Skip to Main Content

Harvard (Holmesglen) Referencing Guide - Previous Edition

Images and artworks overview

The guidelines on this page have been adapted and modified to suit the needs of Holmesglen students.

 

What images can I use? 

Students are encouraged to use Creative Commons and/or Public Domain images. Check the list provided here. 

Copyright images require explicit permission from the copyright holder. If you are uncertain whether or not an image is protected under copyright, please consult either a librarian or a Learning Skills teacher. 

Images/Artworks format

Finding images

The following links provide free images that you can use in your work. 

Please ensure that you continue to cite and reference any images you use (follow the instructions in the tabs above).

Further resources

Images from websites

 

Creative Commons image

Creative Commons is a licensing system that permits you to reuse an image in accordance with the terms of its agreement. 

Please see here for a comprehensive list of websites that provide CC licensed images. 

 

Format

Example

Caption

Image goes above the caption

Title (Author Year, CCx.x)

Photograph of Night Noodle Market in Melbourne

Night Noodle Market in Melbourne (Phutully 2013, CC2.0)

In-text citation

(Author Year) 

OR

Author (Year)

... as seen in Night Noodle Market in Melbourne (Phutully 2013).  

OR

Phutully (2013) captures ...

Reference

Author, AA Year, Title of image, format, viewed Day Month Year, http://xxxxx.

Phutully, C 2013, Night Noodle Market in Melbourne, photograph, viewed 7 June 2019, https://upload.wikimedia.org/. 
Note:
  • Format: photograph, illustration, graphic art, vector graphic, sculpture, art installation etc.
  • URLs are formatted as normal text and are not hyperlinked.

 

Copyrighted image

 

Format

Example

Caption

Image goes above the caption

Title (Author © Year)

 

 Photograph of Fireworks at Treasury Gardens

Fireworks at Treasury Gardens (Smith © 2019)

In-text citation

(Author Year) 

OR

Author (Year)

... highlighted in Fireworks at Treasury Gardens (Smith 2019).  

OR

Smith (2019) utilises ...   

Reference

Author, AA (Year), Title of image [format], Website Name, accessed Day Month Year.

Smith, J (2019), Fireworks at Treasury Gardens [photograph], accessed 7 June 2019.
Note:
  • Only use copyrighted images if you have explicit written permission from the copyright holder. 
  • Format: photograph, illustration, graphic art, vector graphic, sculpture, art installation etc.

Images from databases

 

Caption

Format

Example

Image goes above the caption

Title (Author © Year)

Photograph of Water lilies at the Melbourne Royal Botanic Gardens

Water lilies at the Melbourne Royal Botanic Gardens (Andrews © 2019)

 

In-text citation

Format

Example

(Author Year) 

OR

Author (Year)

... is evoked by the colours (Andrews 2019).  

OR

Andrews (2019) evokes ...

 

Reference

Format

Example

Author, AA Year, Title of image, description of material, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Andrews, J 2019, Water lilies at the Melbourne Royal Botanic Gardens, photograph, viewed 7 June 2019, Images Library database.

Images from books

 

Caption

Format Example


Image goes above the caption

Title (Author © Year, p. xx)

 

 Photograph of new sign for Chadstone campus of Holmesglen TAFE

 

New sign for Chadstone campus, 1992 (Holmesglen Institute of TAFE © 2002, p. 119)
Note:
  • Please provide the copyright symbol in front of the year, to ensure you are recognising the copyright holder.  
  • Copyright information usually can be found on the Publications page of the book.
  • Please provide page numbers in both the caption and in-text citation. 

 

In-text citation

Format Example

(Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Author (Year, p. xx) 

... is depicted (Holmesglen Institute of TAFE 2002, p. 119).

OR

Holmesglen Institute of TAFE (2009, p. 119) depicts ... 

 

Reference

Format Example

Author, AA Year, 'Title of image', format, in A Author (if different from author of artwork), Title of work, Publisher, Place of Publication, pp. xx.

Autio, N n.d., 'Bright', photography, in N Autio et al., 10x100, T & G Publishing, Sydney, NSW, p. 14.

 

Holmesglen Institute of TAFE 2002, 'New sign for Chadstone campus, 1992', photograph, in Building the future: a history of Holmesglen Institute, Holmesglen Institute of TAFE, Chadstone, VIC, p. 119.
Note:
  • Format: oil on canvas, painting, photograph, illustration, graphic art, vector graphic, sculpture, art installation etc.
  • In A Author: Mention the author of the book if it is different from the author of the artwork/image. 

Images from ejournals and newspapers

 

Caption

Format Example

Image goes above the caption

Title (Author © Year, p. xx)

 Photograph of latte served in a glass

 

Cafe latte served in a glass (Marsh & deBeauvoir © 2019, p. 5)
Note:
  • Insert the copyright symbol in front of the year to ensure you are recognising the copyright holder. 
  • Provide page numbers in both the caption and in-text citation. 

 

In-text citation

Format Example

(Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Author (Year, p. xx) 

... is highlighted (Marsh & de Beauvoir 2019, p. 5).

OR

Marsh and de Beauvoir (2019, p. 5) visually highlight ... 

 

Reference

  Format Example
Journal from a database

Author, AA, & Author BB, Title of image, format, in 'Article title', Journal Title, vol. x, no. x, pp. xx-xx, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Marsh, A & de Beauvoir, X 2019, Cafe latte served in a glass, photograph, in 'The effect of Melbourne's cafe culture on international visitors', Caffeine Journal, vol. 9, no. 21, pp. 1-15, viewed 7 June 2019, Beverages Research database. 
Newspaper article

Author, AA Year, Title of image, format, in 'Article title', Title of Newspaper, Day Month of publication, viewed Day Month Year, http://xxxxx.

Crosling, D 2013, Rob Farquharson arrives at the Supreme court, photograph, in 'Boys in dam dad Robert Farquharson loses High Court bid', The Australian,16 August, viewed 7 June 2019, https://www.theaustralian.com.au/.
Note:
  • Format: photograph, illustration, graphic art, vector graphic, sculpture, art installation etc.
  • Even if retrieving an article from a database, give the newspaper homepage URL.
  • URLs are formatted as normal text and are not hyperlinked.

Screenshots

 

Caption

Format Example

Image goes above the caption

Title (Author © Year)

screenshot of Holmesglen Chadstone campus

Holmesglen Chadstone campus (Google © 2019)
Note:

 

In-text citation

Format Example

(Author Year)

... is shown (Google 2019). 

 

Reference

Format Example

Author Year, Title, format, viewed Day Month Year, http://xxxxx.

Google 2019, Holmesglen Chadstone campus, screenshot, viewed 1 July 2019, https://www.google.com.au/maps/.
Note:
  • URLs are formatted as normal text and are not hyperlinked.

Images without titles, authors or dates

 

Caption

Format Example

Image goes above the caption

(Descriptive title Year)

photograph of st. kilda beach pier

(St. Kilda pier n.d.)
Note:
  • Create your own short, descriptive title based on the image. 
  • When the Year cannot be located, use n.d. instead. 

 

In-text citation

Format Example

(Descriptive title Year)

OR

Descriptive title (Year) 

... is shown in the image (St. Kilda pier n.d.). 

OR

In the image St. Kilda pier (n.d.) ...
Note:

 

Reference

Format Example

Descriptive title Year, format, viewed Day Month Year, http://xxxxx.

St. Kilda pier n.d., photograph, viewed 20 August 2019, https://www.notitlesordates.commons.au.
Note:
  • Format: photograph, illustration, graphic art, vector graphic, sculpture, art installation etc.
  • URLs are formatted as normal text and are not hyperlinked.

Referencing your own images

The format for citing your own images depends on whether or not the image is unpublished or published. Please see below:

Unpublished image

Published image

This includes images published on a blog or other forms of social media. 

Caption

photograph of Korean food

Korean dining (Smith personal communications 2019)

Caption

photograph of two coffees

Two coffees (Smith © 2019)

Reference List 

Format: Author AA Year, Title of image [unpublished image], Location.

Example: Smith SS 2019, Korean dining [unpublished image], Melbourne.

Reference List 

As the image is published, include the Reference List.

Reference for an image from social media (e.g. blog, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram):

Format: Author, A Year, Title, type of social media, Day Month of post, http://xxxxx.

Example: Smith, J 2019, Two coffees, Instagram, 3 September, https://www.instagram.com/cafelation/. 

Unpublished images

Unpublished images can include images that are sent to you electronically or as hard copy. 

 

Caption

Format Example

Image goes above the caption

Descriptive title (Author Year)
[unpublished image]

Building site in progress (Heloise 2022)
Note:
  • Create your own short, descriptive title based on the image. 
  • When the Year cannot be located, use n.d. instead. 

 

In-text citation

Format Example

(Author Year)

OR

Author(Year) 

... is shown in the image (Heloise 2022). 

OR

In the image Building site in progress taken by Heloise (2022) ...
Note:

 

Reference

Format Example

Author AA Year, Title of image [unpublished image], Organisation Name, Location.

Heloise, CC 2022, Building site in progress [unpublished image], WEHI, Melbourne.
Note:
  • Format: photograph, illustration, graphic art etc.
  • Location: place where image was taken or occurred

Using MS Office images/clipart

MS Word provides a tool to find images through the web, but they do not own any of the images found. Ensure you always check the source of the image to reference it correctly. If in doubt, please ask a librarian or a Learning Skills teacher. 

 

Alternative sources of images

It is always best to search for copyright free images through specific image search sites, where the image source/creator and the terms of use are clearly noted. The finding images tab is your best starting point.