Websites can be a good source of information when used carefully.
Searching Google effectively can help you locate factsheets, reports, newsletters from a wide range government sites and well as care and support and advocacy organisations.
This website assists and encourages informed decision making, research and discussion within governments and the community, by providing objective and responsive national statistical information.
Information centres for older people, people with disabilities and those who provide care and services. Centres provide free and confidential information on community aged care, disability and other support services available locally, interstate or anywhere within Australia.
Funded by the Australian Government, Dementia Training Australia aims to improve the quality of care and support provided to people living with dementia and their families.
The TGA is a division of the Australian Government Department of Health, and is responsible for regulating therapeutic goods including medicines, medical devices, blood and blood products.
The Department of Human Services website is a convenient, single entry point for health, social and welfare payments and services and has an Older Australians page.
Offers advice and entitlements for war veterans, including health and accommodation services, housing support, commemorative activities, and information on issues relevant to veterans and war widows.
A national service that aims to support both consumers and home care providers to work together to implement Consumer Directed Care in Home Care Packages.
The NRVs are a set of recommendations for nutritional intake based on currently available scientific knowledge. The site includes an age-based calculator
A national body representing churches, charities and community based organisations which provide accommodation and care services to older people, people with disabilities and their carers.
A Victorian based organisation that supports the aged care sector to address the needs of elderly people from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds.
COTA Australia's focus is on national policy issues and through research and consultation it represents the views of older Australians. It provides programs which will promote health and wellbeing, increase the participation of seniors within a community and enable enhanced quality of life. There are links to all State and Territory-based COTAs.
Provides a free, confidential and independent service that promotes and upholds the rights of older people receiving aged care services. The website contains valuable information about these rights.
HACC program provides funding for services which provide support for frail older people and their carers. These services provide basic support and maintenance for frail aged living at home and whose capacity for independent living is at risk or may be at risk of premature admission to long-term residentaial care.
A national not-for-profit organisation working in more than 260 communities across Australia. We deliver services in the areas of disability, out-of-home care, aged care, mental health and support for refugee and asylum seekers.
A representative body of peak national organisations in aged care, including consumer groups, providers, unions and health professionals, working together to determine a more positive future for aged care in Australia.
NARI has for the past four decades been bringing research to life to improve health outcomes and aged care practice as well as to guide policy to invest in solutions for positive ageing for Australia's older people.
Our vision is a world where older people are respected, healthy and included.
This institute from the USA provides leadership in aging research and dissemination of health information and programs relevant to aging and older people.
This website lists areas of interest for senior citizens. Links are made available to Government Departments including Centrelink as well as health and hobby interests for seniors.
Carers Australia is the national peak body representing Australia’s carers, advocating on behalf of Australia’s carers to influence policies and services at a national level.
The statewide voice for family carers. Represents and provides support to carers in Victoria.
Their website includes a number of factsheets and other publications available for download.
Dementia Australia provide advice and strategies for common issues experienced by people suffering from dementia and memory loss, as well as carers, family and friends.
This virtual Information Centre offers resources and information on home, garden and aged care facility design and adaptation for people with dementia.
