Architectural Design

Provides, in one concise volume, the essential information needed to form the framework for the more detailed design and development of any building project. Organized largely by building type, it covers planning criteria and considerations of function and siting and provides a mass of data on spatial requirements with over 6200 diagrams. Most of the featured illustrations are dimensioned and each building type includes plans, sections, site layouts, and design details. The book also includes an extensive bibliography and detailed set of metric/imperial conversion tables.

The major handbook of planning and design data for architects and architecture students. Covering basic design data for all the major building types it is the ideal starting point for any project. For each building type, the book gives the basic design requirements and all the principal dimensional data, and succinct guidance on how to use the information and what regulations the designer needs to be aware of.

This one-stop handbook for architecture students provides step-by-step techniques for perfecting the vital skills of drawing, model making and surveying. It is a primer on the conventions of architectural representation and the use of materials. It also explains the primary elements of construction and structure from first principles, using clear diagrams and drawings.

This handy pocket guide covers key legal principles which will help you to quickly understand the law and where to go for further information. The latest edition has been fully updated to provide the most current information available.

An authoritative and accessible text on the law relating to building and construction in Australia. The author provides succinct, yet accurate, legal statements which explain the legal and practical context in which the industry operates.

As part of their day-to-day work, architects and building designers create and use a wide variety of copyright materials. This practical guide is full of real life examples and shows you how to work effectively with copyright and protect your rights.

This guide introduces the user interface and outlines fundamental skills in learning how to use the Autodesk Revit software, with a focus on the structural tools. It is highly recommended that students have experience and knowledge in structural engineering and its terminology.

Learn 2D drawing and 3D modeling from scratch using AutoCAD and AutoCAD LT 2023 and become a CAD professional. This hands-on guide will take you through everything you need to know to make the most out of this powerful tool, from a simple tour of the user interface to using advanced tools. This 3D modeling book is for design engineers, mechanical engineers, architects, and anyone working in construction, manufacturing, or similar fields. No prior knowledge of CAD or AutoCAD is necessary.

Covering all of the 2D concepts, it uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad drawing and editing tools for this popular application. Use the companion disc to set up drawing exercises and projects and see all of the book's figures in colour. Includes over 100 exercises or "mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting.

Written specifically for architects learning digital drawing for the first time or transitioning from CAD to BIM. Beginning with the building blocks of BIM, the book progresses through in-depth instructions to create both presentation drawings and construction documents. Instructions are fully illustrated.

Provides simple steps for creating AutoCAD drawings and helps you de-mystify the handy software and put the tools in AutoCAD to use. Written by an experienced AutoCAD engineer and mechanical design instructor, it assumes no previous computer-aided drafting experience as it walks you through the basics of starting projects and drawing straight lines all the way up through 3D modeling.

A guide for leveraging SketchUp for any project size, type, or style. Offers guidelines for taking SketchUp to the next level in order to incorporate it into every phase of the architectural design process. Written by a noted expert in the field, the text is filled with tips and techniques to access the power of SketchUp and its related suite of tools. This book offers a revised and updated resource for using SketchUp in all aspects of the architectural design process.

Provides an in-depth understanding of BIM technologies, the business and organizational issues associated with its implementation, and the profound advantages that effective use of BIM can provide to all members of a project team. The handbook guides readers to successful implementations, helping them to avoid needless frustration and costs and take full advantage of this paradigm-shifting approach to construct better buildings that consume fewer materials and require less time, labour, and capital resources.

Contains an easy-to-follow introduction to BIM and hands-on guidance for understanding drivers for change, the benefits of BIM, requirements you need to get started, and where BIM is headed. Written by a team of well-known experts, this friendly, hands-on guide gets you up and running with BIM fast.

The Rawlinsons Construction handbook is an essential reference book for the smaller builder, architect/consultant and many others in the construction industry.

This is an essential reference book for the small builder, architect/consultant and many others in the construction industry.

Visual guide to building construction principles, updated with the latest materials, methods, and systems. Filled with rich illustrations and in-depth content, it offers students the information needed to understand concepts in residential and commercial construction, architecture, and structural engineering.

An essential, easy-to-use resource for undergraduate and vocational students. The principles and processes of construction are explained with the concepts of design included where appropriate. Extensive coverage of building construction practice, techniques and regulations are included to provide the most comprehensive and easy to understand guide to building construction.

The go-to reference for professionals and students of architecture for over thirty years. The materials and methods described in this new Seventh Edition have been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest advancements in the industry.

Provides a clear and concise introduction to the broad range of materials used within the construction industry and covers the essential details of their manufacture, key physical properties, specification and uses. Helps the reader to explain these concepts with the help of colour photographs and clear diagrams throughout.

A comprehensive guide to building an affordable, eco-friendly and energy, plus water-efficient green home for the future. Illustrated throughout with photos, plans, charts, diagrams and useful statistics and measurements, The Sustainable House Handbook is an accessible, easy-to-follow resource for anyone planning their dream house, or thinking about how to live more sustainably.

Offers a fully illustrated guide to the theory and practice of sustainable design, including a framework and detailed strategies for designing substantively green buildings. With a focus on sustainable sites, approaching and reaching net-zero energy, low and zero-water usage, minimum-impact materials and superior indoor environmental quality, this guide explains why we need to build green, as well as green building theory and advancements in the industry.

This book provides a comprehensive reference to all aspects of a project to show you how green building concepts and principles apply throughout the design and construction process.

A handbook offering viewpoints from worldwide experts on the global nature of the sustainability movement. With an emphasis on environmental impact and occupational and consumer health and safety, the text clearly outlines how to make the most of concrete in sustainable design. It presents the most recent information about concrete's role in the green building movement, state-of-the-art methodologies, and best practices, and provides readers with diverse viewpoints on global sustainability.

A career guide for professionals in sustainable architecture, design, planning, development, and related consulting. Offers practical information on educational requirements, career options, guidance and tips, and first-hand interviews with green building professionals.