TEAL and CELTA

Becoming a Language Teacher is a comprehensive guide to the knowledge and classroom skills teachers need to meet the needs of all language learners. The book encourages each reader to develop a personal approach to language teaching.

This book identifies the many facets of culture that influence second language learners and teachers. The hardback edition identifies the many facets of culture that influence second language learners and teachers. It addresses the impact of culture on learning to interact, speak, construct meaning, and write in a second language, while staying within the sociocultural paradigms specific to a particular language and its speakers.

This popular step-by-step guide contains information on every area of program planning for adult learners, from understanding the purpose of educational programs to obtaining suitable facilities to incorporating technology appropriately.

This books looks at the approach in English Language Teaching known as Dogme ELT, which advocates using a conversation-driven philosophy of teaching that, above all, focuses on the learner and on emergent language.

Designed for pre-service teachers and teachers new to the field of ELT, What English Teachers Need to Know I and II are companion textbooks organized around the key question: What do teachers need to know and be able to do in order for their students to learn English?

What Teachers Need to Know about Teaching Methods explains the different theories of teaching and learning, together with their underlying principles and methods. The book defines the role of a teacher in the learning process and looks at the latest research on what contributes toward effective practice.

This new edition surveys the major approaches and methods in language teaching. It surveys the major approaches and methods in language teaching, such as grammar translation, audiolingualism, communicative language teaching, and the natural approach.

Provides an introduction to the theory and practice of teaching English. It examines a variety of teaching methods based on the author's extensive experience in the classroom and with teachers in training. The book offers ideas on lesson planning and textbook use that can be put into practice immediately. Ideal for new or inexperienced teachers and candidates for the CELTA exam. This text includes practical coverage of specific methods, lesson planning, using textbooks and coping with the unexpected!

Teaching Adult Second Language Learners addresses the needs of adults studying English. It provides a useful summary of the principles involved in teaching adults as well as a wealth of activities specifically designed for adult learners.

Are you teaching or training to teach literacy to adult learners? Do you want to update and deepen your practice? Yes Then this is the essential book for you In this book, the authors offer friendly guidance on how to work with adult learners to develop their literacy skills and practices.

This comprehensive, methodology resource gives both prospective and experienced ESL/ELT teachers the theoretical background and practical applications they need to decide which approaches, materials, and resources can and should be used in their classrooms.

The monumental impact of globalization on the higher education sector has placed the English language skills of tertiary students firmly under the spotlight. This book addresses the inherent issues faced by: a growing band of transnational students, lecturers across all disciplines who are charged with delivering the courses, and universities in both English-speaking nations and those where English is the primary medium of instruction.

Introducing Course Design in English for Specific Purposes is an accessible and practical introduction to the theory and practice of developing ESP courses across a range of disciplines. The book covers the development of courses from needs analysis to assessment and evaluation, and also comes with samples of authentic ESP courses provided by leading ESP practitioners from a range of subject and global contexts.

This comprehensive collection of thirteen original articles covers the major issues writing teachers face. It systematically sets out the key issues in second language writing instruction to offer both pre-service and in-service teachers a guide to writing instruction grounded in current theory and research.

face2face Second edition is the flexible, easy-to-teach, 6-level course (A1 to C1) for busy teachers who want to get their adult and young adult learners to communicate with confidence.