LibGuides: Horticulture, Landscaping, Conservation and Ecosystem Management: Books

Finding horticulture books

Use Library Search to find relevant books available through the Library.

Watch video tutorial to learn how

Search by topic/keywords

e.g. pest management

Search by book title/author

e.g. greenhouse pest management cloyd

Borrowing

Up to 15 books at a time, 7 or 14 day loan, automatic unlimited renewals*
* Requires no holds and current enrolment

Academic Reserve

These items have an AR in front of call number, 3 hour loan for use in Library only. To borrow an AR item, please ask at Library service desk.

Horticulture books

Topic	Call number
Urban planning	307.12 / 711.4
Occupational health and safety	363.11
Surveying	526.9
Botany	581
Feral animals	591.65
Insects	595.7
Machinery	631.3
Soil	631.4
Plant propagation	631.53
Pruning	631.542
Irrigation	631.587
Drainage	631.62
Weeds	632.58
Pest animals	632.6
Insect pests	632.7
Plant diseases and pests	632.9
Pesticides	632.95
Fruit crops	634
Gardening	635
Herbs	635.7
Flowers and ornamental plants	635.9
Biological control of pests	635.96
Plant ID and plant encyclopedias	635.03
Ground cover plants	635.964
Turf	635.9642
House plants	635.965
Roof, balcony, patio gardening	635.9671
Australian plants	635.9676
Colour and fragrance gardening	635.968
Shrubs	635.976
Trees	635.977
Bonsai	635.9772
Glasshouses	635.9823
Brickwork	691.4
Landscape design/architecture	712
Gardens and garden designs	712.6
Water features	714
Structures in landscape architecture	717

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Yates Garden Guide
Call Number: 635.0994 YAT: 44 (Glen Waverley)
Contains everything you need to know about plants, pest and diseases, garden design and much more. The most comprehensive, reliable and practical source of gardening advice, it is the essential companion for every gardener.
Let's Propagate! : A Plant Propagation Manual for Australia by Angus Stewart
Call Number: 631.53 STE (Glen Waverley)
An indispensable guide to propagation for the home gardener and the nursery professional, from first principles to the latest techniques.
The Waterwise Australian Native Garden: A Practical Guide to Garden Design, Plant Selection and Much More by Angus Stewart; AB Bishop
Call Number: 635.951 STE (Glen Waverley)
A new edition of the bestselling Australian Native Garden with an emphasis on its waterwise benefits. Includes information on the fundamentals of Australian soils, cultivation techniques, drainage, pruning, fertilising and maintenance, creating a fire-resistant garden, creating native fauna attracting gardens and growing your own bush foods. Showcases the best plants to choose and the best gardens from which to draw inspiration.
Vegetable and Fruit Gardening in Australia by Michael Pollock et al.
Call Number: 635.0994 VEG (Glen Waverley)
A definitive guide providing the latest advice and specialist tips on growing healthy and tasty fruit and vegetables in Australia.
How Plants Work: The Science Behind the Amazing Things Plants Do by Linda Chalker-Scott
Call Number: 581.1 CHA (Glen Waverley)
Why do container plants wilt when they've been regularly watered? Why did the hydrangea that thrived last year never bloom this year? Why do slugs wipe out the vegetable garden instead of eating the weeds? Plant physiology--the study of how living things function--can solve these and most other problems gardeners regularly encounter. Uncovers the mysteries of how and why plants do the things they do, and arms the home gardener with fascinating knowledge that will change the way they garden.
Principles of Horticulture by C. R. Adams; M. P. Early; K. M. Bamford
Call Number: 635 ADA :5 (Glen Waverley)
An introduction to the study of all aspects of the subject. Explains the principles that underlie the cultivation of flowers, fruits, vegetables, turf, ornamental planting in outdoors and in protected culture; commercially as well as in the garden and on the allotment.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Stories Beneath Our Feet: Exploring the Geology and Landscapes of Victoria and Surrounds by Leon Costermans; Fons VandenBerg
Call Number: 559.45945 COS (Glen Waverley)
Examines the geological origins of the diverse landscapes in South Eastern Australia. Covers the wide range of land forms, rock types and life-forms through geological time, and emphasises geological influences in ecosystems. Makes suggestions for field activities suitable for various age groups. Includes over 1870 high quality photos, digital images, geological maps, and diagrams. Has a comprehensive glossary, user-friendly indexes and other supplementary descriptive lists.
Fire Country: How Indigenous Fire Management Could Help Save Australia by Victor Steffensen
Call Number: 363.3790994 STE (Glen Waverley)
A powerful account on how the revival of cultural burning practices, and improved 'reading' of country, could help to restore our land. Developed over many generations, this knowledge shows clearly that Australia actually needs fire. Moreover, fire is an important part of a wholistic approach to the environment, and when burning is done in a carefully considered manner, this ensures proper land care and healing
Flammable Australia by Ross A. Bradstock (Editor); Jann E. Williams (Editor); Malcolm A. Gill (Editor)
Call Number: 577.2 FLA (Glen Waverley)
Fire is pivotal to the functioning of ecosystems in Australia. Conservation of its natural biodiversity requires a good understanding of scientific processes involved in the action of fire on the landscape. This book provides current knowledge in this area and its application in contemporary land management.
Wildlife Research in Australia: Practical and Applied Methods by Jordan O. Hampton; Bradley P. Smith; Helen P. Waudby; Corinne Alberthsen
Call Number: 639.90994 WIL (Glen Waverley)
Provides advice on working through applications to animal ethics committees, presents general operating procedures for a range of wildlife research methods, and details animal welfare considerations for all Australian taxa. Supports best practice research methods and helps readers navigate the institutional animal care approval process.
Restoring Disturbed Landscapes: Putting Principles into Practice by John A. Ludwig; David J. Tongway
Call Number: 333.7153 TON (Glen Waverley)
A hands-on guide for individuals and groups seeking to improve the functional capacity of landscapes. The book presents a five-step, adaptive procedure for restoring landscapes that is supported by proven principles and concepts of ecological science.
Sustainable Land Management by Justin Healey
Call Number: 333.730994 SUS (Glen Waverley)
Examines the damaging impacts of Australia's land use and agricultural activity. Over the past two centuries, as land use has intensified for a growing population in this arid land, vast areas of native vegetation have been cleared or degraded, resulting in adverse affects on biodiversity, soil and water quality and the spread of weeds, feral pests and diseases.
Effective Ecological Monitoring by David Lindenmayer; Gene E. Likens
Call Number: 363.7063 LIN (Glen Waverley, Chadstone)
Long-term research and monitoring programs are fundamental to understanding the natural environment and effectively tackling major environmental problems. Yet they are often executed very poorly and ineffectively. This book describes what makes successful and unsuccessful monitoring programs and long-term ecological research studies.
Rainforest Restoration Manual for South-Eastern Australia by Bill Peel
Call Number: 333.750994 PEE (Glen Waverley)
A definitive guide to the recovery and restoration of subtropical, warm temperate, cool temperate, gallery, dry, dry gully and littoral rainforests from south-eastern Queensland to Tasmania. Presents detailed restoration methods in 10 easy-to-follow steps, documenting the research and trials undertaken during rainforest restoration over more than two decades.
Coastal Management in Australia by Nick Harvey; Brian Caton
Call Number: 333.9170994 HAR (Glen Waverley)
This book provides the first comprehensive overview of coastal management in Australia. It demonstrates the global significance of the coast and the international imperative to manage it properly. The book focuses on the pressures being placed on the Australian coast by demonstrating the linkages between coastal processes and human impacts through an interesting series of case studies.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Guide to Introduced Pest Animals of Australia by Peter West
Call Number: 632.6 WES (Glen Waverley)
A comprehensive, practical guide to 60 introduced pest animal species present in Australia. It contains descriptive information to identify each species in the field, including distinctive physical characteristics, size, weight, coloration, diet, breeding behavior, habitat preferences, and information about footprints, dung, scats and audible animal calls. Each species profile is accompanied by practical management information, maps and high-quality photographs.
Feral Animals by Peter Turner
Call Number: 591.65 TUR (Glen Waverley)
Provides an overview of common Australian feral animals as an environmental issues affecting Australians and the environment. Outlines the cause of the issue and focuses on solutions.
Managing Australia's Pest Animals by Mike Braysher
Call Number: 632.60994 BRA (Glen Waverley)
Includes case studies of successful and unsuccessful pest management strategies and covers a range of topics, including the history of pest management, current best practice principles, and guidelines for planning and applying strategic pest management approaches to effectively reduce pest damage.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

The Essential Garden Design Workbook by Rosemary Alexander; Rachel Myers
Call Number: 712.6 ALE :3 (Glen Waverley)
The go-to guide for students, professionals and any gardener passionate about well-designed outdoor spaces. Color photograph and illustrations, garden plans, and growing information for the top fifty plants no designer should be without. You'll also find information on designing with computer-aided design (CAD), details on sustainability and biodiversity, and important advice on working with contractors.
Practical Guide to Home Landscaping by Reader's Digest
Call Number: 712.6 PRA :3 & AR 712.6 PRA (Glen Waverley)
**Also available as an open access ebook at Open Library/Internet Archive (creation of a free account required)
https://openlibrary.org/books/OL39486765M/Practical_guide_to_home_landscaping
Landscape Architecture by Gang Chen
Call Number: 712.6 CHE :3 (Glen Waverley)
It covers in detail the two major systems in planting design: formal planting design and naturalistic planting design. It has numerous line drawings and photos to illustrate concepts and principles. Through in-depth discussions of historical precedents and practical case studies, it uncovers the fundamental design principles and concepts as well as underpinning philosophy for planting design.
Garden Design Close Up by Emma Reuss
Call Number: 712.6 REU (Glen Waverley)
From modernist to Mediterranean, jungle to Japanese, this book is a font of inspiration for those looking to give their garden a contemporary makeover. Focusing on 100 real gardens of diverse types around the globe, the book provides in-depth information about contemporary styles. A tremendously detailed resource, with plenty of design inspiration and ideas as well as helpful, practical advice.
How to Plant a Garden: Design Tips, Ideas and Planting Schemes for Year-Round Interest by Matt James; Royal Horticultural Society Staff
Call Number: 635.9 JAM (Glen Waverley)
This book takes you on a structured journey through the design process, from the initial assessment of your existing space, through choosing a theme or style, to putting it all together. Learn what various plant groups can provide and how to problem-solve by selecting the right species. Understand the role that form, color, scent and texture play in the garden, and how to use focal points and accent plants for added interest.
From Concept to Form in Landscape Design by Grant W. Reid
Call Number: 712.2 REI :2 (Glen Waverley)
Examines both traditional and nontraditional methods of landscape design, providing the conceptual and philosophical foundations for ideas and their visual expression. Provides an ideal blend of inspiration and application.
Paul Bangay's Garden Design Handbook by Paul Bangay; Simon Griffiths
Call Number: 712.60994 BAN (Glen Waverley)
Explains the key for successful garden designing and construction, including how to analyse a site and its needs, how to visualise a garden and use space, and how to decide on and achieve the hard and soft landscaping best suited to a particular style. Covers every aspect of garden building from developing a ground plan, constructing a retaining wall and fitting in a swimming pool to finding a lawn substitute and drought-tolerant plants.
The Royal Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Garden Design
Call Number: 712.6 ROY (Glen Waverley)
Learn to plan, build and plant your perfect garden. Guides you through the whole creative and gardening process, learn how to visualise your ideas, choose a style, develop plans, plot, build, landscape, select the right plants, and apply the finishing touches. Plus, a look at inspirational gardens will give you lots of ideas for things to create.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants
Call Number: 635.903 ROY :4 (Glen Waverley)
Botanica: The Illustrated A-Z of Over 10,000 Garden Plants and How to Cultivate Them
Call Number: 635.03 BOT (Glen Waverley)
Richly illustrated with color detail and large-format images, this botanical alphabet offers all kinds of information about starting, caring for, reproducing and propagating plants as well as their appearance and special qualities. A glossary and an index of the English names and various synonyms allow you easy access to species and families.
Flora's Plantfinder: The Right Plants for Every Garden by Anthony Rodd; Geoff Bryant; Global Book Publishing; ABC Publishing
Call Number: 635.9 FLO (Glen Waverley)
Includes thousands of the world's most popular garden plants, covering trees and shrubs, annuals and perennials, bulbs, corms and tubers, grasses, sedges and bamboos, fruit trees, nut trees and other fruits, vegetables and herbs, climbers and creepers, cacti and succulents, orchids, ferns, palms, and cycads.
Encyclopedia of Trees and Shrubs by Michael A. Dirr
Call Number: 635.97603 DIR (Glen Waverley)
From majestic evergreens to delicate vines and flowering shrubs, it features thousands of plants and all the essential details for identification, planting, and care, plus full-color photographs showing a tree's habit in winter, distinctive bark patterns and more.
500 Plants by Angus Stewart
Call Number: 635.95194 STE (Glen Waverley)
A visual reference to 500 of the best Australian plants you can use in your garden. Showcases tried and tested plants, the popular cultivars-and the ones that won't turn up their heels and die on you. An indispensable, handy guide to creating your ideal Australian garden.
The Timber Press Guide to Succulent Plants of the World by Fred Dortort
Call Number: 635.9525 DOR (Glen Waverley)
A useful guide to the succulent varieties of the world. Includes information on each plant's native habitat, its cultivation requirements, and its horticultural potential.
Plants for Australian Dry Gardens: Water-Efficient Plants for Drought-Proof Gardening by Marcelle Nankervis; David Scott-Macnab
Call Number: 635.9525 NAN (Glen Waverley)
A plant directory of over 600 drought resistant plant species, both indigenous and exotic. Information on each plant's cultivation requirements, growth habits and preferred aspect, soil preparation and water delivery methods.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

What Garden Pest Or Disease Is That? by Judy McMaugh
Call Number: 632 MCM (Glen Waverley)
Learn how to identify common garden pests and plant diseases and how to deal with them.
Garden Pests, Diseases and Good Bugs by Denis Crawford
Call Number: 632.9 CRA (Glen Waverley)
The most comprehensive illustrated book on pests and diseases - and beneficial insects - for Australian gardeners.
The Practical Encyclopedia of Garden Pests and Diseases by Andrew Mikolajski
Call Number: 632.9 MIK (Glen Waverley)
This is an illustrated guide to common problems and how to deal with them successfully. Covers over 800 problems, pests, diseases, disorders and weeds.
Pests, Diseases and Beneficials by Francis David Hockings
Call Number: 632 HOC (Glen Waverley)
Helps the average gardener to identify and deal with those common insects and small animals (such as bugs, beetles, caterpillars, thrips and mites) that are found in every Australian garden. Includes also information on plant diseases, harmless and beneficial fungi, bacteria and viruses, physiological disorders and problems caused by horticultural mismanagement.
IPM for Gardeners: A Guide to Integrated Pest Management by Raymond A. Cloyd; Philip L. Nixon; Nancy R. Pataky
Call Number: 632.9 CLO (Glen Waverley)
Many nurseries, land-use agencies, and public gardens now require the use of IPM as an intelligent, real-world system to raise plants in an environmentally responsible manner. In IPM for Gardeners, a team of experts explains how any gardener can use IPM techniques for success at home. Authoritative, well-illustrated, and packed with case studies, this volume promises to change the way we see our gardens.
The Weed Book : Identifying and Removing Weeds and Introduced Species From Your Garden by Mark A. Wolff
Call Number: 632.5 WOL :2 (Glen Waverley)
Designed to help easily identify and understand some of our more common garden weeds. Includes a weed identification guide with colour photographs and detailed descriptions, step-by-step, illustrated guide to hand weeding methods, techniques for the safe use of chemical herbicides to control common weeds and a Glossary of botanical terms.
Weeds of the South-East: An Identification Guide for Australia by F. J. Richardson; R. G. Richardson; Rosamond Shepherd
Call Number: 632.50994 RIC :2 (Glen Waverley)
Environmental Weeds : a Field Guide for South East Australia by Kate Blood
Call Number: 632.58 BLO

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Growing Media for Ornamental Plants and Turf by Neil Black; Kevin Handreck
Call Number: 631.51 HAN :4 (Glen Waverley)
Topics covered include choosing materials for potting mixes, fertiliser, efficient use of water, drainage, salinity, turf management, soil-borne diseases, hydroponics, the preparation of soils for landscape planting, green roofs and their media requirements, and recent innovations in urban horticulture.
Soil Science and Management by Edward Plaster
Call Number: 631.4 PLA :5 (Glen Waverley)
Teaches the essentials of soils including nutrient management, best practices and relevant legal issues and government programs.
Australian Soil Fertility Manual by Fertilizer Industry Federation of Australia Staff
Call Number: 631.42 GLE :3 (Glen Waverley)
A practical manual explaining the basics of soil-plant relationships including acidity, alkalinity and salinity, nutrient contents and the principles of fertilizer use.
Soil Management: Problems and Solutions by Michael A. Fullen; John A. Catt
Call Number: 631.4 FUL (Glen Waverley)
Provides an introduction to the many problems, challenges and potential solutions facing soil management in the twenty-first century. Covering a range of topics, including erosion, desertification, salinization, soil structure, carbon sequestration, acidification and chemical pollution and the future of soil management.
Soils: An Introduction by Michael J. Singer; Donald N. Munns
Call Number: 631.4 SIN (Glen Waverley)
Provides readers with a fresh approach to the study of soils and is a must-have for anyone interested in learning about it.
Essential Soil Science: A Clear and Concise Introduction to Soil Science by Mark Ashman; Geeta Puri
Call Number: 631.4 ASH (Glen Waverley)
An excellent resource for those who need to quickly acquire a concise overview of soil science.

Here are some suggested key books to get you started. To access the full range of books, search the Library.

Sports Turf and Amenity Grasses by D. E. Aldous; I. H. Chivers
Call Number: 635.9642 ALD (Glen Waverley)
Identify grasses through keys, descriptions and photographs, detailed information on sowing, oversowing, stolonising and mowing heights. Grass performance assessments including positive and negative aspects of its use. A grass's tolerance to high temperature, frost, drought, shade, wet soil, salinity, low soil fertility, wear and close mowing is given in a table with each aspect rated. Further comments are made on how well it combines with particular grasses and on issues such as seedling vigour and sowing times.
Compendium of Turfgrass Diseases (3rd ed.) by Richard W. Smiley; Peter H. Dornoeden; Bruce B. Clarke
Call Number: 635.9642 COM :3 (Glen Waverley)
A compendia covering turfgrass diseases and disorders, diagnosis and control: Noninfectious diseases, infectious diseases caused by fungi, diseases and disorders caused by other pathogens and biotic agents, ecology and taxonomy of pathogenic fungi, disease control strategy, disease diagnosis.
Applied Turfgrass Science and Physiology by Jack Fry; Bingru Huang
Call Number: 635.9642 FRY (Glen Waverley)
Provides authoritative information and know-how that will keep any turf area in optimal condition. An overview of turfgrasses, the characteristics of different varieties, plant responses to drought, temperature extremes and shade stresses as well as a review of the latest information on irrigation, mowing, fertilization, cultivation, and plant growth regulators and bio-stimulants.
Pest Management of Turfgrass for Sport and Recreation by Gary Beehag; Jyri Kaapro; Andrea Manners
Call Number: 635.9642 BEE (Glen Waverley)
An industry reference for the identification of pests affecting the roots, stems and leaves of turfgrass and control of these species through integrated pest management. Includes distribution, ecology and biology of pests and how to monitor them. The IPM approach outlined includes natural environmental controls, beneficial and predatory species of arthropods, resistant cultivars and insecticidal and miticidal pesticides.
Managing Healthy Sports Fields by Paul D. Sachs
Call Number: 635.9642 SAC (Glen Waverley)
This text aims to liberate the modern turf manager from dependency on chemical treatments through suggestions you can adapt to specific field types, climatic zones, and desired appearance. Offers safety for people and animals, as well as longevity for the land, without sacrificing the quality of the turf itself. Covers the basics of soil fertility, composting, methods of soil analysis, cultural practices and pests.