LibGuides: Floristry: Books

Finding floristry books

Use Library Search to find relevant books available through the Library.

Search by topic/keywords

e.g. flower arranging

Search by book title/author

e.g. simple flower arranging welford

Borrowing

Up to 15 books at a time, 7 or 14 day loan, up to 12 automatic renewals per item*
* Requires no holds and current enrolment, item must be returned after 12 renewals limit reached.

Academic Reserve

These items have an AR in front of call number, 3 hour loan for use in Library only. To borrow an AR item, please ask at Library service desk.

Floristry books

Topic	Call number
Occupational health and safety	363.11
Australian native plants	581.994
Wildflowers of Australia	582.130994
Orchids of Australia	584.15
Flowers and ornamental plants	635.9
African violets and related plants	635.93381
Air plants and other bromeliads	635.93422
Indoor plants	635.965
Foliage plants	635.975
Bonsai	635.9772
Small business	658.022
Flower arranging, cut flowers	745.92
Ikebana	745.92252
Bridal flowers	745.926

Here is a list of relevant words you can use to search the Library catalogue and beyond. Select a search term below to view a list of available books and other materials from an example search via the Library:

Native Australian flowers

Wedding decorations

Wild flowers

Wreaths

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Flower Colour Theory / Flower Colour Guide by Darroch Putnam; Michael Putnam
Call Number: 745.92 PUT (Glen Waverley)
The ultimate flower-arrangement reference book from New York's 'go-to' floral designers. Features 175 arrangements that show myriad ways to combine flowers of different shades and hues, all built around classic categories including analogous, complementary, monochrome, triadic, transitional, and accent colours.
The Skill of Flower Arranging: Everything You Need to Know by Gregory Milner
Call Number: 745.92 MIL (Glen Waverley)
Filled with stunning photography and easy-to-follow diagrams detailing all aspects of flower arranging, including the symbolism of flowers, the use of colour and balance, and materials and equipment required. Basic through to advanced arrangements are covered, from vase and tabletop arrangements, through to baskets, boxes, corsages, and flowers for weddings and funerals.
Contemporary Floral Design by Judith Blacklock
Call Number: 745.92 BLA (Glen Waverley)
A comprehensive study of cut flowers in the 21st century, how they can be used and how they can been enjoyed. Explains techniques and styles and shows how it is possible to create innovative work while adhering to the classic elements and principles of design.
Bush Flowers: Australian Flowers and Foliage for Decoration and Design by Cassandra Hamilton; Michael Pavlou
Call Number: 745.92 HAM (Glen Waverley)
Covers floral arranging, decoration and design with Australian native flora and foliage. Provides over 50 plant profiles with notes on growing, cutting, conditioning, arranging and drying, with florists' insights on what makes them so special.
Flower Arranging: A Complete Guide for Beginners by Judith Blacklock
Call Number: 745.92 BLA (Glen Waverley)
From a simple arrangements to the latest cutting edge contemporary designs, this guide contains all the information you need to get you there.
Floristry: A Step-by-Step Guide by Judith Blacklock; Lesley Young
Call Number: 745.92 BLA (Glen Waverley)
The 'how to' manual for flower arranging. Step by step guides from the basics of wiring techniques through to more advanced floristry design work.
Flower Arranging: A Complete Guide to Creative Floral Arrangements by Fiona Barnett
Call Number: 745.92 BAR (Glen Waverley)
Teaches the full range of flower arranging techniques from the very simple to the elaborate.
The Ultimate Floral Collection: A Celebration of Flower Design by Paula Pryke
Call Number: 745.92 PRY (Glen Waverley)
A comprehensive flower design bible, covering every aspect of the art of flower arranging. Easy-to-follow step-by-step projects and stunning arrangements provide inspiration for budding florists. Packed with hints and tips and is guaranteed to inspire.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

What Cut Flower is That?: The Essential Care and Handling Guide For Cut Flower Professionals (2nd ed.) by Delwyn Thomas; Bettina Gollnow
Call Number: 745.92 THO :2 (Glen Waverley)
Contains everything the successful florist needs to know about sourcing, buying, storing, preparing and selling flower and foliage products. Includes the common and botanical names, availability, vase life, stem length, typical bunch size, colour range, buying tips, care and handling, floral preservatives, ethylene sensitivity, storage temperature, design uses in floristry and special advice.
Caring for Cut Flowers by Rod Jones
Call Number: 745.92 JON (Glen Waverley)
Shows florists and growers how to make cut flowers last longer.
Flowers: Selecting, Arranging, Caring by Gregory Milner
Call Number: 745.92 MIL (Glen Waverley)
Presents information on fresh cut flowers: how to grow, cut, care and preserve them.
Bush Flowers: Australian Flowers and Foliage for Decoration and Design by Cassandra Hamilton; Michael Pavlou
Call Number: 745.92 HAM (Glen Waverley)
Covers floral arranging, decoration and design with Australian native flora and foliage. Provides over 50 plant profiles with notes on growing, cutting, conditioning, arranging and drying, with florists' insights on what makes them so special.
Buying and Arranging Cut Flowers: The Essential A-Z Guide by Judith Blacklock
Call Number: 745.92 BLA (Glen Waverley)
An A-Z guide to the most popular flowers used in flower arranging. It covers over 130 flowers showing their botanical and common name plus form, color, length of stem and the seasons each one is available.Included are tips on buying quality flowers along with special features such as whether the flower is fragrant or poisonous.In addition to the flowers there are over 100 types of foliage commonly used in arrangements.
Cut Flowers : A Practical Guide to their Selection and Care (4th ed.) by Susan Whale
Call Number: 745.92 WHA :4 (Glen Waverley)
A quick reference guide to over 160 fresh cut flowers including care instructions, flower availability, colour range and vase life. Arranged in alphabetical order of botanical names there is also an index of common names to help you find your favourite flower.
Flowers A to Z: A Practical Guide to Buying, Growing, Cutting, Arranging by Cecelia Heffernan; T. K. Hill (Illustrator)
Call Number: 635.96 HEF (Glen Waverley)
Offers information about buying, cutting, arranging, growing and caring for all types of flowers.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Wedding Flowers: Exceptional Floral Design for Exceptional Occassions by Paula Pryke
Call Number: 745.926 PRY (Glen Waverley)
Showcases the work of one of today's most highly regarded floral designers. Paula Pryke leads you through every decision, from the choice of a theme to the selection of individual flower varieties, offering a wealth of ideas along the way.
Wedding Flowers: A Complete Illustrated Guide to Ideas for Bouquets, Ceremony Décor, and Reception Centerpieces by Sharon Naylor
Call Number: 745.926 NAY (Glen Waverley)
This book provides inspiration, ideas and know-how for all things bridal flowers. Covers what's on a floral shopping list, the smarts of in-season flowers, matching flowers to formality and location, and where to go to get flowers and/or guidance and arrangements.
Beautiful Wedding Flowers : More than 300 Corsages, Bouquets, and Centerpieces by Diane Wagner
Call Number: 745.926 WAG (Glen Waverley)
A guide to creating flower arrangements for weddings, it presents 350 designs for adorning an entire wedding party and accenting the reception, as well as advice on balancing aromas, hand-tying bouquets, and even building a floral canopy.
Wedding Flowers by Antonia Swinson
Call Number: 745.926 SWI (Glen Waverley)
An inspiring visual reference for bridal flowers: flowers for the Bride, bridesmaids, boutonnieres and corsages, and flowers for the reception.
Seasonal Wreaths and Bouquets by Paula Pryke
Call Number: 745.92 PRY (Glen Waverley)
Arranged seasonally, the book shows how to create bouquets and wreaths for specific events and special occasions throughout the year, including Valentine's Day, Mother's Day, Christmas and Weddings.
Stylish Weddings by Jenny Doh
Call Number: 745.5941 DOH (Glen Waverley)
Quick, simple, and stunning items to make from top designers, including invitations, table settings, favours, decorations, and gifts for the bridal party. Six signature themes to choose from.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Ikebana: The Zen Way of Flowers by Yuji Ueno
Call Number: 745.92252 UEN (Glen Waverley)
It's all about light, texture, color, shape and balance! This book shows you how to use light and position as well as color, shape and texture - of both flowers and vessel -to make inexpensive floral arrangements that convey a Zen sense of simplicity, calm and balance.
Essential Ikebana by Leonard Lim
Call Number: 745.92252 LIM (Glen Waverley)
Presents the Japanese art of flower arrangement. It introduces the various styles of ikebana and provides step-by-step instructions for everyday and special occasion arrangements.
Keiko's Ikebana by Keiko Kubo
Call Number: 745.92252 KUB (Glen Waverley)
Combines traditional techniques with modern tastes. Presents step-by-step instructions for creating 20 stunning ikebana arrangements in a range of sizes and styles. Also includes an introduction to the history of ikebana, as well as a guide to the basic rules of design and floral techniques.
Zen Flowers: Contemplation Through Creativity by Harumi Nishi
Call Number: 745.92252 NIS (Glen Waverley)
All the universe is contained within a flower. This is the essence of Zen-Buddhism and also this book, a quest for peace and serenity. Each chapter includes a detailed explanation of the meaning of each concept as well as display ideas ranging from simple to complex.