Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CINAHL

Guide Welcome

Welcome to the CINAHL Database Guide
In this guide you can find:
  • Information on how to log in to databases
  • A brief description of CINAHL
  • Tips for searching CINAHL
  • Details on how to contact the Library for assistance

What is CINAHL?

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a collection of 6 million records from 5000 health and medical journals. CINAHL is only available on the EBSCOHost platform and is a key resource for accessing  published literature relevant to  nursing and allied health professions.

The records describe research publications, reviews, professional development articles, guidelines for patient care, case studies and conference papers plus many other types of publications.

The full text for articles is available for 1300 of the 5000 journals indexed. When full text is not available for an article in CINAHL, a search link (called sfx) to other Holmesglen databases is provided. If the article full text is not available at Holmesglen, a Google Scholar search is then available.

CINAHL Video Tutorials

CINAHL Video Tutorials

 

undefined

Advanced searching

Includes keyword searching, limiting a search, search history and boolean searching.

 Watch video

 

undefined               

The CINAHL results screen.

This tutorial covers the features of EBSCOHost results list including refining your results with limits and facets.

 Watch video