Prevention of Healthcare Associated Infections by
The prevention and control of infection in healthcare environments is now more important than ever. From simple hand washing to full PPE (personal protective equipment), hygiene maintenance has never been more at the forefront of people's minds than during the Coronavirus COVID-19 outbreak. This book is a practical guide to the prevention and control of healthcare and laboratory-associated infections. Divided into twelve sections, the text begins with an introduction to the basic science of infection and the use of antimicrobial agents. The following sections cover prevention and control of infection in different environments and situations including hospitals, laboratories, specific patient groups, and high risk and procedure areas. Different infection transmission methods are discussed in depth. The book concludes with guidance on standards and sample protocols, and training techniques. The comprehensive text is further enhanced by images and flow charts, and each chapter includes MCQs (multiple choice questions) to assist learning and revision. Key points Comprehensive guide to prevention and control of infection in healthcare environments Covers different environments, patient groups and infection transmission methods Features images and flow charts to assist learning Each chapter concludes with MCQs on the topic
Phlebotomy Essentials by 
Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology, Fifth Edition, provides definitions for thousands of terms used in the study of cell and molecular biology. The headword count has been expanded to 12,000 from 10,000 in the Fourth Edition. Over 4,000 headwords have been rewritten. Some headwords have second, third, and even sixth definitions, while fewer than half are unchanged. Many of the additions were made to extend the scope in plant cell biology, microbiology, and bioinformatics. Several entries related to specific pharmaceutical compounds have been removed, while some generic entries ("alpha blockers," "NSAIDs," and "tetracycline antibiotics," for example), and some that are frequently part of the experimentalist's toolkit and probably never used in the clinic, have been retained. The Appendix includes prefixes for SI units, the Greek alphabet, useful constants, and single-letter codes for amino acids. Thoroughly revised and expanded by over 20% with over 12,000 entries in cellular and molecular biology Includes expanded coverage of terms, including plant molecular biology, microbiology and biotechnology areas Consistently provides the most complete short definitions of technical terminology for anyone working in life sciences today Features extensive cross-references Provides multiple definitions, notes on word origins, and other useful features
The Quality Toolbox by 
Robbins and Cotran Atlas of Pathology by 
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology - For Nursing and Healthcare Students by 
Blood Cells by
Enables both the haematologist and laboratory scientist to identify blood cell features, from the most common to the more obscure Provides essential information on methods of collection, blood film preparation and staining, together with the principles of manual and automated blood counts Completely revised and updated, incorporating much newly published information: now includes advice on further tests when a specific diagnosis is suspected 400 high quality photographs to aid with blood cell identification Highlights the purpose and clinical relevance of haematology laboratory tests throughout
Introduction to Human Disease by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, animations, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Introduction to Human Disease: Pathophysiology for Health Professionals, Seventh Edition provides a broad overview of the most common and important human diseases for students pursuing careers in the health professions. Comprehensive yet accessible, it addresses the aspects of disease epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment that are essential to clinical practice. Designed to facilitate learning, this essential reference features learning objectives, and practice questions for review and assessment. Introduction to Human Disease: Pathophysiology for Health Professions, Seventh Edition will help students gain a solid foundation in disease pathology and medical terminology to help them throughout their medical education. NEW AND KEY FEATURES OF THE SEVENTH EDITION: New and updated clinical information, including general and specific treatments for diseases. New art and photos of diseases. Improved Instructor Resources! New and updated Animations! Chapters have been reorganized, condensed, or split and expanded when necessary resulting in an improved and streamlined learning experience.
