Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Holmesglen Harvard Referencing Guide

Edited books overview

exclamation mark in blue circle Use this format when referencing and citing a book that has an editor but no separate chapter authors listed.

Edited book with 1 editor

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an edited book with one editor

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Editor Year)

OR

Editor (Year)

... the legislation (Saligari 2017).

OR

Saligari (2017) explains how ...

Quote

'...' (Editor Year, p. xx)

OR

Editor (Year, p. xx) '...'

'The patient's experience ... ' (Jutte 2013, p. 127).

OR

Jutte (2013, p. 138) says 'the way staff interact ... '. 

 

Reference

    Format Example
Edited book with no edition Print

Author, AA (ed.) Year, Title of book, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Saligari, N (ed.) 2017, The law handbook 2017: your practical guide to the law in Victoria, Fitzroy Legal Service, Fitzroy, VIC.​

Electronic

Author, AA (ed.) Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Jütte, R (ed.) 2013, Medical pluralism: past – present – future, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest Ebook Central database. 

Edited book with 2nd or later edition Print

Author, AA (ed.) Year, Title of book, x edn, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Germov, J (ed.) 2014, Second opinion: an introduction to health sociology, 5th edn, Oxford University Press, South Melbourne, VIC.

Electronic

Author, AA (ed.) Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Boylan, M (ed.) 2013, Medical ethics, 2nd edn, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest Ebook Central database. 

Edited book with 2 editors

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an edited book with 2 editors

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Editor & Editor Year)

OR

Editor and Editor (Year)

... for patient care (Proctor & Froggatt 2014).

OR

Proctor and Froggatt (2014) discuss ....

Quote

'...' (Editor & Editor Year, p. xx)

OR

Editor and Editor (Year, p. xx) '...' 

'The doctor needs to ... ' (Abramowitz & Panter-Brick 2015, p. 45).

OR 

Abramowitz and Panter-Brick (2015, p. 261) state 'the doctor needs to ... ' 

 

Reference

    Format Example
Edited book with no edition Print

Editor, AA & Editor, BB (eds) Year, Title of book, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Procter, N & Froggatt, T (eds) 2014, Mental health: a person-centred approach, Cambridge University Press, Port Melbourne, VIC.​

Electronic

Editor, AA & Editor, BB (eds.) Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Abramowitz, S & Panter-Brick, C (eds) 2015, Medical humanitarianism: ethnographies of practice, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest Ebook Central database. 

Edited book with 2nd or later edition Print 

Editor, AA & Editor, BB (eds) Year, Title of book, x edn, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Garvis, S & Pendergast, D (eds) 2017, Health and wellbeing in childhood, 2nd edn, Cambridge University Press, Port Melbourne, VIC.

Electronic

Editor, AA & Editor, BB (eds) Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Bulman, C & Schutz, S (eds) 2013, Reflective practice in nursing, 5th edn, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest Ebook Central database. 

Edited book with 3 editors

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an edited book with 3 editors

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Editor, Editor and Editor Year)

OR

Editor, Editor and Editor (Year)

... patient care (Daly, Speedy & Jackson 2014).

OR

Daly, Speedy and Jackson (2014) state that ...

Quote

'...' (Editor, Editor and Editor Year, p. xx)

OR

Editor, Editor and Editor (Year, p. xx) '...' 

'Factors crucial for patient recovery include ... ' (Daly, Speedy & Jackson 2014, p. 329).

OR 

Daly, Speedy and Jackson (2014, p. 329) say 'surgical teams can ... '. 

 

Reference

    Format Example
Edited book with no edition Print

Editor, AA, Editor, BB & Editor CC (eds) Year, Title of book, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Daly, J, Speedy, S & Jackson, D (eds) 2014, Contexts of nursing: an introduction, Churchill Livingstone Elsevier, Chatswood, NSW.

Electronic

Editor, AA, Editor, BB & Editor CC (eds) Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

​Bridges, S, Chan, LK & Hmelo-Silver, CE (eds) 2015, Educational technologies in medical and health sciences education, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest Ebook Central database. 

Edited book with 2nd or later edition Print

Editor, AA, Editor, BB & Editor CC (eds) Year, Title of book, x edn, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Ingold, A, McMahon-Beattie, U & Yeoman, I (eds) 2000, Yield management: strategies for the service industries, 2nd edn, Cengage Learning, London.

Electronic

Editor, AA, Editor, BB & Editor CC (eds) Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Batshaw, M, Roizen, N & Lotrecchiano, G (eds) 2012, Children with disabilities, 7th edn, viewed 14 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Edited book with 4 or more editors

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an edited book with 4 or more editors

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Editor et al. Year)

OR

Editor et al. (Year)

... is demonstrated by the evidence gathered via the case study (Stevens et al. 2017).

OR

Stevens et al. (2017) demonstrate this key point with case study evidence showing ...

Quote

'...' (Editor et al. Year, p. xx)

OR

Editor et al. (Year, p. xx) '...' 

'Changes in speed production lead to little gain' (Stevens et al. 2017, p. 436).

OR

Stevens et al. (2017. p. 436) argue 'changes in speed production lead to little gain'.

 

Reference

  Format Example

4-7 editors

List all editors.

Edited book with no edition Print

Editor, AA, Editor, BB, Editor CC, Editor, DD, Editor, EE & Editor, FF (eds) Year, Title of book, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Melissen, F, van der Rest, JP, Josephi, S & Blomme, R (eds) 2014, Hospitality experience: an introduction to hospitality management, Noordhoff Uitgevers, The Netherlands.
Electronic

Editor, AA, Editor, BB, Editor CC, Editor, DD, Editor, EE & Editor, FF (eds) Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Tetley, J, Cox, N, Jack, K & Witham, G (eds) 2018, Nursing older people at a glance, viewed 14 May 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database.
Edited book with 2nd or later edition Print

Editor, AA, Editor, BB, Editor CC, Editor, DD, Editor, EE & Editor, FF (eds) Year, Title of book, x edn, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Brown, D, Edwards, H, Seaton, L & Buckley, T (eds) 2015, Lewis's medical-surgical nursing: assessment and management of clinical problems, 4th edn, Mosby Elsevier, Chatswood, NSW.
Electronic

Editor, AA, Editor, BB, Editor CC, Editor, DD, Editor, EE & Editor, FF (eds)  Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Thomas, PA, Kern, DE, Hughes, MT & Chen, BY (eds) 2016, Curriculum development for medical education: a six-step approach, 3rd edn, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest Ebook Central database. 

8 or more editors

List first editor followed by et al.

Print

Editor, AA et al. (eds) Year, Title of book, x edn, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Baginsky, M. et al. (eds) 2008, Safeguarding children and schools, Jessica Kingsley, London.
Electronic

Editor, AA et al. (eds) Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Baginsky, M. et al. (eds) 2008, Safeguarding children and schools, viewed 2 July 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database.

Cited in an edited book

Sometimes authors quote other authors. This is referred to in Harvard style as a secondary source. Citations need to include both the original author and the secondary source author. In the reference list, you will need to cite only the secondary source in which you found the citation.

 

Reference elements

Reference the book in which you found the citation.

annotated reference example for an edited book with a secondary source citation

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Original Author cited in Editor Year)

OR

Original Author cited in Editor (Year)

... customer service (Smith cited in Lashley & Morrison 2000).

OR

Smith cited in Lashley and Morrison (2000) explores how ...

Quote

'...' (Original Author cited in Editor Year, p. xx)

OR

Original Author cited in Editor (Year, p. xx) '...' 

'Typical early development involves ... ' (Jones cited in Garvis & Pendergrast 2017, p. 25).

OR

Jones cited in Garvis and Pendergrast (2017, p. 63) explains 'common illnesses ... '.

 

Reference

Reference the secondary source in which you found the citation.

    Format Example
Edited book with no edition Print

Editor, AA & Editor, BB (eds) Year, Title of book, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Arvanitakis, J (ed.) 2016, Sociologic: analysing everyday life and culture, Oxford University Press, South Melbourne, VIC. 

Electronic

Editor, AA & Editor, BB (eds) Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Lashley, C & Morrison, A (eds) 2000, In search of hospitality, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Edited book with 2nd or later edition Print

Editor, AA & Editor, BB (eds) Year, Title of book, x edn, Publisher, Place of Publication.

Garvis, S & Pendergast, D (eds) 2017, Health and wellbeing in childhood, 2nd edn, Cambridge University Press, Port Melbourne, VIC.

Electronic

Editor, AA & Editor, BB (eds) Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Wingfield, J & Pitchford, K (eds) 2017, Dale and Appelbe's pharmacy and medicines law, 11th edn, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Practice exercise