Skip to Main Content

Informit

Welcome to the Informit help guide

In this guide you can find:

  • Information on how to log in to Informit
  • A brief description of Informit databases
  • Tips for searching through Informit databases
  • How to create My Account on Informit for saving and exporting search results
  • Details on how to contact the Library for assistance

What is Informit?

Introduction to Informit video tutorial

Informit Databases

By default, you will be searching all active databases concurrently through the Informit Search or Advanced Search.

This interface enables cross-searching of all active databases across a wide range of subjects, including Australasian political, economic, legal, social, family, health, technical, First Nation and cultural studies.  You can limit your searches to full-text, peer-reviewed titles, and then filtered by resource types: video and sound, journal, report, book, conference, and conference proceeding.

This search interface is useful for a broad search to maximize the number of potential results if you are unsure which Informit database is most relevant to your subject area.  This is definitely useful for comprehensive searches.
 

 

Notes

  • There are over 100 databases managed by the RMIT Informit. Currently, you can access 7 active databases with full-text and and 2 databases with indexes and abstracts via the Informit platform.  
  • You can click on "Change Databases" button above the Search Box to limit your search to a specific database(s).  After selecting the database(s), the database selection will remain in your session until you change it again.

  • The Informit platform currently provides natural language searching. It does not have product specific thesaurus. 

To search specific database(s) individually, you can select the databases below related to your search topic.   To perform a search, either type your search term into the Search box on the database page or choose 'Advanced Search' for a more precise search.
​​​​​​You can also access the following two databases with indexes, abstracts, and Open Access content only. 
  • Indigenous Collection  
    This collection offers a broad scope for indigenous studies, including indigenous culture, health, human geography and other important aspects of Indigenous communities in Australia, New Zealand and beyond. Source documents include Commonwealth gazettes, media/press releases, speeches and conference papers, pamphlets, journal and newspaper articles, and more. (Index: 1970-onwards)
     
  • Literature & Culture Collection
    This collection covers Australia's literary and cultural heritage. It provides a rich source of fiction, poetry, cultural politics, commentaries, debate, and ideas that have helped define the unique Australian identity.  This database was created in partnership with the Australia Council for the Arts. (Index: 1939-onwards)