Search the databases to find electronic journals, reports and other publications.
On and off campus. Log in using your Holmesglen email and password. Read online or download / save pdf.
Visit the Databases page for a full list of available databases.
Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook provides up-to-date and vital information on more than 500 injectable medicines and is an essential frontline resource ensuring patient safety and quality care.
Comprehensive collection of Nursing and Allied Health articles. 1300 journals have full text and over 5000 are indexed.
Need help? Check out our CINAHL help guide.
Evidence-based medicine databases, including nearly 3500 Cochrane reviews.
Need help? Check out our Cochrane Library help guide.
Search multiple EBSCO databases based in your subject area.
Need help? Check out our EBSCO help guide.
A collection of evidence-based resources designed to assist in the clinical decision-making process and to support best practice. Now available through Ovid databases.
Need help? Check out our Joanna Briggs help guide.
MIMS Online offers convenient access to essential information for prescription and non-prescription medicines.
Need help? Check out our MIMS help guide.
More than 40 full-text journals covering the area of nursing can be searched using the OVID nursing interface.
Need help? Check out our OVID help guide.
In partnership with Elsevier, Ovid Emcare provides a premium nursing and allied health database, ideal for practice, research, or education. It includes access to nearly 5 million records, more than any other nursing database.
One of the largest database collections in the world. Great starting point for any subject area.
Need help? Check out our ProQuest help guide.
The US National Library of Medicine that includes a huge collection of citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals.
Broad collection for Nursing, includes some Children's Development and all major subject areas of health with qualitative research.
Need help? Check out our Sage help guide.
Nursing and Early Childhood scholarly journals. Choose to search "subscribed journals" only for best results.
Need help? Check out our Science Direct help guide.
Find out everything you need to know to get started with EBSCOhost databases.
Databases provide subject access to information found in journals, conference papers, newspapers, reports and other publications. Some of these databases will give you access to the full text of publications directly, usually as a PDF, other databases will only index journals or provide summaries/abstracts of the articles.
Decide on the key concepts, subjects or words from your assignment and begin searching the databases. Each database will differ in the way to search for your topic, if you are having difficulty please contact the Library or the librarian listed in the contact us section of this guide.
Google Scholar will provide you with a simple and broad coverage search for scholarly literature. The results will be from many disciplines and be a mixture of journal articles, books, theses, reports, online repositories and websites. Google Scholar can be a good place to start if you are unfamiliar with the subject area.
Find out how to link Holmesglen databases to Google search results to access resources available through our subscribed databases.
Use Google Scholar to search for resources in Library databases and more.
Set up your Library Links in Google Scholar.
On the Google Scholar homepage, at the top of the page click on settings.
In Google Scholar settings, select library links.
In the text box, type in Holmesglen and select 'Holmesglen Institute - Access@HolmesglenLibrary'.
Click save.
Now when you search Google Scholar you can click on Access@HolmesglenLibrary next to the resource to access it through our databases.
For more detailed instructions, visit our Google Scholar guide.
This short video tutorial will show you how to use Google Scholar for research, how to personalise it, and where else you can search when Google Scholar isn't enough.