Teacher Resources

Drawing on multiple theoretical frameworks, research, and experience creating inclusive campuses, this text offers a new framework for understanding disability. Using principles of universal design, social justice, and other inclusive practices, campus environments can be transformed into more inclusive and equitable settings for all constituents.

Provides a rigorous overview of the foundational principles of inclusive education, and the barriers to access and participation. It explores evidence-based strategies to support diverse learners, including specific changes in curriculum, pedagogy and assessment practices, and the use of data. Underpinned throughout by research evidence, it is designed to assist educators to develop the deep knowledge required to make inclusive education a reality in all schools.

This book provides educators with essential training to facilitate productive discussion and raise racial awareness in the classroom. A variety of teaching and learning experts provide insights, tips, and guidance on running classroom discussions on race. They present effective approaches and activities to bring reluctant students into a consideration of race and explore how educators can model racial awareness, thereby inviting students into the process of examining their own identity.

Teachers today must prepare students for an increasingly complex, interconnected, and interdependent world. Being a globally competent teacher requires embracing a mindset that translates personal global competence into professional classroom practice.

Covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies; data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research.

The author acquaints the reader with principles of educational research that are most applicable to today's educational leaders. Educational leaders are facing increasing demands to analyze data and use research to make instructional decisions. This book helps to bridge the gap between the complex world of data analysis with the ever-changing dynamics of education leadership.

Offers an in-depth guide to the theories, practices, and policies of vocational education and training (VET). With contributions from a panel of leading international scholars, the Handbook contains 27 authoritative essays from a wide range of disciplines. The contributors present an integrated analysis of the complex and dynamic field of VET.

This edited book addresses a range of aspects of internationalization in vocational education and training (VET) in different countries. It considers the impact of internationalization and student mobility on VET at the sectoral, institutional and individual levels as the sector emerges as a key tool for social and structural change in developing nations and as a flexible and entrepreneurial means of growth in developed nations.

Guiding you through research and practice, the authors help you to understand how you can create a positive classroom ethos and learning experience in the further, adult and vocational education sector. They explore the need to engage with students' previous experiences and look at why it is important to engage with the wider economic, social and political issues at play in the classroom to understand how these may influence behaviour and responses.

The relevance of expertise to professional education and practice is explored in this collection of original contributions from educationalists, philosophers and psychologists. Discusses the nature of know-how in mainstream analytical epistemology. Illuminates what is involved in professional expertise and the implications of a sound understanding of professional expertise for professional education practice, curriculum design and assessment.

This book focuses on approaches to teaching and learning that integrate emerging technologies to enhance the quality of education. It brings together conceptual and empirical insights to elaborate on the design of effective programs, educational policies and educational administration requirements. The authors explore how advances in information and communication technology (ICT) can improve opportunities through education for all.

Helps you discover technology tools and projects that resonate with your teaching style, classroom context and technology skill level all while helping students achieve academic growth. In this book, you’ll discover new and immediately applicable tools and practices to support collaborative, student-centered learning.

Offers ways to engage this generation of students in meaningful, relevant, and student-driven learning experiences. Such strategies and tools include Genius Hour, Makerspaces, flexible learning spaces, meaningful technology, global learning experiences, critical and creative thinking, collaboration, and reflection. Packed with relevant evidence and research, this book helps teachers understand why traditional teaching strategies are no longer working and what they can do to engage and empower this generation of learners.

Explores the theory, research, and practice driving innovation in both adult learning and learning technology, and illuminates a powerful approach to recognize and leverage these opportunities. Building on current trends and research in technology and its use, each chapter illustrates the need, opportunities, and examples of current and future technologies that scaffold adult learning.

Why are the fundamentals of education apparently so little changed in our era of digital technology? Is their obstinate persistence evidence of resilience or obsolescence? Such questions can best be answered not by imagining an uncertain high-tech future, but by examining a well-documented past--a history of instruction and media that extends from Gilgamesh to Google. Norm Friesen looks to oral, textual, and more recent media forms to understand the longevity of so many educational arrangements and practices.

This book will show teachers not only how to create their own objective rubrics, which can be used to evaluate performance assessments, but also how to develop rubrics that measure hard-to-assess skills, such as leadership and grit, and how to empower their own students to create rubrics that are tailored to their work.

Provides a comprehensive reference for scholars, educators, stakeholders, and the general public on matters influencing and directly affecting education in today's schools across the globe This enlightening handbook offers current, international perspectives on the conditions in communities, contemporary practices in schooling, relevant research on teaching and learning, and implications for the future of education.

A provocative and authoritative compendium of writings on leadership in education from distinguished scholar-educators worldwide. What is educational leadership? What are some of the trends, questions, and social forces most relevant to the current state of education? What are the possible futures of education, and what can educational leadership contribute to these futures? To address these questions, and more, international leaders on education have shared their insights, observations, and research findings.