Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Holmesglen Harvard Referencing Guide

Journals format

Journal article with 1 author

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an ejournal article with one author

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author Year)

OR 

Author (Year)

... accounting theory (Baker 2017).

OR

Baker (2017) argues that ...

Quote

'...' (Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Author (Year, p. xx) '...'

'... students in the classroom' (Serocki 2017, p. 57).

OR

Serocki (2017, p. 57) explains that '... students in the classroom'. 

 

Reference 

  Format Example
Electronic

Author, AA Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Serocki, J 2017, 'Professional experience of faculty in the accounting classroom', Business Education Innovation Journal, vol. 9, no. 2, pp. 55-61, viewed 21 June 2019, EBSCO database.

Print Author, AA Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx. Trueman, S 2016, 'Take drug control seriously', Nursing Review, vol. Sep/Oct, no. 5, pp. 28- 29.

Journal article with 2 authors

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an ejournal article with 2 authors

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author & Author Year)

OR

Author and Author (Year)

... digital literacy (Yevelson-Shorsher & Bronstein 2018).

OR

Yevelson-Shorsher and Bronstein (2018) have studied ...

Quote

'...' (Author & Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Author and Author (Year, p. xx) '...' 

'... patient satisafaction' (Cutilli & Bennett 2009, p. 30).

OR

Cutilli and Bennett (2009, p. 30) assert that '... patient satisfaction.'

 

Reference 

  Format Example
Electronic

Author, AA & Author, BB Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Cutilli, CC & Bennett, IM 2009, 'Understanding the health literacy of America: results of the national assessment of adult literacy', Orthopaedic Nursing, vol. 28, no. 1, pp. 27-32, viewed 21 June 2019, EBSCO database.  

Print Author, AA & Author, BB Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx. Wang, Q & Peterson, C 2014, 'Your earliest memory may be earlier than you think: prospective studies of children's dating of earliest childhood memories', Developmental Psychology, vol. 50, no. 6, pp. 1680-1686.

Journal article with 3 authors

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an ejournal article with 3 authors

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author, Author & Author Year)

OR

Author, Author and Author (Year)

... as a result of the tourism industry (Tajeddini, Walle & Denisa 2012).

OR

Tajeddini, Walle and Denisa (2012) state ...

Quote

'...' (Author, Author & Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Author, Author and Author (Year, p. xx) '...'

Tourism in Bali is a '... valuable source of unskilled employment in rural areas' (Tajeddini, Walle & Denisa 2012, p. 210).

OR

According to Tajeddini, Walle and Denisa (2012, p. 210), tourism is a '... valuable source of unskilled employment in rural areas'.

 

Reference 

  Format Example
Electronic

Author, AA, Author, BB & Author, CC Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Tajeddini, K, Walle, AH & Denisa, M 2017, ‘Enterprising women, tourism, and development: the case of Bali’, International Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Administration, vol. 18, no. 2, pp. 195–218, viewed 18 June 2019, EBSCO database. 

Print Author, AA, Author, BB & Author, CC Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx. Golubovskaya, M, Robinson, RNS & Solnet, D 2017, 'The meaning of hospitality: do employees understand?', International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management, vol. 29, no. 5, pp. 1282-1304.

Journal article with 4 or more authors

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an ejournal article with 4 or more authors 

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author et al. Year)

OR

Author et al. (Year)

... the experiment (Aleksankina et al. 2018).

OR

Aleksankina et al. (2018) describe the experiment ...

Quote

'...' (Author et al. Year, p. xx)

OR

Author et al. (Year, p. xx) '...'

'Diversity in nursing ...' (Kowlowitz et al., 2018, p. 45).

OR

Kowlowitz et al. (2018, p. 45) say 'Diversity in nursing ...'

 

Reference 

  Format Example
Electronic

4-7 authors

List all authors.

Author, AA, Author, BB, Author, CC, Author DD, Author EE & Author FF Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Kowlowitz, V, Johnson RP, Woods-Giscombe, C, Kneipp, SM, Page, J & Fowler Gray, T 2018, 'Careers beyond the bedside: an effective program to increase diversity in nursing', Journal Of Cultural Diversity, vol. 25, no. 2, pp. 41-48, viewed 21 June 2019, EBSCO database. 

8 or more authors

List first author followed by et al.

Author, AA et al. Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Langton, JM et al. 2016, 'Primary care performance measurement and reporting at a regional level: could a matrix approach provide actionable information for policy makers and clinicians?', Healthcare Policy, vol. 12, no. 2, pp. 33-51, EBSCO database. 

Print

4-7 authors

List all authors.

Author, AA, Author BB, Author CC, Author DD, Author EE & Author FF Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx. Kullberg, E, Sjögren, P, Forsell, M, Hoogstraate, J, Herbst, B & Johansson, O 2010, 'Dental hygiene education for nursing staff in a nursing home for older people', Journal of Advanced Nursing, vol. 66, no. 6, pp. 1273-1284.

8 or more authors

List first author followed by et al.

Author, AA et al. Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx. Arca, M et al. 2014, 'Defensive behaviour of Apis Mellifera against Vespa Velutina in France: testing whether European honeybees can develop an effective collective defence against a new predator', Behavioural Processes, vol. 106, pp. 122–129.

Cited in a journal article

Sometimes authors quote other authors. This is referred to in Harvard style as a secondary source. Citations need to include both the original author and the secondary source author. In the reference list, you will need to cite only the secondary source in which you found the citation.

 

Reference elements

Reference the journal in which you found the citation.

annotated reference example for a secondary source ejournal article

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Original Author cited in Secondary Author Year)

OR

Original Author (cited in Secondary Author Year)

... manage the challenges (Johnson cited in Hopkinson et al. 2018).

OR

Johnson (cited in Hopkinson et al. 2018) explains how ...

Quote

'...' (Original Author cited in Secondary Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Original Author (cited in Secondary Author Year, p. xx) '...'

'In early childhood ...' (Brown cited in Chang-Kredl & Wilkie 2016, p. 310).

OR

Brown (cited in Chang-Kredl & Wilkie 2016, p. 310) states 'In early childhood ...'

 

Reference 

Reference the secondary source in which you found the citation. 

  Format Example
Electronic

Author, AA, Author, BB & Author, CC Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Pfeiffer, E & Goldbeck, L 2017, 'Evaluation of a trauma-focused group intervention for unaccompanied young refugees: a pilot study', Journal of Traumatic Stress, vol. 30, no. 5, pp. 531-536, viewed 12 July 2019, ProQuest database.

Print Author, AA Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx. Phua, V & McNally, JW 2008, 'Men planning for retirement', Journal of Applied Gerontology, vol. 27, no. 5, pp. 588-608. 

Ejournal article on a website

 

Reference elements

 

annotated reference example for an ejournal article from a website

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author & Author Year)

OR

Author and Author (Year)

... digital literacy (Yevelson-Shorsher & Bronstein 2018).

OR

Yevelson-Shorsher and Bronstein (2018) have studied ...

Quote

'...' (Author & Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Author and Author (Year, p. xx) '...' 

'... patient satisafaction' (Cutilli & Bennett 2009, p. 30).

OR

Cutilli and Bennett (2009, p. 30) assert that '... patient satisfaction.'

 

Reference 

Format Example

Author, AA Year, 'Article title', Title of Periodical, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx, viewed Day Month Year, https://xxxxx.

Cesaroni, FM & Consoli, D 2015, ‘Are small businesses really able to take advantage of social media?’, The Electronic Journal of Knowledge Management, vol. 13, iss. 4, pp. 257-268, viewed 4 May 2020, http://www.ejkm.com.

Practice exercise