The State disability plan 2017-2020 tackles the negative attitudes and barriers that more than one million Victorians with a disability deal with on a daily basis. It sets out priorities for achieving inclusion under four key pillars - inclusive communities; health, housing and wellbeing; fairness and safety; contributing lives.
Consultation for the 2021-2024 plan was opened in 3 December 2020
Australia’s Disability Strategy 2021-2031 is Australia’s national disability policy framework. It is driving action at all levels of government to improve the lives of people with disability.
The Disability Services Commissioner (DSC) works with people with a disability to resolve complaints about disability service providers, and with disability services providers to improve outcomes for people with a disability
The following is a small selection of service providers.
The Mission of ADEC is to provide equal access to high quality disability and aged care services for all members of the Victorian Community. Their particular focus is in supporting people from ethnic communities.
Peak body for people with autism and those who support them in Victoria. Provides advocacy, raises awareness, and provides information and resources to individuals, families, professionals, government and the wider community.
Formerly The House with No Steps and the Tipping Foundation. Their purpose is “Supporting people to live a great life, the life they want, the life they choose.”
Aspect is the leading service provider for Autism Spectrum Disorders, including Asperger's Syndrome and provides a central resource where families and services can seek information and advice.
The Australian Federation of Disability Organisations (AFDO) is the peak disability organisation representing people with lived experience of disability. AFDO is made up of organisations run by people with lived experience of disability across Australia. AFDO is not a part of the government.
AFDO developed ‘Disability Loop’ to be the ‘go to’ place for NDIS news, information, resources and events.
e-Bility offers easy access to a wide range of information, resources, services and products of interest to people with disability, their families and carers, health professionals and service providers in the disability sector.
Independence Australia is a not-for-profit organisation that supports people with a disability or other physical need to achieve their optimal quality of life.
Infoxchange Australia is a non-profit organisation dedicated to providing up-to-date information and technology for social inclusion and social justice.
Life Without Barriers is a national not-for-profit organisation working in more than 260 communities across Australia. We deliver services in the areas of disability, out-of-home care, aged care, mental health and support for refugee and asylum seekers.
Supporting people living with mental health conditions to navigate the NDIS. Contains useful glossary on the language of the mental health and disability sectors.
Produced by the Mental Health Coordinating Council.
STAR is committed to community inclusion in its entirety. Inclusion in pre-schools, schools, tertiary institutes, where you live, in recreation/leisure options, work and just ordinary life, together with equity and full participation are a right of all Victorian citizens.
The State-wide equipment program (SWEP) provides people who have a permanent or long-term disability with subsidised aids, equipment, oxygen and continence and vehicle and home modifications.
Vision Australia is a leading national provider of blindness and low vision services in Australia. Services include: direct support to people with blindness and low vision, advocacy, education, employment, provision of materials in accessible formats as well as consultancy and training for other organisations on accessibility.
Established in 1918, Yooralla is one of Australia’s largest and most proactive organisations working to support people with disability to live independent and fulfilling lives
In order to facilitate successful outcomes and improve the educational experience for students with disability, ADCET provides information, advice and resources to disability practitioners, academics, teachers and students on inclusive practices within the post-secondary education sector. (Description taken from website)
This website is a portal to information, tools and guidance on diverse learning. Use the search function to find relevant information on specific topics.
The NCSEHE’s purpose is to inform public policy design and implementation, and institutional practice, in order to improve higher education participation and success for marginalised and disadvantaged people.
This link provides information for parents on the common signs of reading difficulties in children. It provides strategies to support children's learning at school as well as tips on how to discuss the problem with teachers.
The AGAC provides a national forum for State and Territory agencies that protect adults with a decision-making disability through adult guardianship and administration. This website provides information about the Australian Guardianship and Administration Council and its member organisations.
The Disability Discrimination Legal Service Inc (DDLS) is a statewide independent community legal centre that specialises in disability discrimination legal matters. They provide free legal services in several areas including information, referral, advice, casework assistance, community legal education, and policy and law reform.
The Australian Federation of Disability Organisations (AFDO) is the national voice representing people with disability in Australia. AFDO and our member organisations are run by and for people with disability, which we believe is imperative to be truly representative of the voice and lived experience of people with disability.
This link takes you to the Disability Rights home page of the Australian Human Rights website. There are links to current disability legislation, media releases, disability issues and other important information.
Carers Australia is the national peak body representing Australia’s carers, advocating on behalf of Australia’s carers to influence policies and services at a national level.
CDDH supports mainstream health services to build their capacity to address the health needs of adults with intellectual and associated developmental disabilities.
CYDA is a not for profit community organisation for children with disabilities and their families. It educates policy-makers and the community about the needs of disabled children and their families, and advocates on behalf of these children to ensure that support and services are available from government and community as well as informing the families about their rights and entitlements.
This link takes you directly to the DARU website which is a statewide service established to resource the disability advocacy sector in Victoria. It has links to publications, forums, events and other useful links.
Deafness Forum of Australia is the national representative of all Australians who have a hearing impairment, a chronic disorder of the ear, are Deaf or deafblind, and the families who support them.
Disability Advocacy Network Australia (DANA) is a national not for profit organisation.
It supports and strengthens independent disability advocacy organisations in their work of advocating for and with people with disability so that they are valued and included members of the community, their fundamental needs are met and their human rights respected.
Inclusion Australia, previously the National Council on Intellectual Disability (NCID), is the national voice for Australians with intellectual disability.
The organisation brings together groups across Australia who are connected to people with intellectual disability and who share the vision of inclusion in all parts of Australian life.
The national peak organisation representing the rights and interests of people living with disability, their families and carers, from culturally and linguistically diverse (CaLD) and non-English speaking backgrounds (NESB).
Access a range of tools and resources designed to facilitate your advocacy efforts. Whether you’re seeking training materials, best practices, or tools for effective advocacy, you’ll find valuable resources here to support your work.
The Victorian Advocacy League for Individuals with Disability (VALID) is the peak organisation in the Victorian disability sector representing adults with an intellectual disability and their families. VALID is run by and for people with disability and family members. VALID has particular expertise in networking and providing information to people with disability and families across the state.
Vision Australia is a leading national provider of blindness and low vision services in Australia. Services include: direct support to people with blindness and low vision, advocacy, education, employment, provision of materials in accessible formats as well as consultancy and training for other organisations on accessibility.
This organisation advocates for women with disabilities. It voices their needs and rights. WWDA is a national force that improves the lives and life chances of women with disabilities.
