Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Oral Health and Dental Assisting

My Library Account

Log in to renew items and check holds.

User ID: Student ID or Staff ID (eg. 100XXXXXX)
Password: Date of birth (DDMMYYYY) (e.g. 18 December 1991 is 18121991)

Related subject guides

Visit this guide on similar topics:

Welcome to the Oral Health and Dental Assisting subject guide

In this guide you can find:

  • Search tips and guidance on finding relevant resources
  • Links to print and electronic resources
  • Links to referencing information
  • Details on how to contact your liaison librarian and the Library branches for assistance

Search the Library

Holmesglen logo

Advanced search | Journal A - Z | Google scholar | Ask a librarian

Latest title

Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck

Get the thorough understanding of head and neck anatomy needed to perform dental examinations and procedures! Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck, 6th Edition provides complete coverage of oral biology and anatomy, with special emphasis on the anatomy of the temporomandibular joint (TMJ). Chapters are organized by body systems, and include coverage of the administration of local anesthesia and the spread of dental infection. Detailed images and a focus on clinical considerations make it easier to apply concepts to everyday dental practice. Written by noted educators Margaret J. Fehrenbach and Susan W. Herring, this book prepares you for success on certification exams and as a dental professional. Comprehensive, easy-to-understand coverage provides a solid foundation in head and neck anatomy with in-depth discussion of the TMJ, the spread of infection, and the anatomy of local anesthesia. About 400 full-color images include detailed and clearly labeled anatomic illustrations, skull photographs, and clinical images. Full-color format includes a clear depiction of the oral cavity and related gross anatomy. Key terminology is highlighted within the text and defined in a handy, back-of-book glossary. Expert authors Margaret J. Fehrenbach and Susan W. Herring provide knowledge that is useful in both classroom and clinical settings. Learning resources on the Evolve companion website reinforce your understanding with review questions and quizzes. NEW! Evidence-based research covers brain tissue layers and local anesthesia target areas. NEW! Coverage of the underlying relationship to patient systemic and oral conditions includes topics such as strokes, fractures, serious dental infections, and facial paralysis. NEW! Imaging techniques are updated with the latest protocols and guidelines. NEW! Clinical Considerations link more of the content to practical application. NEW! Easier-to-use pronunciation guide and updated structure mapping are tied to chapter objectives and to the CDA and NBDHE test blueprints. NEW! Student workbook reinforces learning with a wealth of practice opportunities such as review questions, identification exercises, case studies, and flash cards. Available separately.

Basic Guide to Oral Health Education and Promotion

The thoroughly revised third edition of a Basic Guide to Oral Health Education and Promotion is an essential guide to help dental nurses prepare for a qualification in Oral Health Education and thereafter practice as an Oral Health Educator. It will help readers confidently educate patients about diseases and conditions that affect the oral cavity, and support their prevention, treatment, and management. Designed with an accessible layout to enhance learning, this course companion is divided into six sections covering: the structure and functions of the oral cavity; diseases and conditions; disease prevention; effective communication; treating specific patient groups, and oral health promotion and society. Invaluable to all members of the dental team and other health professionals involved in educating and promoting oral health, this key text: Offers a guide for dental nurses taking a post-registration Certificate in Oral Health Education Is fully updated to reflect changes in the industry, science, and course syllabus Incorporates information on the new classification of periodontal and peri-implant diseases Contains new information on topics including dementia, denture advice, and burning mouth syndrome Includes an expanded section on promotion

Handbook of Pediatric Dentistry

Based on the understanding that oral health is an important social determinant of health, the latest edition of this internationally recognised handbook equips the reader with necessary skills and knowledge to provide truly integrative patient care. The text goes beyond the technical skills needed to treat children's dental disorders. It covers assessment of a child's health and development, their oral health, the newest clinical interventions, and concepts of dental disease initiation and progression. It guides the reader through the management and communication skills needed to deal with children, and how to support their overall health behaviours. Written by renowned authors Angus Cameron and Richard P Widmer, this text is an essential companion for all practitioners who treat children, including undergraduate dental students, general dental practitioners, specialist pediatric dentists, orthodontists and pediatricians. Emphasis on growth and development to support readers in their important role as pediatric oral physicians. Fully reviewed and rewritten to provide the latest thinking on dental caries, restorative pediatric dentistry, children with special needs, oral medicine, trauma, and dental anomalies. Readily accessible and written in a friendly 'how to' manner for use chairside. Full colour illustrations throughout. ''Clinical Hints' boxes to act as useful aide-mémoires.

Book cover of Orthodontic Handbook for Dental Assistants

[Ebook] Orthodontic Handbook for Dental Assistants

This handbook covers the basic knowledge of orthodontics and orthodontic treatment necessary for dental assistants, presented with photographs and illustrations that will make topics easy to understand. Each chapter begins with learning objectives and ends with a quiz so that readers can get the most out of the materials presented. Topics include the many types of oral conditions and malocclusion that dental assistants may come across and strategies to correct them, interacting with patients of different ages and levels of oral hygiene, and all of the different tools and appliances that will be used on a daily basis. This practical manual is invaluable not only for students but for practicing dental assistants and hygienists who want a concise and useful guide to reference in their work.