Building and Construction

This is an essential reference book for the small builder, architect/consultant and many others in the construction industry.

Focuses on the importance of costs of constructing projects during the different phases of the construction process. From introductory data on the construction industry and the history of construction economics, to recommended methods for cost analysis and post-contract cost control.

Designed to support the core cost planning studies covered by students of quantity surveying and construction management, it provides a platform for understanding the fundamental importance of effective cost planning practice. The principals of elemental cost planning are covered from both pre- and post- contract perspectives; the role of effective briefing and client/stakeholder engagement as best practice is also reinforced in this text.

Comprehensively addresses in a reader-friendly, accessible way the fundamentals of life-cost studies in the built environment. Replete with illustrations and examples, this innovative book provides a holistic approach to evaluation that integrates life-costing to broader social and environmental criteria.

The Rawlinsons Construction handbook is an essential reference book for the smaller builder, architect/consultant and many others in the construction industry.

An essential, easy-to-use resource for undergraduate and vocational students. The principles and processes of construction are explained with the concepts of design included where appropriate. Extensive coverage of building construction practice, techniques and regulations are included to provide the most comprehensive and easy to understand guide to building construction.

Offers students and practicing professionals the information needed to understand concepts in residential and commercial construction, architecture, and structural engineering. Ching communicates these core principles of building construction in a way that resonates with those beginning their education.

The go-to reference for professionals and students of architecture for over thirty years. The materials and methods described in this new Seventh Edition have been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest advancements in the industry.

A textbook for students and young architects, as well as engineering students who wish to broaden their study by examining the architect's point of view. It shows the principles of the main construction methods used today and illustrates this through drawings and typical generic details that can form a starting point for a particular design.

Provides a clear and concise introduction to the broad range of materials used within the construction industry and covers the essential details of their manufacture, key physical properties, specification and uses. Helps the reader to explain these concepts with the help of colour photographs and clear diagrams throughout.

Bricks are the only non-natural building material that can look back at several thousand years of history. In this volume, historical and contemporary brick edifices are featured showing the wide range of possible applications and design possibilities.

Construction Law in Australia is an authoritative and accessible text on the law relating to building and construction in Australia and now appears in its fourth edition. Ian Bailey provides succinct, yet accurate, legal statements which explain the legal and practical context in which the industry operates.

This handy pocket guide covers key legal principles which will help you to quickly understand the law and where to go for further information. The latest edition has been fully updated to provide the most current information available.

Provides building surveying and construction management students with a comprehensive understanding of contract law within the context of construction contracts, and reinforces the changes that are taking place within the construction industry. It covers the development of partnering, supply chain management, design and build and the way that the clients and professions have adapted to change in the procurement of buildings and engineering projects.

This practical resource provides all of the information necessary to efficiently execute every phase of any construction job. The book features complete details on estimating, purchasing, contract administration, team management, quality control and assurance, and other topics essential to completing a project on time and within budget.

Provides a management approach to leading projects and the effective choice and use of project management tools and techniques. This book combines best practice in construction with the theories underpinning project management and presents a wealth of practical case studies. It focuses on all construction disciplines that may manage projects. The book is of unique value to students in the later years of undergraduate courses.

This book provides strong coverage in developing and equipping the modern construction manager with the competencies and skills for both technical and business related areas. This new edition reflects current best practice, topical industry preoccupations and latest developments in courses and fundamental subjects for students.