Use Library Search to find relevant books available through the Library.
|
Search by topic / key words e.g. histology |
Search by book title / author e.g. textbook of histology gartner |
Need help? Please visit our Library Search guide.
Borrowing: Up to ten books at a time, 7 or 14 day loan, unlimited automatic renewals unless an hold has been placed.
Academic Reserve: These items have an AR in front of call number, 3 hour loan for use in Library only. To borrow an AR item, please ask at Library desk.
| Topic | Call Number |
|---|---|
| Chemistry | 540 |
| Biology | 570 |
| Biochemistry | 572 |
| Microbiology | 579 |
| Histology | 611.018 |
| Anatomy & Physiology | 612 |
| Pathology | 616.07 |
| Phlebotomy | 616.07561 |
| Immunology | 616.079 |
|
ECG Hematology |
616.1207547 616.15 |
Communication by
The third edition of Communication: Core Interpersonal Skills for Health Professionals is an essential guide to clear and effective communication in a multidisciplinary healthcare setting. Divided into four sections, the title takes the reader on a journey of reflection upon personal communication styles and habits. Essential communication strategies and skills are reviewed to rebuild and enhance future practice. The fully revised third edition will appeal to the health student and practitioner seeking to improve communication style and practice in an increasingly complex healthcare environment. Individual and group activities integrated throughout, designed to promote communication skill, reflection and awareness Key communication challenges addressed - conflict, cultural variations, misunderstandings, ethical issues, communicating over distances, written documentation and electronic forms of communication including social networking sites Updated online evolve resources for lecturers and students at evolve.elsevier.com Updated illustrations New chapter focusing solely on electronic communication - the advantages and disadvantages plus strategies for appropriate use of social media New chapter exploring the importance of 'one way' documentation, professional writing and conduct New scenarios and activities - 49 scenarios present realistic situations and individuals that health professionals encounter, encouraging the reader to actively explore circumstances and needs
Communication Skills for the Healthcare Professional by
Communication Skills for the Healthcare Professional is a comprehensive yet compact guide to learning essential communication skills that will prepare students for success as healthcare professionals. Intended to supplement the clinical coursework students complete in the first one to two years of all allied health programs, the book uses a broad range of examples, role plays, and scenarios from virtually every healthcare field, enabling both instructors and students to use it as an essential resource for mastering any area-specific communication skill. Each chapter provides students with objective and short-answer questions to test comprehension of the material, as well as more complex clinical applications that encourage students to develop the critical thinking skills they will need every day as professionals in the healthcare industry.
Communication Skills in Nursing, Health and Social Care by
Our ability to communicate is a key part of everyday life and is an essential skill, particularly when communicating with vulnerable people in a health and social care setting.Presented in a unique and easy-to-use dictionary format, this practical guide will help students and practitioners understand and apply the principles of effective communication. From the 'how to' practicalities through to challenges and honing existing skills, this book will ensure they have the confidence and knowledge to communicate skilfully and successfully in many different contexts and settings.The new edition features: New chapter entries covering empathy, documentation and simulation Group exercises added in each chapter New information on National Accessible Information Standards on learning difficulties Essential reading for anyone working in the helping professions for whom good communication skills are an essential part of their role.
Communicating in the Health Sciences, Third Edition by
Communicating in the Health Sciences introduces students to the nature and importance of communication in the health sciences, with comprehensive coverage of all the written, electronic, visual and interpersonal communication skills essential for professions in the health sciences. This new edition has been completely restructured with a more logical flow, building skills and giving students the best access to information.NEW TO THIS EDITIONNew Structure: This edition has been completely restructured so that it flows more logically. Part 1 and Part 2 cover the communication skills required in an academic/tertiary setting. Part 3 and Part 4 cover the communication skills required when communicating with colleagues, patients/clients and carers in a professional environment. Part 5 covers more advanced professional communication skills - thesis writing, writing papers for journals and preparing posters.New chapter on 'Digital Communication in a Networked World'.New pedagogical features: key terms and margin note definitions.
Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Phlebotomy Essentials by
Ensure a confident transition from classroom to clinic with this proven, approachable phlebotomy resource. Phlebotomy Essentials, Seventh Edition easily instills the core knowledge and clinical understanding behind safe, effective patient communication and interaction.Enhanced with new images, a more efficient design, and new contributions from leading subject matter experts, this updated edition details how today's phlebotomists work in an approach optimized for how today's students learn. Combined with an optional Workbook, Exam Review book, and updated digital courseware, the latest edition of Phlebotomy Essentials represents a cornerstone of preparation for a successful career in phlebotomy.
Alternatively, you can access the fulltext online
Also on Academic Reserve (3 hours loan in the library only) AR 616.07561 MCC :7
Success! In Phlebotomy by
For courses preparing students for any phlebotomy certification or licensure exam. Comprehensive exam prep for phlebotomy certification and licensure SUCCESS! in Phlebotomy: A Q&A Review is a complete exam-preparation system that combines more than 850 exam-style questions with outline-style content review and interactive technology. Written by professional educators with vast experience in test writing, statistics, and cognitive assessment, the text covers all of the concepts, skills, techniques, standards, and instrumentation that students will encounter on certification and licensing exams for blood collection, specimen handling, and transportation. The 8th edition of SUCCESS! in Phlebotomy is sequenced to match the 10th and latest edition of The Phlebotomy Handbook. New! SUCCESS! in Phlebotomy: A Q&A Review is now available with Pearson Test Prep, an online practice resource with exam-style questions and detailed rationales. With Pearson Test Prep, learners can shuffle and randomize questions, test in both study and exam mode, customize exams, access test-taking tips, bookmark questions, take a pre-test that identifies strengths and weaknesses, use a built-in study planner, share results, indicate confidence levels, access a tutor, add notes to questions, and use a timer.
Phlebotomy Handbook by
For courses in phlebotomy. Most comprehensive phlebotomy guide available Phlebotomy Handbook: Blood Specimen Collection from Basic to Advanced links students and health care professionals to the latest information on safe, effective blood collection. Progressing from simple concepts to complex competencies, the text covers all of the communication, clinical, technical, and safety skills that any health care worker will use in the practice of phlebotomy and other specimen-collection procedures. The 10th edition aligns the text with entry-level competencies of the NAACLS. A DVD video library demonstrating procedures described in this text is available in Pearson's Instructor Resource Center.
Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Gould's Pathophysiology for the Health Professions by 
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by
Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
An Introduction to Human Disease: Pathology and Pathophysiology Correlations by 
Robbins and Cotran Atlas of Pathology by 
Pathology for the Health Professions by 
Robbins and Kumar Basic Pathology by Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Color Atlas and Text of Histology by 
Bancroft's Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques by Color Atlas and Text of Histology by 
Textbook of Histology by 
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, Fourteenth Edition by 
Stevens and Lowe's Human Histology by 
Histology - A Text and Atlas : with correlated cell and molecular biology by 
Histology and Cell Biology: an Introduction to Pathology by 
Wheater's Pathology: a Text, Atlas and Review of Histopathology by Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Molecular Biology of the Cell by
As the amount of information in biology expands dramatically, it becomes increasingly important for textbooks to distill the vast amount of scientific knowledge into concise principles and enduring concepts. As with previous editions, Molecular Biology of the Cell, Sixth Edition accomplishes this goal with clear writing and beautiful illustrations. The Sixth Edition has been extensively revised and updated with the latest research in the field of cell biology, and it provides an exceptional framework for teaching and learning. The entire illustration program has been greatly enhanced. Protein structures better illustrate structure-function relationships, icons are simpler and more consistent within and between chapters, and micrographs have been refreshed and updated with newer, clearer, or better images. As a new feature, each chapter now contains intriguing open-ended questions highlighting "What We Don't Know," introducing students to challenging areas of future research. Updated end-of-chapter problems reflect new research discussed in the text. Thought-provoking end-of-chapter questions have been expanded to all chapters, including questions on developmental biology, tissues and stem cells, the immune system, and pathogens.
Essential cell biology
Cells - the fundamental units of life -- Chemical components of cells -- Energy, catalysis, and biosynthesis -- Protein structure and function -- DNA and chromosomes -- DNA replication and repair -- From DNA to protein: how cells read the genome -- Control of gene expression -- How genes and genomes evolve -- Analyzing the structure and function of genes -- Membrane structure -- Transport across cell membranes -- How cells obtain energy from food -- Energy generation in mitochondria and chloroplasts -- Intracellular compartments and protein transport -- Cell signaling -- Cytoskeleton -- The cell-division cycle -- Sexual reproduction and genetics -- Cell communities: tissues, stem cells, and cancer.
The Cell: a molecular approach by
Now in its seventh edition, The Cell continues the central goal of helping students understand the principles and concepts of contemporary cell biology while gaining an appreciation of the excitement and importance of research in this rapidly moving field.
Human Molecular Genetics by
Human Molecular Genetics has been carefully crafted over successive editions to provide an authoritative introduction to the molecular aspects of human genetics, genomics and cell biology. Maintaining the features that have made previous editions so popular, this fifth edition has been completely updated in line with the latest developments in the field. Older technologies such as cloning and hybridization have been merged and summarized, coverage of newer DNA sequencing technologies has been expanded, and powerful new gene editing and single-cell genomics technologies have been added. The coverage of GWAS, functional genomics, stem cells, and disease modeling has been expanded. Greater focus is given to inheritance and variation in the context of populations and on the role of epigenetics in gene regulation. Key features: Fully integrated approach to the molecular aspects of human genetics, genomics, and cell biology Accessible text is supported and enhanced throughout by superb artwork illustrating the key concepts and mechanisms Summary boxes at the end of each chapter provide clear learning points Annotated further reading helps readers navigate the wealth of additional information in this complex subject and provides direction for further study Reorganized into five sections for improved access to related topics Also new to this edition - brand new chapter on evolution and anthropology from the authors of the highly acclaimed Human Evolutionary Genetics A proven and popular textbook for upper-level undergraduates and graduate students, the new edition of Human Molecular Genetics remains the 'go-to' book for those studying human molecular genetics or genomics courses around the world.
Practical Skills in Biomolecular Science by
If you are studying the biomolecular sciences - including biochemistry, biomedical sciences, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology and molecular biology - then this book will be an indispensable companion throughout the whole of your degree programme. It provides effective explanation and support for the development of a wide range of laboratory and data analysis skills that you will use time and again during the practical aspects of your studies. This book also gives you a solid grounding in the broader transferable skills, which are increasingly necessary to achieve a high level of academic success.
Biology of Plants by
Long acclaimed as the definitive introductory botany text, Raven Biology of Plants, Eighth Edition by Ray Evert, Susan Eichhorn, stands as the most significant revision in the book's history. Every topic was updated with information obtained from the most recent primary literature, making the book valuable for both students and professionals.
Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Introduction General Organic and Biochemistry by
Gain a comprehensive understanding of chemistry and see how it relates to health science with INTRODUCTION TO GENERAL, ORGANIC, AND BIOCHEMISTRY. This bestseller features dynamic art, interesting examples, coverage of the latest issues, and a wide variety of medical and biological applications. As you explore topics such as botulin toxin as a cosmetic agent, implications for the use of antibiotics, and ultraviolet sunscreen, you will see how useful the study of chemistry is to your life. The book's built-in integration with OWLv2 (Online Web Learning) turns your chemistry study time into active experiences that build your comprehension, bring concepts to life, and help you succeed in the course.
Biochemistry by
Ideal for those studying biochemistry for the first time, this proven book balances scientific detail with readability and shows you how principles of biochemistry affect your everyday life. Designed throughout to help you succeed (and excel!), the book includes in-text questions that help you master key concepts, end-of-chapter problem sets grouped by problem type that help you prepare for exams, and state-of-the art visuals that help you understand key processes and concepts. In addition, visually dynamic "Hot Topics" cover the latest advances in the field, while "Biochemical Connections" demonstrate how biochemistry affects other fields, such as health and sports medicine. The accompanying OWL homework offers end-of-chapter problems in digital form, giving you on-demand access to hints, solutions, and other information directly related to the problem.
Biochemistry: the molecular basis of life by
Biochemistry: The Molecular Basis of Life is a one-semester text focusing on the essential biochemical principles that underpin the modern life sciences. The sixth edition offers deeper coverage of the chemistry of reactions while emphasizing the relationship between biochemistry and human biology. Equipping students with a complete view of the living state, Biochemistry: The Molecular Basis of Life emphasizes problem solving and applies biochemical principles to the fields of health, agriculture, engineering, and forensics. It strikes the perfect balance of biology and chemistry coverage, consistently placing biochemical principles into the context of the physiology of the cell and biomedical applications.
Principles Biochemistry by
The number one bestselling textbook for the introductory biochemistry course because it brings clarity and coherence to an often unwieldy discipline, offering a thoroughly updated survey of biochemistry's enduring principles, definitive discoveries, and groundbreaking new advances with each edition. This new Seventh Edition maintains the qualities that have distinguished the text since Albert Lehninger's original edition--clear writing, careful explanations of difficult concepts, helpful problem-solving support, and insightful communication of contemporary biochemistry's core ideas, new techniques, and pivotal discoveries. Again, David Nelson and Michael Cox introduce students to an extraordinary amount of exciting new findings without an overwhelming amount of extra discussion or detail. With this edition, W.H. Freeman and Sapling Learning have teamed up to provide the book's richest, most completely integrated text/media learning experience yet, through an extraordinary new online resource; SaplingPlus. See 'Instructor Resources' and 'Student Resources' for further information.
Biochemistry Laboratory by
Biochemistry laboratory training is an essential component of careers in biochemistry, molecular biology, chemistry, and related molecular life sciences such as cell biology, neurosciences, and genetics. Biochemistry Laboratory: Modern Theory and Techniques focuses on detailed descriptions of modern techniques in experimental biochemistry and discusses the theory behind such techniques in detail. An extensive range of techniques discussed includes Internet databases, chromatography, spectroscopy, and recombinant DNA techniques such as molecular cloning and PCR. The Second Edition introduces cutting-edge topics such as membrane-based chromatography, adds new exercises and problems throughout, and offers a completely updated Companion Website. KEY TOPICS: Introduction to the Biochemistry/Molecular Biology Laboratory; Using the Computer and Internet for Research in Biochemistry; General Laboratory Procedures; Centrifugation Techniques in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology; Purification and Analysis of Biomolecules by Chromatography; Characterization of Proteins and Nucleic Acids by Electrophoresis; Spectroscopic Analysis of Biomolecules; Biomolecular Interactions: Ligand Binding and Enzyme Reacations; Molecular Biology I: Structures and Analysis of Nucleic Acids; Molecular Biology II: Recombinant DNA, Molecular Cloning and Enzymology; Protein Production, Purification, and Characterization. MARKET: A useful reference for professionals in biochemistry, molecular biology, chemistry, and related molecular life sciences such as cell biology, neurosciences, and genetics.
Biochemistry: essential concepts by
One-semester biochemistry courses are notorious for overwhelming students with the magnitude of material covered in their texts and lectures. Biochemistry: Essential Concepts distills the basic ideas covered in a one-semester course without the extraneous details that burden most texts.Authors Charles Hardin and James Knopp demonstrate the core concepts of biochemistry - including cell biology, amino acids, metabolism, and DNA - in a variety of real-world contexts. With the last forty percent of the text devoted to review questions and practice tests, Biochemistry: EssentialConcepts equips students for success in the one-semester biochemistry course and prepares them for their future studies and careers.
Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Introduction to General, Organic, and Biochemistry by
Gain a comprehensive understanding of chemistry and see how it relates to health science with INTRODUCTION TO GENERAL, ORGANIC, AND BIOCHEMISTRY. This bestseller features dynamic art, interesting examples, coverage of the latest issues, and a wide variety of medical and biological applications. As you explore topics such as botulin toxin as a cosmetic agent, implications for the use of antibiotics, and ultraviolet sunscreen, you will see how useful the study of chemistry is to your life. The book's built-in integration with OWLv2 (Online Web Learning) turns your chemistry study time into active experiences that build your comprehension, bring concepts to life, and help you succeed in the course.
Chemistry by
Chang's best-selling general chemistry textbook takes a traditional approach and is often considered a student and teacher favorite. The book features a straightforward, clear writing style and proven problem-solving strategies. It continues the tradition of providing a firm foundation in chemical concepts and principles while presenting a broad range of topics in a clear, concise manner. The tradition of Chemistry has a new addition with co-author, Kenneth Goldsby from Florida State University, adding variations to the 12th edition. The organization of the chapter order has changed with nuclear chemistry moving up in the chapter order.
Chemistry for Today by
Develop the problem-solving and critical-thinking skills you need to succeed in your course and allied health career with CHEMISTRY FOR TODAY: GENERAL, ORGANIC, AND BIOCHEMISTRY, Ninth Edition. The book's accessible writing style and real-life applications and case studies will help you appreciate the role that chemistry plays in your daily life and help dispel any fear you may have of chemistry. In addition, the book's examples of chemistry questions found on allied health professional program entrance examinations and the career information provided on the companion website will help you set goals and focus on achieving them. Finally, this proven text integrates online learning tools that will turn your study time into experiences with chemistry -- helping you gain a true understanding of chemical concepts.
Chemistry : an introduction to general, organic, and biological chemistry by 
Organic Chemistry by
Master organic chemistry with the help of this proven best-seller! John McMurry's ORGANIC CHEMISTRY is consistently praised as the most clearly written book available for the course. In John McMurry's words: "I wrote this book because I love writing. I get great pleasure and satisfaction from taking a complicated subject, turning it around until I see it clearly from a new angle, and then explaining it in simple words." Through his lucid writing and ability to show the beauty and logic of organic chemistry, McMurry makes learning enjoyable. The highest compliment that can be given to a chemistry book applies to McMurry: It works!
Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Tietz Textbook of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics by
The Tietz Textbook of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics, 6th Edition provides the most current and authoritative guidance on selecting, performing, and evaluating the results of new and established laboratory tests. This classic clinical chemistry reference offers encyclopedic coverage of the field that defines analytical criteria for the medical usefulness of laboratory procedures, introduces new approaches for establishing reference ranges, describes variables that affect tests and results, examines modern analytical tools and their impact on laboratory management and costs, and demonstrates the applications of statistical methods. It is THE definitive reference in clinical chemistry, now fully searchable and with quarterly content updates, podcasts, and extended content online through Expert Consult. Analytical criteria focus on the medical usefulness of laboratory procedures. Reference ranges show new approaches for establishing these ranges - and provide the latest information on this topic. Lab management and costs gives students and chemists the practical information they need to assess costs, allowing them to do their job more efficiently and effectively. Statistical methods coverage provides you with information critical to the practice of clinical chemistry. Internationally recognized chapter authors are considered among the best in their field. Two-color design highlights important features, illustrations, and content to help you find information easier and faster. NEW! Internationally recognized chapter authors are considered among the best in their field. NEW! Expert Consult features fully searchable text, quarterly content updates, clinical case studies, animations, podcasts, atlases, biochemical calculations, multiple-choice questions, links to Medline, an image collection, and audio interviews. You will now enjoy an online version making utility of this book even greater. UPDATED! Expanded Molecular Diagnostics section with 12 chapters that focus on emerging issues and techniques in the rapidly evolving and important field of molecular diagnostics and genetics ensures this text is on the cutting edge and of the most value. NEW! Comprehensive list of Reference Intervals for children and adults with graphic displays developed using contemporary instrumentation. NEW! Standard and international units of measure make this text appropriate for any user - anywhere in the world. NEW! 22 new chapters that focus on applications of mass spectrometry, hematology, transfusion medicine, microbiology, biobanking, biomarker utility in the pharmaceutical industry and more! NEW! Expert senior editors, Nader Rifai, Carl Wittwer and Rita Horvath, bring fresh perspectives and help ensure the most current information is presented. UPDATED! Thoroughly revised and peer-reviewed chapters provide you with the most current information possible.
Clinical Chemistry by
The most student-friendly clinical chemistry text available today, this fully updated Eighth Edition keeps students at the forefront of what continues to be one of the most rapidly advancing areas of laboratory medicine.With clear explanations that balance analytic principles, techniques, and correlation of results with coverage of disease states, the book not only demonstrates the how of clinical testing, but also the what, why, and when of testing correlations to help students develop the knowledge and interpretive and analytic skills they'll need in their future careers.Comprehensive and easy to understand, the Eighth Edition now features an entirely new chapter, new and updated learning aids, and an unparalleled suite of teaching and learning resources.
Clinical Biochemistry by
Now over 70,000 copies sold! This comprehensively revised edition of Clinical Biochemistry offers essential reading for today's students of medicine and other health science disciplines - indeed, anyone who requires a concise, practical introduction to the subject. Topics are clearly presented in a series of double-page 'learning units', each covering a particular aspect of clinical biochemistry. Four sections provide a core grounding in the subject: Introducing clinical biochemistry gives an insight into how modern hospital laboratories work, and includes an entirely new series of learning units on the interpretation of test results Core biochemistry covers the bulk of routine analyses, and their relevance to the clinical setting Endocrinology provides an overview of endocrine investigations as well as a practical approach to thyroid, adrenal, pituitary and gonadal function testing Specialised investigations embraces an assortment of other topics that students may encounter This edition represents the most radical revision of the book to date. Every learning unit has been examined and updated to reflect current developments and clinical best practice. Entirely new material includes a series of learning units on interpretation and analytical aspects of clinical biochemistry. Coverage of fluid biochemistry is now more comprehensive. New "Want to know more?" links throughout the book point readers to relevant further information. (Printed version) now includes the complete eBook version for the first time - downloadable for anytime access and enhanced with new, interactive multiple choice questions for each section, to test your understanding and aid exam preparation
Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Principles of Instrumental Analysis by
PRINCIPLES OF INSTRUMENTAL ANALYSIS, 7th Edition, places an emphasis on operating principles of each type of instrument, its optimal area of application, its sensitivity, its precision, and its limitations. You'll also learn about elementary analog and digital electronics, computers, and the treatment of analytical data. The book companion website has supplemental tutorials on instrumental methods, Excel files of data analysis and simulations of analytical techniques to help you visualize important concepts in this course, and selected papers from the chemical literature to stimulate interest and provide background information for study.
Undergraduate Instrumental Analysis by
Crucial to research in molecular biology, medicine, geology, food science, materials science, and many other fields, analytical instrumentation is used by many scientists and engineers who are not chemists. Undergraduate Instrumental Analysis, Seventh Edition provides users of analytical instrumentation with an understanding of these instruments, covering all major fields of modern instrumentation. Following the tradition of earlier editions, this text is designed for teaching undergraduates and those with no analytical chemistry background how contemporary analytical instrumentation works, as well as its uses and limitations. Each chapter provides a discussion of the fundamental principles underlying the techniques, descriptions of the instrumentation, and numerous applications. The chapters also contain updated bibliographies and problems, and most have suggested experiments appropriate to the techniques. This completely revised and updated edition covers subjects in more detail, such as a completely revised x-ray chapter, expanded coverage of electroanalytical techniques, and expansion of chromatography and mass spectrometry topics to reflect the predominance of these instruments in laboratories. This includes state-of-the-art sample introduction and mass analyzers, and the latest developments in UPLC and hyphenated techniques. The book also contains new graphics and addresses several new topics: Ion mobility spectrometry Time domain NMR (relaxometry) Electron spin resonance spectroscopy (ESR, EPR) Forensic science and bioanalytical applications Microcalorimetry and optical thermal instruments Laser-induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS) This text uniquely combines instrumental analysis with organic spectral interpretation (IR, NMR, and MS). It provides detailed coverage of sampling, sample handling, sample storage, and sample preparation. In addition, the authors have included many instrument manufacturers' websites, which contain extensive resources.
Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Campbell Biology : Australia and New Zealand
Biology : an Australian focus by
"Biology: An Australian focus reflects on worldwide biological research and knowledge to provide a global outlook with Australian examples and cases woven throughout. Students are able to connect with what they're learning and better understand Australian flora/fauna and most importantly ecology & ecosystems, using this accessible and engaging learning resource. Available in a traditional textbook form or as a SmartBook, this fifth edition combines authoritative, peer-reviewed content with superior educational technology. Including a Connect package with interactive activities, animations,conceptual testbank and a full suite of instructor resources, and a newly developed, fully localised LearnSmart for a truly adaptive and personalised learning experience. The rich pedagogical layout layout of this text adds to the accessibility of the Biology: An Australian focus learning package. As well as Concept Checks to provide students with the essential takeaway points for each section and help with exam revision, this edition also includes; Self-Assessment and Review and Analysis to test the students' understanding; Evaluation and Application to develop and test critical evaluation skills; and boxed case studies separated into Research, Application, Hot Topics and Focus features, to delve deeper into topics. Biology: An Australian focus offers a complete learning package for all Australian biology students"--Publisher's summary.
Biology by
So you plan on majoring in Biology. Why wouldn't you want to use what's been described as the best majors' text for learning the subject? That's what you get with Solomon, Martin, Martin and Berg's BIOLOGY. Working like a built-in study guide, the integrated learning system guides you through the material, starting with key concepts for each chapter and learning objectives for each section. Check your grasp of key points before moving on by answering Checkpoint questions at the end of each section. Reinforce your understanding of the learning objectives with chapter summaries, followed by the opportunity to test your new knowledge. To further help you "get it," the eleventh edition uses themes--among others, the evolution of life and the inter-relationship of structure and function--as well as interactive online and multimedia resources. Ready to go for it? Then go for BIOLOGY.
Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library
Microbiology and infection control for health professionals by 
Infection control manual for healthcare professionals by Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Microbiology by
BIOS Instant Notes in Microbiology, Fourth Edition, is the perfect text for undergraduates looking for a concise introduction to the subject, or a study guide to use before examinations. Each topic begins with a summary of essential facts-an ideal revision checklist-followed by a description of the subject that focuses on core information, with clear, simple diagrams that are easy for students to understand and recall in essays and exams. 　 BIOS Instant Notes in Microbiology, Fourth Edition, is fully up-to-date and covers: The Microbial World Systematics Microbiology Microbial Growth Microbial Metabolism Prokaryotic DNA and RNA Metabolism Industrial Microbiology Eukaryotic Microbes: An Overview The Fungi and Related Phyla Archaeplastida, Excavata, Chromalveolata and Amoebozoa The Viruses
Microbiology : a laboratory manual by Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Laboratory Safety for Chemistry Students by
Provides knowledge and models of good practice needed by students to work safely in the laboratory as they progress through four years of undergraduate laboratory work Aligns with the revised safety instruction requirements from the ACS Committee on Professional Training 2015 "Guidelines and Evaluation Procedures for Bachelor's Degree Programs" Provides a systematic approach to incorporating safety and health into the chemistry curriculum Topics are divided into layers of progressively more advanced and appropriate safety issues so that some topics are covered 2-3 times, at increasing levels of depth Develops a strong safety ethic by continuous reinforcement of safety; to recognize, assess, and manage laboratory hazards; and to plan for response to laboratory emergencies Covers a thorough exposure to chemical health and safety so that students will have the proper education and training when they enter the workforce or graduate school
Basic Bioscience Laboratory Techniques by
This unique, practical, pocket-sized guide and reference providesevery first year bioscience student with all they need to know toprepare reagents correctly and perform fundamental laboratorytechniques. It also helps them to analyse their data and presenttheir findings, in addition to directing the reader, via acomprehensive list of references, to relevant further reading All of the core bioscience laboratory techniques are coveredincluding: basic calculations and the preparation of solutions;aseptic techniques; microscopy techniques; cell fractionation ;spectrophotometry; chromatography of small and large molecules:electrophoresis of proteins and nucleic acids and data analysis. Inaddition the book includes clear, relevant diagrams and workedexamples of calculations. In short, this is a 'must-have' for all first year biosciencestudents struggling to get to grips with this vitally importantelement of their course.
Biochemistry Laboratory: modern theory and techniques by
Biochemistry laboratory training is an essential component of careers in biochemistry, molecular biology, chemistry, and related molecular life sciences such as cell biology, neurosciences, and genetics. Biochemistry Laboratory: Modern Theory and Techniques focuses on detailed descriptions of modern techniques in experimental biochemistry and discusses the theory behind such techniques in detail. An extensive range of techniques discussed includes Internet databases, chromatography, spectroscopy, and recombinant DNA techniques such as molecular cloning and PCR. The Second Edition introduces cutting-edge topics such as membrane-based chromatography, adds new exercises and problems throughout, and offers a completely updated Companion Website. KEY TOPICS: Introduction to the Biochemistry/Molecular Biology Laboratory; Using the Computer and Internet for Research in Biochemistry; General Laboratory Procedures; Centrifugation Techniques in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology; Purification and Analysis of Biomolecules by Chromatography; Characterization of Proteins and Nucleic Acids by Electrophoresis; Spectroscopic Analysis of Biomolecules; Biomolecular Interactions: Ligand Binding and Enzyme Reacations; Molecular Biology I: Structures and Analysis of Nucleic Acids; Molecular Biology II: Recombinant DNA, Molecular Cloning and Enzymology; Protein Production, Purification, and Characterization. MARKET: A useful reference for professionals in biochemistry, molecular biology, chemistry, and related molecular life sciences such as cell biology, neurosciences, and genetics.
Nurse's Quick Reference to Common Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by
Understand the nurse's role in performing, evaluating, or assisting with lab and diagnostic tests with Nurse's Quick Reference to Common Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests, 6e . Using a consistent, easy-to-use format, this full color, portable quick reference provides an alphabetical listing of common laboratory and diagnostic tests, along with nursing interventions. The book offers a unique focus on the nurse's role at every stage in the process, including pre-test, intra-test, and post-test periods. An alphabetical listing of common laboratory and diagnostic tests gives you fingertip access to key information. A full color standard format for each test makes finding specific information quick and easy. Free resources for instructors, including the fully searchable text online for on-the-go access.
The laboratory : a science reference and preparation manual for schools by 
Biological Safety by
Biological safety and biosecurity protocols are essential to the reputation and responsibility of every scientific institution, whether research, academic, or production. Every risk--no matter how small--must be considered, assessed, and properly mitigated. If the science isn't safe, it isn't good. Now in its fifth edition, Biological safety: Principles and Practices remains the most comprehensive biosafety reference. Led by editors Karen Byers and Dawn Wooley, a team of expert contributors have outlined the technical nuts and bolts of biosafety and biosecurity within these pages. This book presents the guiding principles of laboratory safety, including: the identification, assessment, and control of the broad variety of risks encountered in the lab; the production facility; and, the classroom. Specifically, Biological Safety covers protection and control elements--from biosafety level cabinets and personal protection systems to strategies and decontamination methods administrative concerns in biorisk management, including regulations, guidelines, and compliance various aspects of risk assessment covering bacterial pathogens, viral agents, mycotic agents, protozoa and helminths, gene transfer vectors, zooonotic agents, allergens, toxins, and molecular agents as well as decontamination, aerobiology, occupational medicine, and training A resource for biosafety professionals, instructors, and those who work with pathogenic agents in any capacity, Biological safety is also a critical reference for laboratory managers, and those responsible for managing biohazards in a range of settings, including basic and agricultural research, clinical laboratories, the vivarium, field study, insectories, and greenhouses.
Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Clinical Hematology Atlas by
Learn how to accurately identify cells at the microscope with Clinical Hematology Atlas, 6th Edition. An excellent companion to Rodak's Hematology: Clinical Principles and Applications, this award-winning atlas offers complete coverage of the basics of hematologic morphology, including examination of the peripheral blood smear, maturation of the blood cell lines, and information on a variety of clinical disorders. Vivid photomicrographs, schematic diagrams, and electron micrographs clearly illustrate hematology from normal cell maturation to the development of various pathologies so you can be certain you're making accurate conclusions in the lab. Schematic diagrams, photomicrographs, and electron micrographs in every chapter visually enhance student understanding of hematologic cellular morphology. Compact size, concise text, and spiral binding make it easy to carry and reference this atlas in the laboratory. Chapter on normal newborn peripheral blood morphology covers the normal cells found in neonatal blood. Chapter on body fluids illustrates the other fluids found in the body besides blood, using images from cytocentrifuged specimens. The most common cytochemical stains, along with a summary chart for interpretation, are featured in the leukemia chapters to assist in the classification of both malignant and benign leukoproliferative disorders. Chapter featuring morphologic changes after myeloid hematopoietic growth factors is included in the text. Morphologic abnormalities coverage in the chapters on erythrocytes and leukocytes, along descriptions of each cell, presents this information in a schematic fashion. Appendix with comparison tables of commonly confused cells includes lymphocytes versus neutrophilic myelocytes and monocytes versus reactive lymphoctyes to help students see the subtle differences between them. Glossary of hematologic terms at the end of the book provides a quick reference to easily look up definitions. NEW! Revised chapters include updates based on extensive reviewer feedback. NEW! Updated photos reflect the most up-to-date information and latest advances in the field.
Anderson's Atlas of Hematology by
Anderson's Atlas of Hematology, Third Edition is the most comprehensive atlas for the laboratory technologist. This text meets the needs of beginning hematology students in 2-year and 4-year medical laboratory science programs or students in programs learning the basics of hematology such as nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and medical students. Used as a quick reference, study guide, or atlas, this is an invaluable tool for today's laboratory technician student.The Third Edition is divided into two units. Unit One: Cell Descriptions, features three sections covering blood cells, bone marrow, and cytochemistry. For each cell type, there is a description of the cell size, nucleus, and cytoplasm as well as a list of associated clinical disorders. Unit Two: Hematologic Disorders, includes three sections dedicated to red blood cell disorders, white blood cell disorders, and miscellaneous disorders. For each disorder, there's a summary of pathology as well as clinical and laboratory features. In addition, a diagnostic scheme sets forth the relevant laboratory findings that lead to the delineation of each disorder.
Clinical Hematology by
Designed to help students develop the professional entry-level competencies they need for certification and career success, this Sixth edition of Clinical Hematology strengthens the pedagogy that set the quality benchmark for hematology and includes the current, competency-based content needed by MLT and MLS students.In addition to state-of-the-art content, many, fully developed case studies with critical thinking discussion questions, and a strong emphasis on emerging molecular diagnostics and genomic medicine, the 6th edition encompasses the professional knowledge guidelines recommended by ASCLS Entry Level and Professional Body of Knowledge competencies in hematology, hemostasis and coagulation, and molecular applications.Throughout the text, a logical eight-part organization, clear explanations, and multiple learning tools help students master the theory underlying clinical hematology and the procedures used to diagnose and treat disorders of the blood and bone marrow.
Clinical Laboratory Hematology by
For courses in beginning and advanced hematology for MLS and MLT students. Clinical Laboratory Hematology, Third Edition, continues its stellar reputation as a comprehensive, yet reader-friendly, resource for all levels of hematology laboratory education, offering a visually engaging design and effective learning features that help students master the content. The text's teaching and learning package includes an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint presentation slides, a test bank, image bank, and a companion website with resources for both instructor and students. Teaching and Learning Experience: Designed for both MLT and MLS students, the text provides a beneficial and economical resource for laboratory science programs that offer both levels of instruction and includes a wealth of learning features. Each chapter features a consistent format with a striking visual design, making it easy for the reader to find information on each topic. Complemented by a variety of ancillary materials designed to help instructors be more efficient and effective and students more successful.
Rodak's Hematology by
Featuring hundreds of full-color photomicrographs, Hematology: Clinical Principles and Applications prepares you for a job in the clinical lab by exploring the essential aspects of hematology. It shows how to accurately identify cells, simplifies hemostasis and thrombosis concepts, and covers normal hematopoiesis through diseases of erythroid, myeloid, lymphoid, and megakaryocytic origins. This book also makes it easy to understand complementary testing areas such as flow cytometry, cytogenetics, and molecular diagnostics. Well-known authors Bernadette Rodak, George Fritsma, and Elaine Keohane cover everything from working in a hematology lab to the parts and functions of the cell to laboratory testing of blood cells and body fluid cells. Instructions for lab procedures include sources of possible errors along with comments. Case studies in each chapter provide opportunities to apply hematology concepts to real-life scenarios. Hematology instruments are described, compared, and contrasted. UPDATED, full-color illustrations make it easier to visualize hematology concepts and show what you'll encounter in the lab, with images appearing near their mentions in the text so you don't have to flip pages back and forth. Hematology/hemostasis reference ranges are listed on the inside front and back covers for quick reference. A bulleted summary makes it easy to review the important points in every chapter. Learning objectives begin each chapter and indicate what you should achieve, with review questions appearing at the end. A glossary of key terms makes it easy to find and learn definitions. NEW coverage of hematogones in the chapter on pediatric and geriatric hematology helps you identify these cells, a skill that is useful in diagnosing some pediatric leukemias. UPDATED chapter on molecular diagnostics covers new technology and techniques used in the lab.
Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Making Sense of the ECG by
Highly Commended, BMA Medical Book Awards 2015 Interpreting an ECG correctly and working out what to do next can seem like a daunting task to the non-specialist, yet it is a skill that will be invaluable to any doctor, nurse, or paramedic when evaluating the condition of a patient. Making Sense of the ECG has been written specifically with this in mind, and will help the student and more experienced healthcare practitioner to identify and answer crucial questions, including: Are these abnormalities significant? How to I distinguish between VT and SVT? Has the patient had a myocardial infarction? How do I measure the QT interval? Should I refer this patient to a cardiologist? This practical, easy-to-read and easy-to-remember guide to the ECG as a tool for diagnosis and management has been fully updated in its fourth edition to reflect the latest guidelines.
The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need by
Clear and concise, The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need has provided quick and accurate discussions on using an EKG to diagnose cardiac and non-cardiac conditions for nearly 30 years. This ninth edition is packed with full-color illustrations, real-world clinical scenarios, and step-by-step instructions--giving you the practical guidance you need to use an EKG in actual clinical settings with patients. Outlines processes for identifying and interpreting arrhythmias, myocardial infarctions, hypertrophy, atrial fibrillation, and other disorders. Features a lighthearted, lively writing style designed to be compelling and minimize confusion of principles discussed. New content added to reflect recent clinical and technological advancements. Depicts real-life clinical situations and provides important clinical context for EKG use. Advises on the dangers of over-reliance on computer interpretations and includes many other practical considerations that other books leave out. New EKG cases available in the companion eBook illustrate key concepts discussed throughout the book. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more.
Introduction to Basic Cardiac Dysrhythmias by
Introduction to Basic Cardiac Dysrhythmias, Fifth Edition, uses clear, accessible language to explain how the heart functions and how to interpret ECGs. Designed for use by the spectrum of EMS, nursing, and other healthcare professionals, the Fifth Edition provides users with the critical knowledge needed to interpret dysrhythmias and determine the appropriate treatment.The Fifth Edition includes:* Coverage of the 2015 ECC and CPR guidelines* New content on basic 12-lead ECG interpretation* Real-life ECG strips to demonstrate each concept * A variety of review tools, including 200 additional practice rhythm strips, 22 case studies, and perforated review flashcards* Numerous review quizzes with a variety of question formats, as well as dysrhythmia practice strips and crossword puzzles* A new, modern design with the same familiar, easy-to-follow feel
Electrocardiography for Healthcare Professionals by
Electrocardiography for Health Care Professionals provides ECG skills training for health care students as well as health care personnel who are interested in mastering additional skills. The text includes the essential skills needed to perform an ECG, including anatomy of the heart, basic characteristics, equipment, appropriate intervention, and other technical applications, such as Holter monitoring and stress testing. Emphasis throughout the text is placed on troubleshooting.
EKG's for Nursing Demystified by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The quick and easy way to master EKG procedures and use your knowledge in real-world situations If you're looking for a fun, fast review that boils EKGs down to the most essential, must-know points your search ends here! EKG for Nursing Demystified is a thorough yet concise overview of this medical test, complete with time-proven techniques, facsimiles of EKG strips, and numerous clinical cases. You will learn how to interpret hypertrophy and enlargement, arrhythmias, conduction blocks, Pre-excitation syndromes, myocardial infarction and more, so you have the knowledge to help your patients as a student and as a nurse once you start your career. This fast and easy guide offers: Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter A foundation in EKG topics A final exam at the end of the book A time-saving approach to performing better on an exam or at work Simple enough for a student, but comprehensive enough for a professional, EKG for Nursing Demystified is your shortcut to mastering this critical topic.
Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.
Essentials of human anatomy & physiology by 
Body Structures and Functions by
BODY STRUCTURES AND FUNCTION, 13E introduces you to the basics required for the study of the human body and how it functions. It offers a general introduction to life functions, the medical terminology, and phonetic pronunciation of terms used to describe body parts and their locations as well as a thorough overall review of human development and body processes.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology by
FUNDAMENTALS OF ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY, 4E is written specifically for learners in a one-semester introductory A&P course in the allied health field who have little or no previous knowledge of anatomy and physiology.
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes lifetime access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. For more than seventy-five years, Grant's Atlas of Anatomyhas maintained a tradition of excellence while continually adapting to meet the needs of each generation of students. The updated fifteenth edition is a visually stunning reference that delivers the accuracy, pedagogy, and clinical relevance expected of this classic atlas, with new and enhanced features that make it even more practical and user-friendly. Illustrations drawn from real specimens, presented in surface-to-deep dissection sequence, set Grant's Atlas of Anatomy apart as the most accurate reference available for learning human anatomy. These realistic representations bring structures to life and provide students with the ultimate lab resource. NEW Illustration overviews highlight the autonomic nerves to clarify nerve and muscle innervations. NEW and updated images reflect the latest clinical insights through: 15 NEW Illustrations 160 revised figures NEW and updated surface anatomy images NEW pulses photos Renowned, high-resolution, dynamically colored illustrations organized in dissection sequence enable the formation of 3-D constructs for each body region and provide detailed, realistic reference during dissection. Tables detail muscles, vessels, and other anatomic information in an easy-to-use format ideal for review and study. Enhanced medical imaging includes more than 100 clinically significant MRIs, CT images, ultrasound scans, and corresponding orientation drawings to help students confidently apply the laboratory experience to clinical rotations. Color schematic illustrations reinforce the relationships of structures and anatomical concepts in vibrant detail. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Human Biology by
"This acclaimed text explores life from a variety of levels and perspectives, including cellular/molecular, by body system, through disease, and within the environment.
The Human Body in Health and Disease - Softcover by 
The human body: an introduction for the biomedical and health sciences by
The human body is an intricate assembly of organs and systems, whose development and ongoing well-being is tightly-regulated. An understanding of these biological systems and processes is central to the biomedical and healthcare sciences - in understanding how the body works in health anddisease.The Human Body spans human physiology and anatomy, histology, cell biology, pharmacology, and genetics and immunology, to give a complete overview that forms the perfect foundation to any biomedical or healthcare science course.The book leads the reader gently into the main subject areas without overwhelming them with excessive detail. Its clear, straightforward presentation makes it easy for the reader to grasp the working knowledge they need.DT Custom-drawn artwork helps the reader to visualise the concepts being introducedDT Key points throughout reinforce the essential facts and themes being presentedDT End-of-chapter questions enable the reader to check their understanding as they progress through their courseThe Online Resource Centre to accompany The Human Body features:For lecturers:* Figures from the book in electronic format, ready to download.* A test bank of multiple choice questions, with feedback keyed to the book
Principles of anatomy and physiolog by
This book combines exceptional content and outstanding visuals for a rich and comprehensive classroom experience. This text provides you with an accurate, clearly written and expertly illustrated presentation of the structure of the human body.
