Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Holmesglen Harvard Referencing Guide

Ebooks format

Ebook with 1 author

 

Reference elementsannotated reference example for an ebook with one author 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author Year)

OR

Author (Year)

Sport journalism is ... (Billings 2011).

OR

Billings (2011) describes sport journalism as ...

Quote

'...' (Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Author (Year, p. xx) '...'

'Effective classroom management ...' (Sprick 2013, p.137).

OR

Sprick (2013, p. 137) states that 'effective classroom management ...' 

 

Reference

  Format Example
Ebook with no edition

Author, AA Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Billings, A 2011, Sports media: transformation, integration, consumption, viewed 7 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Ebook with 2nd or later edition

Author, AA Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Sprick, R 2013, Discipline in the secondary classroom: a positive approach to behaviour management, 2nd edn, viewed 7 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Ebook with 2 authors

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an ebook with 2 authors

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author & Author Year)

OR

Author and Author (Year)

... is used for patient care (Johnson & Chang 2014).

OR

Johnson and Chang (2014) describe patient care as...

Quote

'...' (Author & Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Author and Author (Year, p. xx) '...'

"Nursing practice is ..." (Smith & Parker 2015, p. 76).

OR

Smith and Parker (2015, p. 76) explain "nursing practice is ..." 

 

Reference

  Format Example
Ebook with no edition

Author, AA & Author, BB Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

​Johnson, A & Chang, E 2014, Chronic illness and disability, viewed 28 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Ebook with 2nd or later edition

Author, AA & Author, BB Year, Title of book, x edn, Publisher, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Smith, M & Parker, M 2015, Nursing theories and nursing practice, 4th edn, viewed 14 May 2018, Proquest EBook Central database.  

Ebook with 3 authors

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an ebook with 3 authors

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Author, Author & Author Year)

OR

Author, Author and Author (Year)

Managing a business ... (Hassanien, Clarke & Dale 2010).

OR

Hassanien, Clarke and Dale (2010) explore managing a business ...

Quote

'...' (Author, Author & Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Author, Author and Author (Year, p. xx) '...' 

'Children learn through ...' (Edwards, Gandini & Forman 2011, p. 92).

OR

Edwards, Gandini and Forman (2011, p. 92) state 'children learn through ...'.

 

Reference

  Format Example
Ebook with no edition

Author, AA, Author, BB & Author, CC Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Hassanien, A, Clarke, A & Dale, C 2010, Hospitality business development, viewed 21 June 2019, EBSCO Ebook database. 

Ebook with 2nd or later edition

Author, AA, Author, BB & Author, CC Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Edwards, CP, Gandini, L & Forman, GE 2011, The hundred languages of children: the Reggio Emilia experience in transformation, 3rd edn, viewed 30 June 2019, EBSCO Ebook database.

Ebook with 4 or more authors

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an ebook with 4 or more authors

 

In-text citation

 

Format

Example

Paraphrase

(Author et al. Year)

OR

Author et al. (Year)

... is the definition of clinical practice (Vernon et al. 2014).

OR

Vernon et al. (2014) describe clinical practice as ...

Quote

'...' (Author et al. Year, p. xx)

OR

Author et al. (Year, p. xx) '...' 

'The legal system ...' (Sarat et al. 2014, p. 172).

OR

Sarat et al. (2014, p. 172) assert 'the legal system ...'.

 

Reference

  Format Example

4-7 authors

List all authors.

Ebook with no edition

Author, AA, Author, BB, Author, CC, Author, DD, Author EE & Author FF Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Bompa, T, Blumenstein, B, Hoffmann, J, Howell, S & Orbach, I 2018, Integrated periodization in sports training and athletic development: combining training methodology, sports psychology, and nutrition to optimize performance, viewed 13 Mar 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database.

Ebook with 2nd or later edition

Author, AA, Author, BB, Author, CC, Author, DD, Author EE & Author FF Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Sarat, A, Brown, M, Ewick, P, Garvey, S, Katz, L, Smith, C & Steiker, C 2014, The punitive imagination: law, justice and responsibility, 2nd edn, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

8 or more authors

List first author followed by et al.

Ebook with no edition

Author, AA et al. Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Vernon, K et al. 2014, Psychology of emotion in restorative practice, viewed 29 August 2018, ProQuest EBook Central database.

Ebook with 2nd or later edition Author, AA et al. Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name. Berman, A et al. 2014, Kozier and Erb's fundamentals of nursing, 3rd edn, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Organisation/Corporate author (no abbreviated name)

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an ebook with a corporate author without an abbreviated name

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Organisation Year)

OR

Organisation (Year)

Examining soil shows ... (National Committee on Soil and Terrain 2016).

OR

The National Committee on Soil and Terrain (2016) showed ...

Quote

'...' (Organisation Year, p. xx)

OR

Organisation (Year, p. xx) '...' 

'By examining the past ...' (Facing History and Ourselves 2017, p. 14).

OR

Facing History and Ourselves (2017, p. 14) states 'by examining the past ...'.

 

Reference

  Format Example
Ebook with no edition

Organisation Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

National Committee on Soil and Terrain 2016, The Australian soil classification, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Ebook with 2nd or later edition

Organisation Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Facing History and Ourselves 2017, Holocaust and human behavior, 4th edn, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database.

Note:
  • Organisation's name is written out in full.

 

Organisation/Corporate author (widely known by abbreviation)

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for an ebook with a corporate author with an abbreviated name

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase First citation

(Organisation [Abbreviation] Year)

OR

Organisation [Abbreviation] (Year)

When considering ... (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development [OECD] 2016).

OR

The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development [OECD] (2016) describes ...

2nd citation onwards

(Abbreviated Organisation Year)

OR

Abbreviated Organisation (Year)

Developing countries ... (OECD 2016).

OR

OECD states that developing countries ... (2016).

Quote First citation

'...' (Organisation [Abbreviation] Year, p. xx)

OR

Organisation (Abbreviation Year, p. xx) '...'

'The management of childhood illnesses can be done by ... ' (World Health Organization [WHO] 2013, p. 34).

OR

The World Health Organization (WHO 2013, p. 35) explains that "for the effective treatment ... ".

2nd citation onwards

(Abbreviated Organisation Year, p. xx)

OR

Abbreviated Organisation (Year, p. xx) '...'

'Adequate nursing care is essential to ... ' (WHO 2013, p. 56).

OR


WHO (2013, p. 56) states that 'for excellent nursing care ...'.

 

Reference

  Format Example
Ebook with no edition

Organisation Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development 2016, Space and innovation, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Ebook with 2nd or later edition

Organisation Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

World Health Organization 2013, Pocket book of hospital care for children: guidelines for the management of common childhood illnesses, 2nd edn, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Note:
  • Organisation's name is written out in full.

Cited in an ebook

Sometimes authors quote other authors. This is referred to in Harvard style as a secondary source. Citations need to include both the original author and the secondary source author. In the reference list, you will need to cite only the secondary source in which you found the citation.

 

Reference elements

Reference the book in which you found the citation.

annotated reference example for an ebook with a secondary source citation

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Original Author cited in Secondary Author, Year)

OR

Original Author (cited in Secondary Author, Year)

... best practice (Smith cited in Bragg 2010).

OR

Smith (cited in Bragg 2010) claims for best practice ...

Quote

'...' (Original Author cited in Secondary Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Original Author (cited in Secondary Author Year, p. xx) '...' 

'Influences on children ... ' (Jones cited in Pound 2011, p. 65).

OR

Jones (cited in Pound 2011, p. 65) states 'influences on children ... ' 

 

Reference

Reference the secondary source in which you found the citation.

  Format Example
Ebook with no edition

Author, AA Year, Title of book, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Pound, L 2011, Influencing early childhood education: key figures, philosophies and ideas, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database.

Ebook with 2nd or later edition

Author, AA Year, Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Bragg, S 2010, Accounting best practices, 6th edn, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database.

Practice exercise