Pathology and Laboratory Testing

Databases provide subject access to information found in journals, conference papers, newspapers, reports and other publications. Some of these databases will give you access to the full text of publications directly, usually as a PDF, other databases will only index journals or provide summaries/abstracts of the articles.

Decide on the key concepts, subjects or words from your assignment and begin searching the databases. Each database will differ in the way to search for your topic, if you are having difficulty please contact the Library or the librarian listed in the contact us section of this guide.

Google Scholar will provide you with a simple and broad coverage search for scholarly literature. The results will be from many disciplines and be a mixture of journal articles, books, theses, reports, online repositories and websites. Google Scholar can be a good place to start if you are unfamiliar with the subject area.

Use Google Scholar to search for resources in Library databases and more.

Set up your Library Links in Google Scholar.

On the Google Scholar homepage, at the top of the page click on settings.

In Google Scholar settings, select library links.

In the text box, type in Holmesglen and select 'Holmesglen Institute - Access@HolmesglenLibrary'.

Click save.

Now when you search Google Scholar you can click on Access@HolmesglenLibrary next to the resource to access it through our databases.

For more detailed instructions, visit our Google Scholar guide.

The following titles are available on the shelves at the Library. Click on the title to go to the Library catalogue for more information.