary. Easy-to-read and understandable language allows you to quickly grasp and retain medical terminology even if you've had little or no background in biology or medicine. Text/workbook approach reinforces learning every step of the way with exercises, diagram labeling, review sheets, and pronunciation practice throughout the book. Full-color illustrations and photographs show parts of the body, diseases, conditions, and medical procedures. Picture Show activities, medical case reports, and vignettes demonstrate real-life applications of medical terms. First Person narratives help you to understand diseases and conditions from the patient's perspective. Principal Diagnosis feature shows how medical terms are used in clinical practice by asking you to read physician notes about a case and determine the patient's principal diagnosis. Medical Terminology Check Up at the end of each chapter reinforces your understanding of key concepts and easily confused terms. Evolve website includes resources optimized for tablet use, and mobile-optimized versions of the flash cards and quick quizzes make it easier for on-the-go study and review. Body Systems Challenge self-test assesses and reinforces your understanding at your own pace. NEW! Additional case studies provide examples of medical terminology in the context of patient care and procedures. NEW! Immunity and COVID-19 Vaccines appendix features topics of current interest, including infectious disease, cancer treatments, medical technologies, and pharmacology.
Medical Terminology for Health Professions, Spiral Bound Version by
Now in its 9th Edition, Schroeder/Ehrlich/Schroeder Smith/Ehrlich's MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY FOR HEALTH PROFESSIONS focuses on the current, relevant terms you need to know to succeed in the health care field. The program is designed to simplify the process of memorizing complex medical terminology by focusing on the importance of word parts -- common prefixes, suffixes and root words. Every chapter helps you practice the pronunciation and understanding of key terms through interactive activities, real-life medical scenarios and critical thinking exercises. Reflecting real-world practice, all terms, definitions, procedures, illustrations and data are completely up to date. The latest edition of this market leader includes expanded coverage of gender identity and gender reassignment, COVID-19, advanced directives, durable medical equipment, dental procedures, diabetic pathology, and more. Also available: MindTap digital learning solution.
Minidictionary for Nurses by
The new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully updated and revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on areas such as nutrition, medical research,lymphology, and critical care nursing. Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,400 clear and concise entries on the theory and practice of nursing, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are alsomany entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 17 appendices covering the Code of Conduct 2015, the calculation of drug dosages, essential skill clusters, religion and nursingpractice, recommended alcohol intake, and much more, make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.
Mastering Medical Terminology by 
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing by
More than 70 leading consultants from health professions and nursing worked with us to help make this new edition of Stedman,,s your one source for health reference. The new edition includes: More than 56,000 entries, updated to cover the current medical terminology. Stedman,,s will carry your students into their chosen profession no matter where they are heading An anatomical insert based on images from the Anatomical Chart Company to help bring the terms and illustrations to life. More than 48,000 audio pronunciations available online so students can connect the spelling to the sound of the word and make sure they are accurately using their knowledge Nearly 65 appendices providing more information on crucial topics Stedman,,s is the best way to get all the tools you need. Every Stedman,,s Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing purchased offers the user FREE bonus resources, including: A FREE one-year subscription to Stedman,,s Online so you and your students can access this resource on the go, and customize it to suit specific needs A FREE version of Stedman,,s Plus Medical/Pharmaceutical Spellchecker
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by
Over the last few years, the language of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has expanded enormously to the extent that few scientists can expect to be familiar with all the terms and concepts. This is partly due the massive influence of the Genome and successive "-omics" projects which havedeveloped in to many new areas of research. At the same time, terms from other subject areas - including mathematics, statistics, physics and other life sciences - appear increasingly in the biochemical literature. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive and 'encyclopaedic' survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. This new edition of the popular dictionary has been comprehensively reviewed and updated to include many important new concepts and words. Theentries are short but informative, providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.There are over 21000 main entries, which include: details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, methods and concepts in molecular biology, and definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. Each entry is accessibly written. They point out pitfalls where termsare often confused, and explain the precise syntax of biochemical terms such as Greek letters and other formatting, which are invariably lost when searching the Internet. In addition, the dictionary is generously illustrated with over 900 chemical structures. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will serve as an invaluable reference text for student and professional biochemists and molecular biologists seeking information both from within and outside their own fields. It will also be of relevance and use to a broader audience oflife scientists seeking an authoritative overview of fundamental principles.
A selection of electronic resources from our online collection.
Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology, Fifth Edition, provides definitions for thousands of terms used in the study of cell and molecular biology. The headword count has been expanded to 12,000 from 10,000 in the Fourth Edition. Over 4,000 headwords have been rewritten. Some headwords have second, third, and even sixth definitions, while fewer than half are unchanged. Many of the additions were made to extend the scope in plant cell biology, microbiology, and bioinformatics. Several entries related to specific pharmaceutical compounds have been removed, while some generic entries ("alpha blockers," "NSAIDs," and "tetracycline antibiotics," for example), and some that are frequently part of the experimentalist's toolkit and probably never used in the clinic, have been retained. The Appendix includes prefixes for SI units, the Greek alphabet, useful constants, and single-letter codes for amino acids. Thoroughly revised and expanded by over 20% with over 12,000 entries in cellular and molecular biology Includes expanded coverage of terms, including plant molecular biology, microbiology and biotechnology areas Consistently provides the most complete short definitions of technical terminology for anyone working in life sciences today Features extensive cross-references Provides multiple definitions, notes on word origins, and other useful features
The main sources of TheFreeDictionary's Medical dictionary are The American Heritage® Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Second Edition and Dorland's Medical Dictionary for Health Care Consumers, which provide authoritative descriptions of medical conditions, medications, anatomical terms, noted medical personalities and much more (from http://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/).
Watch the PenguinProf's College Success Series: which shows how to approach medical terms by breaking them up into components.
Understanding Medical Words: A Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
This tutorial teaches how to put together parts of medical words. Includes interactive quizzes.
Introduction to Numbers, Locations, Colors, Body Systems and Organs
