Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Holmesglen Harvard Referencing Guide

Newspapers and magazines format

Newspapers 

 

Reference elements 

annotated reference example for a newspaper article

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author Year)

OR

Author (Year)

...emission cuts... (Millar 2009).

OR

Millar (2009) explains how emission cuts....

Quote

(Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Author (Year, p. xx) '...'

'...the offender...' (Robinson 2014, p. 2).

OR

Robinson (2014, p. 2) said '....the offender...'

Note:
  • Page numbers are not required for HTML (webpage) sources.

 

Reference 

  Format Example
Print

Author, AA Year, 'Article title', Title of Newspaper, Day Month of publication, pp.xx.

Millar, R 2009, 'State emission cuts futile', The Age, 23 March, p. 1.
Online

Author, AA Year, 'Article title', Title of Newspaper, Day Month of publication, viewed Day Month Year, http://xxxxx.

Robinson, L 2014, 'Racist attack on bus: offender's Youth Justice Conference, The Age, 14 December, viewed 21 June 2019, http://www.theage.com.au/.             

Online from a database Author, AA Year, 'Article title', Title of Newspaper, Day Month of publication, viewed Day Month Year, Database name. Crowe, D 2019, 'Shift on refugee program amid crisis in Venezuela', 19 June, The Age, viewed 1 July 2019, EBSCO database.
Note:
  • Provide the exact date for an article from a  daily or weekly newspaper or magazine.
  • If retrieving an article from a database, do not include the URL. Instead, note the database.  

Magazines 

 

Reference elements 

annotated reference example for a magazine article

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author Year)

OR

Author (Year)

... stress of police work (McCubbin 2015).

OR

McCubbin (2015) says that ...

Quote

'...' (Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Author (Year, p. xx) '...'

'In the playground ...' (Smith 2016, p. 10).

OR

Smith (2016, p. 10) says that '... the playground ...' 

Note:
  • Page numbers are not required for HTML (webpage) sources.

 

Reference 

  Format Example
Print

Author, AA Year, 'Article title', Title of Magazine, Day Month or Identifier, pp. xx-xx.

McCubbin, J 2015, 'Police look to the future to stop crime', Police Life, Spring, 21 May, pp. 22-23.

Online

Author, AA Year, 'Article title', Title of Magazine, Day Month or Identifier, viewed Day Month Year, http://xxxxx.

Smith, L 2016, 'From the playground to the workplace – addressing bullying', NurseClick, November, pp. 9-11, viewed 21 June 2019, https://www.acn.edu.au.

Online from a database Author, AA Year, 'Article title', Title of Magazine, Day Month or Identifier, viewed Day Month Year, Database name. Dingman, H 2019, 'The best free PC games', PCWorld, 1 June, viewed 12 June 2019, EBSCO database.
Note:
  • Some magazines may not have some information such as volume number. Only include information available in the reference.
  • Page numbers are not required for HTML (webpage) sources.
  • If retrieving an article from a database, do not include the URL. Instead, note the database. 

Articles with no author 

 

Reference elements

Sometimes articles do not have the author recorded, especially online news sites. In this case, provide all the details in the in-text citation. There is no need to include this source in the reference list.

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Title of Periodical Day Month Year)

OR

Title of Periodical.... (Day Month Year)

... passenger safety (Toronto Star 17 June 2012).

OR

OJJDP News @ a Glance describes the strategies ... (November/December 2006).

Quote

'...' (Title of Periodical Day Month Year, p. xx)

OR

Title of Periodical.... (Day Month Year, p. xx)

'... creative products ...' (Frankie no. 81 2018, p. 57).

OR

... says in ABC Organic Gardener '... proud to win ...' (31 October 2018, p. 13).

Note:
  • If there is no exact date of publication given, such as in a magazine, use the issue instead, eg. Summer or June.
  • Page numbers are not required for HTML (webpage) sources.

 

Reference 

Cite in-text only. Do not include in reference list.

Practice exercise