A volume in Lifespan Learning The communication and technology revolution presents each age group of adults with new expectations for learning. This book describes how education for young adults (20 to 40 years of age), persons of middle age (40 to 60 years of age) and older adults (age 60 +) can be differentiated to fulfill changing role demands emerging in response to social transformation. Developmental tasks for a society of longevity are defined including why youth should be seen as essential sources of learning for adults. Themes for each generation are school, work, family, and personal identity. The way to ensure consideration of cultural evolution and cultural preservation is for intergenerational communication to become a common obligation. Reliance on age-segregated communication is popular and comfortable because peer conversations have greater agreement and less uncertainty. However, this practice prevents reflection on views regarded as important by other age groups. When greater amounts of time are devoted to intergenerational dialogue, the usual outcomes are reciprocal learning, mutual respect, and harmony. This book identifies and elaborates the conditions of learning needed to motivate an age-integrated society.
Planning Programs for Adult Learners, Third Edition covers the development of adult education programs in clear, specific detail. This popular step-by-step guide contains information on every area of program planning for adult learners, from understanding the purpose of educational programs to obtaining suitable facilities to incorporating technology appropriately. For educators and practitioners for whom planning programs is a full-time responsibility or only a part of their jobs, as well as volunteers in a variety of organizations, will find this book to be an essential tool.
Classroom teachers are increasingly expected to teach online - creating content area courses from scratch with little support or training. But high-quality, researched-based online teaching has its own particular set of skills and expectations, and most resources are directed at college-level instructors. This no-nonsense handbook is for that busy classroom teacher, with clear techniques for planning, instruction, and assessment, as well as sections on teaching students with diverse needs and exceptionalities. Based on the author's real-life experiences as an online teacher, there are multiple examples including sample assignments across content areas, rubrics for grading, and sample scripts for parent contact as well as tips to reduce instructor workload and conduct successful live instruction.
A collection of the theories, practices, and policies of vocational education and training written by international experts The Wiley Handbook of Vocational Education and Training offers an in-depth guide to the theories, practices, and policies of vocational education and training (VET). With contributions from a panel of leading international scholars, the Handbook contains 27 authoritative essays from a wide range of disciplines. The contributors present an integrated analysis of the complex and dynamic field of VET. Drawing on the most recent research, thinking, and practice in the field, the book explores the key debates about the role of VET in the education and training systems of various nations. The Handbook reveals how expertise is developed in an age of considerable transformation in work processes, work organization, and occupational identities. The authors also examine many of the challenges of vocational education and training such as the impact of digital technologies on employment, the demand for (re)training in the context of extended working lives, the emergence of learning regions and skill ecosystems, and the professional development of vocational teachers and trainers.
This book discusses current issues in vocational and higher education and the relations between them. As well as concentrating on the well developed English-speaking countries - the UK, US, Canada, Australia and New Zealand - the book also considers important developments in continental Europe: in particular: The Bologna process in higher education The Copenhagen declaration on enhanced European co-operation in vocational education and training The development of a European qualifications framework From Vocational to Higher Education is key reading for university lecturers, those studying for higher degrees in higher education, managers and policy makers.