Skip to main content

Australian Standards Database Guide

Welcome to the Australian Standards Database Guide

In this guide you can find:

  • Information on how to log in to databases and register for Australian Standards
  • A brief description of Australian Standards
  • Tips for searching through Australian Standards
  • Details on how to contact the Library for assistance


  From 1st July 2020 onwards there will changes as to how Australian Standards are delivered.  Please visit this page for more information.  

What are Australian Standards?

Standards are published documents that set out specifications and procedures designed to ensure products, services and systems are safe, reliable and consistently perform the way they are intended to. They establish a common language that defines quality and safety criteria. Standards cover everything from consumer products and services, construction, engineering, business, information technology, human services to energy and water utilities, the environment and much more.

The Australian Standards database includes full text Australian and New Zealand Standards for Building, Plumbing and Occupational Health and Safety. Holmesglen's subscription provides you will access to the full collection of over 9000 Australian standards, as well as several International Standards, including ISO 9699:1994  Performance standards in building.

Please Note

-  Please remember to log out after you have finished using Australian Standards. Holmesglen only has 10 concurrent user licences. This means no more than 10 users can be logged in at one time.

-  You can save the document and keep for 5 days only.  The file is encrypted and will disappear after this period.