LibGuides: Company and Industry Research: Industry information

Industry information

To find information about an industry, you can search:

Search our available business databases where you will be able to find industry analysis and case studies. (Login using Holmesglen email and password) IBISWorld is a good place to start your industry research as it provides access to Australian, US, UK, Chinese and global industry reports. You also have access to 200 Australian Specialised Industry Reports (focusing on smaller niche industries) and Australian Risk Rating Reports.
Search for newspapers, trade publications and journal articles about the industry.
Look at web resources such as, government industry websites, consultancy firms and market research companies etc.

Note: Always check the publish date of reports and try to use recent information.

You can also find free online industry resources from the State Library of Victoria.

Industries in Australia: Overview

Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest)
This business collection contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research (includes Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch and Snapshots).
more...less...
Need help? Check out ProQuest LibGuides on Business Market Research Collection
Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports within ABI/INFORM (ProQuest)
Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports are available from within the ABI/INFORM database. You can browse BMI Industry Reports by Subject (topic or title) or by geographical Location (country).
more...less...
Need help? Check ProQuest help guide Finding Industry and Market reports within ABI/INFORM database
First Research Industry Profiles (ProQuest)
First Research, a D&B company in USA, offers top-notch Industry Intelligence Tools to enhance sales and marketing team efficiency. You can find quarterly update First Research Industry Profile (browse by Industry A-Z list) via ProQuest and download reports (pdf format).
more...less...
Need help? Check ProQuest help guide Finding Industry and Market reports within ABI/INFORM database
IBISWorld Australia Industry Research (ANZSIC)
IBISWorld Australia Industry Research (ANZSIC) covers over 500 Australian industries, including most sectors in the ANZSIC classification scheme. Each report consists of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, a five-year forecast and major industry participants.
You can search by industry, keywoord, company or code.
more...less...
Need help? Check our IBISWorld Help Guide
Industry Reports (EBSCO Business Source Complete)
Browse industry profiles either alphabetically (global) or by Title, Subject and Description. You can filter industry profiles (reports) by Industry, Country, Region or Publisher.
Just-Series Market Research Reports (ProQuest)
You can browse Topics and Featured content by Subject, Industry (e.g.automobile, retailing) or Title (auto, drinks, food & style). From the "Subject" browser, you can check specific industry by Competition, Corporate profiles, Financial performance, International markets and SWOT analysis. Research reports are in pdf format.
MarketLine Industry Profiles for Australia (EBSCO Business Source Complete)
Provide Industry profiles for Australia published by MarketLine. Key in "MarketLine industry profiles" and limit Geography to "Australia".
Market Research Reports (EBSCO Business Searching Interface)
You can browse market industry reports by applying limiters: All Market reports (A-Z), Subject (A-Z Industry list, e.g. Building & Construction, Business, Construction & Building Industry ...etc.) or Publisher (i.e. consultancy firms).
Oxford Economics - Country Industry Forecast (via ProQuest)
Provides predictions on a country's industry landscape over the next ten years, including fastest and slowest growing industries.

2023 Product Roadmap: Modernizing the Industry Research Experience (IBISWorld featured article)
This article covers key milestones on our 2023 product roadmap, summarizing enhancements through the end of June 2023.
IBISWorld Australia Industry Report Listing (ANZSIC)
It is a full list of Australia industry research reports (ANZSIC) in PDF document is available for free download. The Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC) report was produced by the Australian Bureau of Statistics and Statistics New Zealand. (Login using Holmesglen email and password)

Useful websites

ABARES - Industry Research Topics
This designated webpage on the Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES) provides expert insights, information on trends, reports and analysis particularly on agricultural focus research topics. It is valuable for industry professionals for decision making.
Austrade - Australian Industry Capabilities
This webpage provides market information and insights on the current status and outlook of various industries in Australia, e.g. Agribusiness, creative industries, financial services, green building ...etc.
Australian Business Register (ABR) - ABN Lookup: search Australian Business Number
The Australian Business Number (ABN) Lookup is the free public view of the Australian Business Register (ABR). It provides access to publicly available information supplied by businesses when they register for an ABN.
Australian Charities and Not for Profit Commissiion (ACNC)
The Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC) serves as the national regulator for charities in Australia and maintains a free searchable database of about the 54,000+ registered charities, allowing the public to explore and learn about various organizations.
business.gov.au - Industry Information
This webpage provides handy resources to help you learn about legal, operational and business requirements of different industries in Australia. You can find information about legal, operational and business requirement for different industries, including construction industry, financial and insurance services industry, tourism industry, information media and telecommunications and many more.
Department of Industry, Science and Resources (DISR): Industry Topics
The DISR provides government information on industry innovation and science in Australia. Its role is to drive growth and job creation by facilitating economic transformation and boosting business competitiveness.
Select "Topics" on the top of the page, you can find industry information related to building and construction, industry innovation; trade and more.
Industry Insights: publication of the Department of Industry, Science and Resources (DISR)
Industry insights, formerly known as the Industry report, provides analysis of major economic factors affecting Australia’s industries, regions and the economy. This publication (latest release 2018 ed.) analyses the major economic factors shaping Australia’s industries, regions and the economy.
Industry Overview: statistics from Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
You can find latest data and analysis on Australian industries from the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS). Key statistical data including earnings movements, employment, IVA data and movements, sales and service income of different industries, and the tables/graphs can be downloaded.

Consultancy firms often publish thought leadership content on their industry webpages, including articles, whitepapers, and case studies. Their industry webpages act as valuable resources when you are looking for industry information. You may find valuable insights into industry trends, challenges, and best practices from their webpages and this information helps businesses stay ahead in their respective industries.

Nielsen (Australia)
Nielsen is best known for its Nielsen ratings, which measure the audiences for television, radio, and newspapers in media markets.
Click to view Nielsen 2023 Annual Marketing Report (Sign up is required to access the report)
Roy Morgan Research
Roy Morgan is known as Australia’s leading market research company and works with a range of different industries to create ready-made reports with the latest research statistics. Industries with research includes alcohol, automotive, banking & finance, consumer products, economics, political and social and so on.
BMI Research
Business Monitor International (BMI) Research is a research firm that provides macroeconomic, industry and financial market analysis, covering 29 industries and 200 global markets. In 2018, BMI Research was integrated into Fitch Solutions as Fitch Solutions Macro Research, and provides information related to Country Risk data and research, Industry Research and more.
The BMI Industry Reports are available within ABI/INFORM via ProQuest. Login using Holmesglen email and password.
Dun & Bradstreet (D&B)
D&B is an American company that provides commercial data, analytics, and insights for businesses. Its publication First Research Industry Profiles (via ProQuest) offers detailed market intelligence, helping businesses understand industry trends, competitive landscapes, and emerging opportunities.
MarketLine
MarketLine is a world leading providers of commercial intelligence. It provides information of company, industry, country, city and financial data.
MarketLine has published lots of reports on:
Industry: Includes Porter’s Five Forces, trend drivers, and outlook.
Country: Based on PESTLE analysis, cover a wide range of issues.
Company: Includes company performance and SWOT analysis.
You can find these reports via the EBSCO Business Source Complete database