Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Holmesglen Harvard Referencing Guide

Book chapters overview

exclamation mark in blue circle Use this format when referencing and citing a chapter from an edited book where the chapters have different authors. If using more than one chapter from the edited book, treat each chapter as a separate reference and citation. 

Book chapters format

Book chapter with 1 author

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for a book chapter with one author

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Chapter Author Book Year)

OR

Chapter Author (Book Year)

To aid communication ... (Kim 2004).

OR

Stallard's (2013) research shows ...

Quote

'...' (Chapter Author Book Year, p. xx)

OR

Chapter Author (Book Year, p. xx) '...'

'To achieve diversity ... ' (Ashman 2009, p. 5).

OR

Shirey (2014, p. 866) states 'when under pressure ... '. 

 

Reference

    Format Example
Book with no edition Print

Chapter Author, AA Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, Publisher, Place of Publication, pp. x-x.

Kim, YY 2004, 'Adapting to a new culture: an integrative communication theory', in WB Gudykunst (ed.), Theorising about intercultural communication, Routledge, New York, pp. 375-400.

Electronic

Chapter Author, AA Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, pp. x-x, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Stallard, P 2013, 'Adapting cognitive behaviour therapy for children and adolescents', in P Graham & S Reynolds (eds), Cognitive behaviour therapy for children and families, pp. 22-33, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Book with 2nd or later edition Print

Chapter Author, AA Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, Publisher, Place of Publication, pp. x-x.

Ashman, A 2009, 'Contemporary cultures and education', in A Ashman & J Elkins (eds), Education for inclusion and diversity, 3rd edn, Pearson Education Australia, Frenchs Forest, NSW, pp.3-34.

Electronic

Chapter Author, AA Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, pp. x-x, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Shirey, M 2014, 'Managing competing priorities', in GM Magee (ed.), Nursing management: principles and practice, 2nd edn, p.865-872, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Book chapter with 2 authors

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for a book chapter with 2 authors

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Chapter Author & Chapter Author Book Year)

OR

Chapter Author & Chapter Author (Book Year)

Concrete structures ... (Schiessel & Lay 2005).

OR

Ghai and Johri (2013) argue that ...

Quote

'...' (Chapter Author & Chapter Author Book Year, p. xx)

OR

Chapter Author and Chapter Author (Book Year, p. xx) '...'

'Using data ... ' (Millani & Opeyo 2013, p.145).

OR

Atkins and Schutz (2013, p. 25) say 'reflective practice ... '.

 

Reference

    Format Example
Book with no edition Print

Chapter Author, AA & Chapter Author, BB Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, Publisher, Place of Publication, pp. x-x.

Schiessl, P & Lay, S 2005 'Influence of concrete composition', in H Böhni (ed.), Corrosion in reinforced concrete structures, Woodhead, Cambridge, UK, pp. 91-134.

Electronic

Chapter Author, AA & Chapter Author, BB Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, pp. x-x, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Ghai, A & Johri, R 2013, 'Prenatal diagnosis: where do we draw the line?', in K Kannabiran (ed.), Women and law: critical feminist perspectives, pp. 132-149, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Book with 2nd or later edition Print

Chapter Author, AA & Chapter Author, BB Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, Publisher, Place of Publication, pp. x-x.

Milani, M & Opeyo, A 2013, 'What is a good school?: using data to define measures of a school's success', in E Gutsten & B Peterson (eds), Rethinking mathematics: teaching social justice by the numbers, 2nd edn, Rethinking School, Milwaukee, WI, pp. 141-146.

Electronic

Chapter Author, AA & Chapter Author, BB Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, pp. x-x, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Atkins, S & Schutz, S 2013, 'Developing skills for reflective practice', in C Bulman & S Schutz (eds), Reflective practice in nursing, 5th edn, pp. 23-52, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central Database.

Book chapter with 3 authors

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for a book chapter with 3 authors

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Chapter Author, Chapter Author & Chapter Author Book Year)

OR

Chapter Author, Chapter Author and Chapter Author (Book Year)

If consumers ... (FrieseHofmann & Wanke 2003).

OR

DearingKreider and Weiss (2014) demonstrate that ...

Quote

'...' (Chapter Author, Chapter Author and Chapter Author Book Year, p. xx)

OR

Chapter Author, Chapter Author and Chapter Author (Book Year, p. xx) '...' 

'The benefits ...' (Moorhead, Cooper & Moorhead 2014, p. 187).

OR

Moorhead, Cooper and Moorhead (2014, p. 187) state 'for effective treatment ...' 

 

Reference

    Format Example
Book with no edition Print

Chapter Author, AA, Chapter Author, BB & Chapter Author, CC Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor (ed), Title of book, Publisher, Place of Publication, pp. x-x.

Friese, C, Hofmann, W & Wanke, M 2003, 'The impulsive consumer: predicting consumer behavior with implicit reaction time measures', in M Wanke (ed.), Social psychology of consumer behavior, Psychology Press, New York, pp. 335-364.

Electronic

Chapter Author, AA, Chapter Author, BB & Chapter Author, CC Year, 'Chapter title', in A Editor & B Editor (eds), Title of book, pp. x-x, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Dearing, E, Kreider, H & Weiss, HB 2014, 'Increased family involvement in school predicts improved child-teacher relationships and feelings about school for low-income children', in W Jeynes (ed.), Family factors and the educational success of children, pp. 224-252, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Book with 2nd or later edition Print

Chapter Author, AA, Chapter Author, BB & Chapter Author, CC  Year, 'Chapter title', in A Editor & B Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, Publisher, Place of Publication, pp. x-x.

Leask, A, Fyall A & Goulding, P 2000, 'Revenue management in Scottish visitor attractions', in A Ingold, U McMahon-Beattie & I Yeoman (eds), Yield management: strategies for the service industries, 2nd edn, Cengage, London, pp. 211-232.

Electronic

Chapter Author, AA, Chapter Author, BB & Chapter Author, CC Year, 'Chapter title', in A Editor & B Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, pp. x-x, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Moorhead, J, Cooper, C & Moorhead, P 2014, 'Personality type and patient education in hand therapy', in C Cooper (ed.), Fundamentals of hand therapy, 2nd edn, pp. 183-188, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Book chapter with 4 or more authors

 

Reference elements

annotated reference example for a book chapter with 4 or more authors

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Chapter Author et al. Book Year)

OR

Chapter Author et al. (Book Year)

When conducting training ... (Verstegan et al. 2015).

OR

Verstegan et al. (2015) explain how ...

Quote

'..' (Chapter Author et al. Book Year, p. xx)

OR

Chapter Author et al. (Book Year, p. xx) '...'

'The profession of nursing ... ' (Thoun Northrup et al. 2009, p. 85).

OR

Thoun Northrup et al. (2009, p. 85) say 'the profession of nursing ... ' 

 

Reference

  Format Example

4-7 authors

List all authors.

Book with no edition Print

Chapter Author, AA, Chapter Author, BB, Chapter Author, CC, Chapter Author, DD, Chapter Author, EE & Chapter Author, FF Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, Publisher, Place of Publication, pp. x-x.

Yeatman, H, Russell, J, Condon-Paolini, D, Flood, V, Beck, E, Williams, P & Tapsell, L 2013, 'Food and nutrition policy and frameworks', in L Tapsell (ed.), Food, nutrition and health, Oxford University Press, South Melbourne, VIC , pp. 324-359.

Electronic

Chapter Author, AA, Chapter Author, BB, Chapter Author, CC, Chapter Author, DD, Chapter Author, EE & Chapter Author, FF Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, pp. x-x, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Verstegan, D, de Jong, N, van Berlo, J, Camp, A, Konings, K, van Merrienboer, J & Donkers, J 2015, 'How e-learning can support PBL groups', in S Bridges, LK Chan & CE Hmelo-Silver (eds), Educational technologies in medical and health sciences education, pp. 9-34, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Book with 2nd or later edition Print

Chapter Author, AA, Chapter Author, BB, Chapter Author, CC, Chapter Author, DD, Chapter Author, EE & Chapter Author, FF Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, Publisher, Place of Publication, pp. x-x.

Thoun Northrup, D, Tschanz, CL, Olynyk, VG, Schick Makaroff, KL, Szabo, J & Biasio, HA 2009, 'Nursing: whose discipline is it anyway?' in PG Reed & NB Crawford Shearer (eds), Perspective on nursing theory, 5th edn, Wolters Kluwer, Philadelphia, PA, pp 79-88.

Electronic

Chapter Author, AA, Chapter Author, BB, Chapter Author, CC, Chapter Author, DD, Chapter Author, EE & Chapter Author, FF Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, pp. x-x, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

8 or more authors

List first author followed by et al.

Print

Chapter Author, AA et al. Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, Publisher, Place of Publication, pp. x-x.

Electronic

Chapter Author, AA et al. Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, pp. x-x, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Cited in a book chapter

Sometimes authors quote other authors. This is referred to in Harvard style as a secondary source. Citations need to include both the original author and the secondary source author. In the reference list, you will need to cite only the secondary source in which you found the citation.

 

Reference elements

Reference the book in which you found the citation.

annotated reference example for a book chapter with a secondary source citation

 

In-text citation

  Format Example
Paraphrase

(Original Author cited in Chapter Author Year)

OR

Original Author (cited in Chapter Author Year)

In the film industry ... (Brown cited in Finney 2014).

OR

Smith (cited in Hughes 2013) states that ...

Quote

'...' (Original Author cited in Chapter Author Year, p. xx)

OR

Original Author (cited in Chapter Author Year, p. xx) '...' 

'The importance of child safety ... ' (Jones cited in Sims 2017, p. 115).

OR

Johnson (cited in Sims 2017, p. 115) states that 'to improve ... '.

 

Reference

Reference the secondary source in which you found the citation.

  Format Example
Book with no edition Print

Chapter Author, AA Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, Publisher, Place of Publication, pp. x-x.

Finney, A 2014, 'Value chain restructuring in the film industry: the case of the independent feature film sector', in R Defillippi & P Wikström (eds), International perspectives on business innovation and disruption in the creative industries: film, video and photography, Edward Elgar, Cheltenham, pp. 3-17.

Electronic

Chapter Author, AA Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, pp. x-x, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Hughes, M 2013, 'Researching the links between parklands and health', in C Voigt & C Pforr (eds), Wellness tourism: a destination perspective, pp.147-160, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Book with 2nd or later edition Print

Chapter Author, AA Year, 'Chapter title', in AA Editor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, Publisher, Place of Publication, pp. x-x.

Sims, M 2017, 'Child safety', in S Garvis & D Pendergast (eds), Health and wellbeing in childhood, 2nd edn, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, UK, pp.111-125.

Electronic

Chapter Author, AA Year, 'Chapter title', in A AEditor & BB Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, pp. x-x, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Komaromy, C 2016, 'Researching health', in E Denny, S Earle & A Hewison (eds), Sociology for nurses, 3rd edn, pp. 130-151, viewed 21 June 2019, ProQuest EBook Central database. 

Practice exercise