LibGuides: English as an Additional Language (EAL): Books and ebooks

Workplace English books

English365 for Work and Life by Bob Dignen
Call Number: 428.34 DIG
Publication Date: 2005-09-22
English365 is for and about professionals in a wide range of working environments, from traditional business contexts to the public and voluntary sectors. The Student's Book includes specially-commissioned interviews with real working people from a variety of different backgrounds, including the Executive Director of the Japan Committee for UNICEF.
Finding work: English for employment by Choongo, Anna.; Moar, Duncan
Call Number: 428.24 FIN
Publication Date: 2009
To assist beginner students to understand the process of job seeking & to develop the language needed to seek & obtain employment
Lifestyle : English for work, socializing, and travel by Vicki Hollett
Call Number: 428.34 LIF
Publication Date: 2010
Lifestyle is designed to meet the everyday language requirements of people who need English for work, socializing, and travel. As well as dealing with how people communicate at work, it also helps learners interact effectively outside of the work environment, enabling them to 'get things done' in a variety of situations.
Workplace English by James Schofield
Call Number: 428.2402465 SCH
Publication Date: 2012
Do you want to speak and write English better at work? Meet Jasmine Goodman, personal assistant. She answers the phone, writes emails, manages her boss' schedule and looks after visitors to the company. In the Workplace English self-study pack you can follow Jasmine's daily life at her office and learn the English you need for your everyday work life.

Grammar booster for OET nursing: language and grammar for effective communication in healthcare settings Grammar Booster for OET Nursing has been designed to support nursing students and healthcare professionals seeking to boost their English language proficiency in the workplace through consolidation, extension and application of their existing grammar knowledge to a range of healthcare settings.
Call Number: 428.24076 MCN
Publication Date: 2017
Nursing. 2, Student's book by Oxford University Press Staff (Editor); Tony Grice; James P. Greenan
Call Number: 428.2402461 GRI
Publication Date: 2009
A new, up-to-date course where students learn what they need to know for a career in commerce, tourism, nursing, or technology.
Talk Like a Nurse by Susan Dandridge Bosher
Call Number: 428.2402461 BOS
Publication Date: 2014
Kaplan's Talk Like a Nurse is a hands-on workbook designed to help you strengthen the English-language skills you'll use in the real-world work environment. Ideal for ESL students in nursing and pre-nursing programs, as well as native English speakers looking to sharpen their abilities, Talk Like a Nurse provides realistic practice and practical tips for improving the communications skills you'll need in your nursing career.

Cambridge Business English Dictionary
Call Number: 650.03 CAM
Publication Date: 2011
The Cambridge Business English Dictionary is ideal for business English students, business studies students and anyone using English in their work. Informed by the unique Cambridge English Corpus, the dictionary has over 35,000 words, phrases, and meanings, and includes business-specific vocabulary such as 'quantitative easing', 'crowdsourcing' and 'black knight'.
Everyday Business English by Ian Badger
Call Number: 428.2402465 BAD
Publication Date: 2003
Check Your English Vocabulary for Business and Administration by Rawdon Wyatt
Call Number: 428.2402465 WYA :4
Publication Date: 2007
Designed to help students learning English for business and administration improve their vocabulary.

Other titles for English for Business can be found in the English for Business guide

English for IT, Level 2, Coursebook and CD-ROM Pack by David Bonamy
Call Number: 428.2402465 ENG
Publication Date: 2013
This series is designed to meet the English language needs of learners in a range of vocational specialisations.
English for IT and the internet by Gourlay, Lesley
Call Number: 428.2402465 GOU
Publication Date: 2006

Hotel and Hospitality English by Mike Seymour
Call Number: 428.24024647 HOL
Publication Date: 2012
This unique self-study course is for elementary-level adults who need English for the hospitality industry, such as workers in hotels and restaurants. Ideal for front-line staff who need to communicate confidently in English to maintain good customer relations.
Maths & English for hospitality and catering : graduated exercises and practice exam by Spencer, Andrew, and Rippington, Neil
Call Number: 374.112 SPE
Publication Date: 2013
"Supports Functional Skills in Maths and English at Level 1 and 2"--Back cover
Test your professional English: hotel and catering. by Alison Pohl; Briegen
Call Number: 428.24024647 POH
Publication Date: 2002
This practical series includes a number of specialist titles which help students communicate more effectively. Each book contains over 60 tests and over 500 key words and expressions. They are ideal for class use or self-study.
Be My Guest by Francis O'Hara
Call Number: 428.24024647 OHA
Publication Date: 2002
This fifteen-unit course deals with the many situations in which hotel employees meet guests, including reception, restaurant and bar work, answering the phone, giving directions, dealing with guests' problems, writing short e-mails and letters, suggesting places to visit and explaining how things work.